We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed”
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sonata Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This B&B is outstanding. I would not hesitate to return. Whats not to like. It has greast location, very nice rooms, excellent food, and very friendly and helpful staff. I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footnotes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    90
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
172
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Sonata Inn is a treasure. My two friends and I found it accidentally, directed there by the PEI Tourist Board. We stayed for a week in August, and every aspect of our stay was nothing less than perfect. The house dates from the 1930s, and original moldings and spaces have been maintained wherever possible. The front parlor is now an annex to the diningroom, and the small chair at the bottom of the main stairway encourages fantasies of an awkward young man waiting for his date to come down the stairs. Period wall decorations and furniture carry out the musical theme.

But the interior has been updated in all the important ways. The rooms are spacious, meticulously clean, soothingly decorated in shades of cream and caramel. The bathroom fixtures are new and high-quality (the shower was particularly delightful). The staff is exceptionally pleasant and helpful: three of us shared a room, with two queen beds and a futon, and the Inn's manager was very concerned that the futon mattress be comfortable, even offering to replace it if necessary. (In fact, the futon was more comfortable than most hotel beds.)

Breakfasts, which are included in the cost of the room, include produce of the area (the sour-cherry muffins are not to be missed); the taste and presentation are elegant. Fresh fruit, muffins made on-site, and the usual toast and cereal are always available. In addition, every morning featured a different main course, from ethereal zucchini souffle to perfect scrambled eggs and local sausage.

To top it off, the cost was extremely reasonable, and the Inn's location is ideal. On a leafy residential street, the Sonata Inn is still only four blocks from the epicenter of Charlottetown.

I am not given to gushing reviews. But this place warrants every superlative my friends and I can give it. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sombra
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was the 2nd time my husband and I stayed at a B & B and it was a wonderful experience. The Sonata Inn has a lot of charm and is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. It is only a few blocks away from the downtown area. The Sonata Inn doesn't have a lot of "curb appeal" but you will be surprised how nice it is on the inside. Our room was very spacious with a very comfortable Queen size bed and a flat screen T.V. The room was very clean and tidy. Close to our room was a small area with a fridge (with an ice maker), microwave and a tea kettle which was very convenient.
I would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone. It exceeded our expectations! Try it out on your next visit to Charlottetown. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayd here during our tour of PEI. This appears to be an old house which has been extended at the rear to make up a number of rooms. The room we had was to the front with a lovely view. If our room was anything to go by then every room is very smart modern and extremely well furnished. The breakfast were very good. We were late in the season so there were not many people around. This Inn is a short easy walk from the main town and harbour walks. The town is absolutely beauiful and definately worth a visit. The peole are very friendly. Although we positively enjoyed the Inn it was more of a hotel than an Inn but with little staff around. They were polite and helpful but on the whole no staff were around bar cleaning, booking people in or out or breakfasts. At night we were alone bar other guests. If there were any problems one had to phone another B & B three doors down, owned by the same people, bit disconcerting. Having said all that this is an excellent venue, great rooms, food and location and one which I would unhessitantingly recommend to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oracleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thanks for the wonderful review! Yes, all the rooms are very similar in style!

About the staff issue. There is actually a live in Innkeeper, who is available at all times, even at night (The Innkeeper lives on the top floor.) The desk is monitored by CCTV when the innkeeper is upstairs. At night though, I post my personal number on the desk for guests to call for quicker service (I actually live right behind The Sonata Inn.)

However, I understand the importance of having a sense of presence for guests at all times, thank you for pointing it out! We'll work on something for next year!

I hope we see you again next time!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
The Sonata Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2010

After returning home I realized that the prong portion of my Blackberry charger had stayed in the wall socket when I pulled it out. I e-mailed the Sonnnata and they actually sent me 2 pictures of chargers that had been left behind. Sure enough one was mine and they mailed it off to me. The Inn is in an excellent location within walking distance of downtown, the theatre, restaurants, shops and the water front. The boardwalk along the bay is just down the street. Breakfast were a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unwinder_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review! Thanks to modern technology, it is really easy for us to send pictures of lost items to correctly identify them before we ship them off! We're happy to hear you received your charger!

Thanks for mentioning the great location! We are super close to everything here in Charlottetown!

I hope you had a great stay here, and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sonata Inn from Sept 9 - 14, 2010. The location is fantastic - only three blocks from the main street yet the Inn is on a very quiet residential street. Parking is off street and plentiful. The rooms are pristine and well equipped. Breakfast included a hot selection each morning as well as toast, fruit, tea biscuits, muffins, yogurt, coffee etc. There was more food than we could possibly eat. Service was quick and friendly. Honestly, there is really nothing to complain about - it suited our needs perfectly. If we were to return to Charlottetown, we would definitely stay at the Sonata Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019JoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thanks for your wonderful review! We really enjoyed having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks for mentioning the plentiful breakfasts!!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria bc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Out of 7 different places we stayed during our trip out east this was by far the best! Most comfortable beds you will find, great food and a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Location for wandering Charlottetown could not be better and the internet access made it easy for us to organize and plan how to get to various destinations. If I find myself in Charlottetown again I wouldn't look for any other place to stay as this was the best!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCVictoriaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thanks for your review!! Thank you for mentioning the comfortable beds! The mattresses have pillow tops, so they are perfect for weary travelers!

I hope you had a great time here! Please come back soon, and keep in touch!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Property: The Sonata Inn
Address: 3 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sonata Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing