We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Responsive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Responsive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

After returning home I realized that the prong portion of my Blackberry charger had stayed in the wall socket when I pulled it out. I e-mailed the Sonnnata and they actually sent me 2 pictures of chargers that had been left behind. Sure enough one was mine and they mailed it off to me. The Inn is in an excellent location within walking distance of downtown, the theatre, restaurants, shops and the water front. The boardwalk along the bay is just down the street. Breakfast were a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unwinder_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review! Thanks to modern technology, it is really easy for us to send pictures of lost items to correctly identify them before we ship them off! We're happy to hear you received your charger!

Thanks for mentioning the great location! We are super close to everything here in Charlottetown!

I hope you had a great stay here, and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    80
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
155
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sonata Inn from Sept 9 - 14, 2010. The location is fantastic - only three blocks from the main street yet the Inn is on a very quiet residential street. Parking is off street and plentiful. The rooms are pristine and well equipped. Breakfast included a hot selection each morning as well as toast, fruit, tea biscuits, muffins, yogurt, coffee etc. There was more food than we could possibly eat. Service was quick and friendly. Honestly, there is really nothing to complain about - it suited our needs perfectly. If we were to return to Charlottetown, we would definitely stay at the Sonata Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019JoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thanks for your wonderful review! We really enjoyed having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks for mentioning the plentiful breakfasts!!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria bc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Out of 7 different places we stayed during our trip out east this was by far the best! Most comfortable beds you will find, great food and a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Location for wandering Charlottetown could not be better and the internet access made it easy for us to organize and plan how to get to various destinations. If I find myself in Charlottetown again I wouldn't look for any other place to stay as this was the best!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCVictoriaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thanks for your review!! Thank you for mentioning the comfortable beds! The mattresses have pillow tops, so they are perfect for weary travelers!

I hope you had a great time here! Please come back soon, and keep in touch!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in August. I selected this B&B because is was less expensive than the hotels. We had the room with 2 beds and a futon. The room was very clean, had all the amenities of the hotels, free wireless, big screen tv and a huge closet.
There was variety each day in the breakfast and the food was fresh and delicious.
With the big table for breakfast, you had the opportunity to meet the other guests, find out where they were from and where they were going. You felt part of a big family.
The Inn is 3 blocks from downtown Charlottetown. Walking distance to Confederation Arts Centre, Victoria Row, Province House and lots of shopping and restaurants. We didn't have to take the car anywhere once we arrived.
Even though it was downtown, it was very, very quiet.
I loved my stay there and will stay there again the next time I'm in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thanks for your review! Thank you for mentioning the atmosphere during breakfast. Yes, we try to promote guests to mingle during breakfast time. It's the perfect opportunity to swap stories and travel tips with other travelers!

Thank you for mentioning the location. Yes, we are very close to the downtown core, which means a very close walk to all the Charlottetown attractions!

I hope your PEI experience was a memorable one! Please come back soon!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Prince Edward Island is all about history. This well-kept heritage house fits in perfectly. Much better for a stay in Charlottetown than booking at a hotel.

Just because it's a heritage house doesn't mean it lacks amenities. Each room has an air conditioner and there is free wireless Internet access. Free computer access on the terrace, where you'll find the library and DVDs for viewing in your room. We booked well ahead and got the front room upstairs with the bay window. A common kitchen area has canned beverages for $1 (honour system) as well as complimentary cookies.

Breakfast is different each day, and while the portions are not large, they are very skilfully made. A hot dish such as quiche or an omelette is served with fresh fruit, and you can have cereal, toast, muffins, bagels, or other baked goods if you're still hungry. The portions were fine for me.

The neighbourhood is very quiet so you'll have no trouble sleeping. The only noise is from the air conditioner if you choose to use it. It's close enough to the major highways that you'll get to where you're going quickly, but not so close that you can hear the traffic. Not that there's much traffic in Charlottetown. You can walk to the downtown area from here in 10 minutes.

Everything was impeccably clean and the staff were very friendly and quick to help. When the wireless Internet conked out late in the evening, they called someone after hours to fix it. If I were staying in Charlottetown again, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thanks for your incredibly detailed review! I wanted to thank you for mentioning the extra amenities we provide here at The Sonata Inn. Guests seem to really appreciate the free Wi-Fi, air conditioner, mini fridge, TV and DVD players found in each room.

I really happy that breakfast suited your needs. No, the portions are not huge, but thank you for mentioning the extra offerings we serve in an "all you can eat," format.

Thank you for mentioning the quiet neighborhood. We live very close to the city centre, yet far enough from the normal "city noises." Also, thank you for mentioning the quick turnaround times for providing support when something goes wrong (like the wireless internet in this case.) That "someone," who fixed the wireless after hours as actually yours truly, and we always strive to provide quick service to resolve any problem at any time.

Thank you again for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is a new B&B and it's clean, well appointed and has modern bath fixtures. The breakfast is served by a prompt staff, no waiting, even when you are there with 20 Italians!
Parking was easy and readily available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahockeypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thanks for the review! We serve our breakfast very quickly, so even when we host 22 Italians (big wedding party,) we can still accommodate everyone else.

I hope your stay here was a memorable one! Come back again!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We 3 (my husband, my 5-yr daughter and I) enjoyed this lovely hotel when first landed in the island. I like the decoration most whereas my daughter prefer the big closet, which she could always play and hide in. They provide varied breakfast for guests, which were all delicious. I will definitely visit/stay again whenever in the island again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thanks for the review! Yes, some of our closets are HUGE! We're so happy your child had fun playing in them. Thanks for mentioning the breakfast!

Hope to see you all again real soon!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Property: The Sonata Inn
Address: 3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing