We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like being with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Felt like being with family”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at the Trailside B&B for 14 days/nights last May, and truly loved it there. Guy and Cindy both know a lot about the Island and we had many nice conversations during those days. Some evenings I had a talk with Cindy about living on the Island, I loved her honesty about that!

The room was clean, the bed slept wonderful and breakfast was jummie with fresh fruits and fresh wafels! Oh and the bread was homemade and very delicious!

The garden was beautiful to sit in, and the B&B was close to Charlottetown and all the nice roads for roadtrips. Got some great tips from them about places to see.

On my next trip to PEI I will defenitly stay at their B&B again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haasje_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for your kind words Tamara.

We particularly enjoy our guests who stay for several days. We can go over their previous day's experiences and add to our "best picks" for other guests. We also enjoy making suggestions on places to go and things to do.

We hope to see you back in PEI very soon.

Guy and CIndy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    11
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
11
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Honestly, I wish I could give this B&B a good review but I never had a chance to even stay here.

The house itself was beautiful, with a gorgeous garden and lovely tea room, and it was located very close to Charlottetown which is convenient. (although on a busy road which detracts from its beauty because your view is a bunch of big box stores and gas stations)

Unfortunately, the customer service was terrible. I have no doubt that other people have had great experiences, but I feel that the hosts are unable to handle problems, conflict or criticism very well (For example, I am sure the hosts will come on here with a defensive reply to this review, like all the others,, which is fine, but it just makes you look petty)

Basically, there was a mixup with the reservations which was neither our fault NOR the hosts, but due to a thirdparty site priceline.com. We were a party of three, who (attempted/thought) we booked a room for three, but the room booked was for two. When this was discovered, instead of being accommodating, the hosts were extremely defensive and blamed our party even though we repeatedly told them we did NOT think it was not their fault. They were really condescending and rude, and did not make any effort to.understand our position as we simply just wanted to ensure we had a place to sleep as we had travelled from Halifax that morning.

Worst of all, Cindy blatantly lied to us in an effort to get rid of us. She originally told us she had a room upstairs available that had a single bed that wasn't currently available online for booking, so she could accommodate us by having two sleep in one room, the third in the other, and for a discounted price. Great. However, she then came back to us two minutes later and told us the room was booked. They also tried to get us to pay a cancellation fee of 50$ a night (we were supposed to stay for two), when the booking agency's policy is a thirty-dollar flat rate.

They also do not accept credit cards and seem to.be unaware of their own online presence because they didn't even know the B&B was listed on priceline.com or that it was listed as accepting credit cards and this is an extremely popular website.

All in all, almost ruined our PEI experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am sorry you had a bad start to your PEI holiday but I feel you are unfair in posting two negative reviews under two different names and blaming us for your mistakes.


You said " your view is a bunch of big box stores and gas stations". There are no big box stores for 3 kilometres. We also have a 1 acre lot covered in trees and gardens. From our back yard, there is nothing but nature. Yes the roadway in front is busy at times, but it is a city street with a reduced speed limit and pedestrian crosswalk directly in front of our house.

"Basically, there was a mixup with the reservations which was neither our fault NOR the hosts, but due to a thirdparty site priceline.com. We were a party of three, who (attempted/thought) we booked a room for three, but the room booked was for two." I am glad to hear you say now the mixup was not our fault. However, that was not your attitude when you were at the door. I checked the Priceline.com website and no where does the site ask for # of people in a party. In addition, you showed me your phone confirmation (same confirmation I received) confirming a reservation for two people. We had no idea you were a party of 3. We went on the defensive, as you say, because you insisted it was our fault.

"we simply just wanted to ensure we had a place to sleep" We understood that from the beginning. We took the time to help you find accommodations that would suite your party of 3 people and went looking for and printed a list of accommodations that had vacancy for 3 that evening. We also checked with a customer service agent at Booking.com to see what they had on inventory.

"Worst of all, Cindy blatantly lied to us in an effort to get rid of us." That is not true, we checked our availability and we offered you two rooms for the price of one. You said you had to think about it. After 20 minutes, we got a text message indicating the room had been booked on line.

"They also tried to get us to pay a cancellation fee of 50$ a night (we were supposed to stay for two), when the booking agency's policy is a thirty-dollar flat rate. " That was a mixup on our part. Our standard cancellation policy is $50 or one night stay. However, we made a special deal with booking.com for $30. That is not AGENCY policy, it is ours. That mistake was corrected immediately.

"They also do not accept credit cards and seem to.be unaware of their own online presence because they didn't even know the B&B was listed on priceline.com or that it was listed as accepting credit cards and this is an extremely popular website."

We do not accept credit cards. The on-line vacancy system has you book by using a credit card to confirm, it is part of their booking system on booking.com. The confirmation you received states under the heading of IMPORTANT INFORMATION that payment is in cash only. If you did not read your confirmation, you have only yourself to blame for being uninformed.

As far as where we are listed, there are hundreds of re-sellers and websites that offer inventories of vacation accommodations. It is impossible to know everywhere one is listed since most of these are unsolicited. Our listing contract is with booking.com. We know that they have several affiliates. We now know that one of them is priceline. We investigated the way that priceline functions and we do not find it user friendly: the main point being that it does not ask you for the number of people in your party (therefore presents you with rooms that do not fit your numbers). Furthermore it ALWAYS issues a confirmation for two people, again, not very client friendly.

We have made our observations to booking.com in the hopes they can exercise influence with their partners to provide a more client friendly interface for reservations.

I am happy you were able to find accommodations elsewhere with our help.

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I was in Charlottetown on Saturday and went into Scrap'n and Wire Wrap'n and bought a piece of sea glass for $10 and Cindy sat down with me one on one and showed me how to create a beautiful pendant. When I got up this morning I created 3 more pieces with the stuff i bought. I would recommend the sea glass class on a heart beat. I will continue creating this jewelry with what ever I can find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MelMason1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am glad you enjoy your seaglass pendant. Now you are creating your own treasures. I hope you are successful in finding seaglass elsewhere to continue your new hobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castalian Springs, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived back on PEI for the summer and on our first trip out went back to visit Cindy and Guy's Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts. It is one of my favorite stops and we always receive a super warm welcome from two wonderful people. Love the choices of tea and the scones are the best I have ever had. We are going to be bringing our company there when they arrive and our island friends as well because I really want them to experience the tea room and gift shop. Everything was perfect. The gift shop has even more than it did before and the sea glass jewelry is fantastic, you need to see her work! I can tell you that I will recommend this place to anyone planning on visiting PEI. Thank you Cindy and Guy for a great start to our summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It was good to see you again Cynthia. We always like to make a few additions for our returning guests. This year we are featuring 3 new teas we hope our customers will enjoy as much as we do. Let us know when you want to book a tea party.

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Cindy &Guy are very friendly and accommodating. It was easy to book, easy to find, and very cozy. It is bike friendly, and there is a lovely trail right next door. The garden is beautiful and they have a nice assortment of island crafts available. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us Erin. Whether for one day or several, we enjoy talking to our guests about their experiences and travel plans. We also enjoy doing a few extras for our cycling guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This B&B is nice, well furnished and clean. The breakfast was good. However, the owners are truly rude and abrasive, which is really unpleasant in a setting as intimate as a Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived we felt unwelcome and uncomfortable and this coldness lasted right through checkout. They are easily frustrated and will make it abundantly clear to you when they are.

Its a good place to rest your head for the night, but if you're planning on spending any significant time at your B&B there are plenty of friendly, warm and welcoming B&B owners on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I'm sorry you were displeased Amanda. You arrived here with a reservation for 2 people made via a booking.com affiliate. You were 3 people and it was impossible to accommodate you in the room you had booked. We did our best to help you find other accommodations. We even offered you two rooms at a discounted price. Still that was not enough. You insisted we had made the mistake even though your email confirmation you had on your phone clearly stated a reservation for two people.

I am happy that you found suitable accommodations elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

April 2013
Very welcoming, very comfortable, great breakfasts and a sitting area which was comfortable on a cold afternoon and evening. The spring flower garden was a sight and there was memorable bird watching at breakfast. Thanks from 2 grandparents and a teenage grand daughter.

Room Tip: 2 cute bedrooms, a sitting area and a bathroom upstairs made for a mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
From one grandparent to another, it is the small things ;-) that always makes a difference in life and then often it is the larger things in life that keeps us going. Like grandparents, kind souls and kindred spirits. It helps when we meet such wonderful people in our travel of life. Thank you for your kindness. Thank you for coming by, it was my pleasure to have made you smile for awhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
4.5 mi away
Suites of Euston
Suites of Euston
#17 of 23 in Charlottetown
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
The White Horse Motel
The White Horse Motel
#28 of 43 in Charlottetown
23 reviews
4.3 mi away
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Elmwood Heritage Inn
#1 of 43 in Charlottetown
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 43 in Charlottetown
27 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meadowview Cottages
Meadowview Cottages
#4 of 16 in Charlottetown
6 reviews
5.9 mi away
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Stratford
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beside The Trail Bed And Breakfast Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing