We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss this When You Visit Charlottetown!”

Province House National Historic Site of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.47*
and up
City Highlights Bus Tour of Charlottetown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of PEI's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is Charlottetown's most significant cultural landmark. Walk in the footsteps of the Fathers of Confederation as you learn about the history of this magnificent example of neo-classical architecture and see how it remains a centre of political life for Islanders today.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this When You Visit Charlottetown!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited Providence House also today. Learned that 150 years ago representatives from the Maritime Colonies met together to consider creating a confederation of provinces called Canada right here in Charlottetown at Province House. When the leaders from Ontario and Quebec heard about the conference they showed up too. This experience led to the formation of Canada some 3 years late. (It was actually the threat of USA that helped them to consider such a union. There was a threat of how powerful we were as a country. But it was during the Civil War and there was the threat that Canada cannot allow themselves to have such a week central government that the USA has or something like that might happen to them).

It always helpful to get another perspective on our country. We are so narcissistic as a rule that it's hard to think about how others experience us! Maybe that's not just about our country, maybe that's true about you and I. We are so preoccupied with ourselves that we can't easily see how our behavior impacts others. Without that empathy true communication and true community does not happen.

Be sure to see the film, "A Great Dream."

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    103
    36
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orillia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Celebrate 150 years of Confederation”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed this historic building and the informative tour while on PEI recently. The tour is not long, a film of approx. 20 minutes and then a visit upstairs to tour the rooms and ask any questions. The film was well done and the information was well presented. Would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DOGSTARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Charlottetown”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

To truly understand the hopes, aspirations and, yes, fears of our neighbors in Canada 150 years ago, a visit to Province House in Charlottetown, the site where the idea of Confederation in Canada was born is a must. For visitors from the United States, especially those like me who will visit Charlottetown for just one day while on an east Canada summer cruise, it will help enormously to read up on Canadian history prior to your visit so as to place in perspective the birth of confederation, the role played by Canada's founders, and the local politics at the time of the Canadian Maritime provinces. Parks Canada has a wonderful introductory film which has to be viewed first to better understand the guided tour of the building which includes a visit to the Confederation Chamber. The tour is very informative and free. As you exit, make sure you head to the shops at Victoria Row across the street, visit the Anne of Green Gables shop, and end up at Cows, the already legendary Prince Edward Island ice cream shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ciscokid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weslaco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WoW!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed the tour and actually seeing where our beginnings were created. Knowledgeable staff not only about the building but also about the history that has happened here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldtour0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“150th anniversary”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Canada is celebrating 150 years of the forming of a Confederation. On our visit, a park's Canada guide led us on a tour of the historically preserved room where leaders signed the Confederation documents and explained the history of how PEI came to join Canada. It was very informative and free. Worth a visit for the history lesson.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 801sfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Province House National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Province House National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing