We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy Room / Poor Air Quality”
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for several nights in September of 2013. The bathroom was basic but clean. The staff was very friendly. The overall feeling was lacking personality and not by any means a b&b. It felt like a business being run by cheap laboring workers. Don't get me wrong, they were extremely friendly but it was different than a b&b or even a hotel. The carpets were stained in the room I stayed in. The air quality was poor, within 10 minutes of walking into the room I felt stuffed up. I didn't have a good night's rest due to the stuffiness of the room. The breakfast on all 3 days was basic. We were served under ripened fruit and eggs. The coffee wasn't the greatest. Eating in the dining room was a stiff and awkward experience, not warm and inviting like a b&b would be. Value overall wasn't up to my standards. The accommodations were basic and I wouldn't go back. PEI has plenty of alternate places to stay that will charm your socks off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelanywhere81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Sonata Inn for 3 nights in September, we had a large comfortable room with nice cross ventilation, a very nice bed and furniture and a fine bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they have a great breakfast served family style in the dining room where you can chat with the other guest about the prior day’s adventures and upcoming attractions. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood of stately mansions and inns about 3-4 blocks from the downtown party area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in August at The Sonata Inn in Charlottetown, PEI. The Inn was easy to find, and was located within walking distance to the Confederation of the Arts building and many shops/restaurants. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Dale, the gentleman manning the desk, was very helpful with directions, suggestions, and helping to carry luggage. Our room was on the main floor, as were the dining rooms. One floor below there was a washer and dryer, half a flight up was a library including a huge selection of DVDs and a computer, on the 2nd floor was a kitchen with a microwave and coffee maker, as well as a refrigerator stocked with bottles of water and juice ($1 each on the honor system). All very convenient. The breakfasts were nice, and since my husband was down with a bad chest cold while we were there, the kitchen staff was very gracious about providing me with a breakfast tray to take back to the room for him. The Sonata Inn is a very nice place to stay while in Charlottetown, or just to use as a central point for going farther afield.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krollrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely place. A beautiful old building in a very nice part of town, steps from the park, downtown restaurants, the theater and the waterfront. The room was very nice and the only thing I could critique (if only for balance in my review) is the door to the washroom which was very plain and didn't suite the lovely building. I'm sure much of this could be said about various places in Charlottetown (I'd imagine although we've only been once!), but the little things, the details, set Sonata apart. The hostess Alexa, after asking us what we were up to that evening, made us a custom map with the locations of each of our targeted spots circled. To top it off, after missing breakfast due to a much needed sleep-in, the proprietor himself brought us hot breakfast to our room! We will recommend you to all of our friends!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This B&B is outstanding. The service is great. Rooms and beds are comfortable. Breakfast is better than you usually have in most motels and inns. The only complain is that it is too good, it has many amenities: library and kitchen, but I didn't need any of those. I just needed a bed to sleep, so I could probably find something less expensive.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank mijas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Sonata Inn and would eagerly come back again. The room for the three of us was large; had comfortable beds; and was very clean. The breakfasts were delicious. Our hosts were extremely cordial and very helpful with directions to various spots in Charlottetown. The availablity of an onsite reading room with a PC with Internet access was also very nice. The inn's location, which was jusrt a few blocks from the center of town, was also a plus, but never noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Normally not B & B-ers, but wanting to be a short walk from the heart of Charlottetown, we booked the Sonata Inn. Location is prime - about 6 blocks from the center of dining and shopping is a neighborhood of interesting homes and lovely front gardens. Staff extremely helpful, room spotlessly clean with great ensuite bathroom, house with lovely character. The only rub for us was breakfast. There is one large round table and two other slightly smaller ones, all of them already filled with people when we came down. One morning we sat with 6 other folks at the large table but couldn't find an opening into their conversations, even after 15 minutes, which felt awkward. The breakfast offerings were a bit small and though there were added things on the sideboard, when we arrived not much choice remained. Still, things were done with class I we appreciated the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pte5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.5 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing