We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Victorian B&B...Delightful Stay...Warm & Inviting!”
Review of The Dawson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dawson House
Ranked #6 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband & I really enjoyed our 1 night stay in the Charlotte room at the Dawson House. Stacey & Randy are such a nice couple and great hosts. They were very welcoming and treated us like friends! I felt like I had known Stacey forever...she was very sweet! We also really appreciated their helpful recommendations for exploring PEI and choosing restaurants! The property is stunning and has wonderful curb appeal, with a circular driveway and a lovely garden. I loved the Victorian style details and character of the home. Our room was really quaint with pretty wallpaper, sloped ceilings and a mirrored vanity with bright windows. We also had a jacuzzi in the bath although we did not have a chance to try it. The b&b is in a great location and we enjoyed the scenic walk in downtown Charlottetown from the b&b....we didn't even need our car. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful-- toast with butter & jams, cinammon roll bites, eggs to order with bacon, cereals, fresh fruit, etc. A delightful stay with gracious hosts! All the Best to Stacey & Randy (and their doggie Dawson)...It was great to meet you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Dawson House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at The Dawson House and loved it. Stacey and Randy were great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. The house is in a great location, we were able to walk into the downtown area for dinner each night and easy access to the highway when travelling out of town. Our room was spotless, very bright and we were able to have the windows open for fresh air. Breakfast was a feast and all cooked and presented beautifully with loads of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt available also. Such a pity they are so far from Australia as we would love to visit again or maybe we will see Randy and Stacey in Australia one day...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just returned from another great stay at The Dawson House! The best place in Charlottetown to stay with great hosts and fabulous food! Don't by-pass this place folks - I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic - it doesn't matter which one you pick!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMPYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We loved our small but very bright room at the top pf the house
Randy and wife were fabulous hosts
The house was spotless
Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I visited The Dawson House on March 24,2011 for my 47th Birthday what a great time. Stacey and Randy are super people that make you feel as if your visiting friends. The rooms are beautiful,very clean and extra private as you have your own bath. Sunday after I enjoyed a beautiful bath in the whirlpool, we went to breakfast which included the best quiche I have ever had and coffee with a bottomless cup. Thank you Stacey and Randy for a great experience as we normally stay in hotels but will now be looking to explore more B & B's after such a wonderful experience. We will definitely see you in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed for a few nights in the Charlotte guestroom and used Charlottetown as a base to discover the rest of PEI - everything was clean and nicely decorated. Stacey and Randy were very welcoming and helpful with itinerary suggestions, though we ended up going to some places (Singing Sands, North Cape interpretive centre with a wind energy exhibit) that they hadn't even heard of, although to be fair, they were far away from Charlottetown itself. Breakfast was definitely good for the price. Assortment of teas, coffee, fresh fruit bowl (apples, bananas, canteloupe), toast, yogurt, main course (waffles, pancakes etc.)... ask for the homemade banana bread!! I've had better breakfasts at B&Bs (like eggs benny, crepes) but they were at least 50% more expensive places. Location was pretty good although it was a bit of a walk ~20 mins (but nice and leisurely!) from downtown so a car might be helpful. So happy with our choice at this price!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unitoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We came to The Dawson House somewhat by accident, as the B&B where we had originally booked was unable to accomodate us so they made arrangements for us to stay with Stacey and Randy at The Dawson House. What a fantastic experience it was, from start to finish! We were greeted warmly on our arrival, shown around the guest areas, then taken upstairs to a beautifully decorated yet comfortable room, complete with queen-sized bed, color TV and a jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfy and the jacuzzi tub most welcome after a day of exploring PEI. The attention to detail was wonderful, down to the fluffy bath mat and the box of quality tissues (not the cheap stuff you find in hotels) on the dressing table.

And then there were the breakfasts! Each morning as we went downstairs, we felt like Bugs Bunny in the old cartoons, wafting along on a wonderful smell. The breakfast selection included fresh grapefruit, yogurt, croissants, juices and cereals, along with a different main course each morning -- bacon and eggs cooked the way we liked them, quiche, pancakes (a choice of plain or apple cinnamon) and freshly baked bread, including Stacey's awesome banana bread. We were offered coffee or tea; I asked if there was any milk because I like a glass of milk with breakfast, and a pitcher of milk was put out that morning and each morning of our stay. The dining room table was beautifully set and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

I could go on and on but suffice it to say that our stay at The Dawson House could not have been better. Stacey and Randy are gracious and friendly hosts who are to share their knowledge of the area and the island with their guests. We feel like we have made new friends. We highly recommend The Dawson House and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
756 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson House

Address: 122 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £97 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 4 Star, heritage B&B and Spa was built in 1852 by Colonial Thomas Dawson and was the home of the late PEI Premier, Joseph A. Ghiz. Elegant guestrooms with modern amenities. Spacious grounds with large deck, garden and swimming pool. Downtown and Victoria Park are all within strolling distance. Ample private parking. Bilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dawson House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing