We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of The Dawson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dawson House
Ranked #6 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay at Dawson House was wonderful! The home is absolutely lovely - a mixture of antiques and modern conveniences. Randy helped with our suitcases (thank you so much) and both he and Stacey were warm and gracious hosts. We didn't feel like guests, more like family. It was great hearing about their lives and family members one evening by flashlight during a brief blackout - :-). Petting their gentile dog, Dawson, gave us the "dog fix" we needed to continue our vacation. Ask them for restaurant suggestions - we ate a gourmet meal at the restaurant school and then fabulous pub fare at a local brewery. Our room was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was also excellent. We have stayed at many B&Bs in many locations and this one ranks among the very best!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUrahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
77
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We could not have asked for a more comfortable place to stay during our recent visit to PEI. Randy and Stacey were excellent hosts, the house was immaculate with elegant furnishings, the grounds were beautifully decorated with flowers and included a sparkling pool with a sunny deck, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Moreover, all of the fun times, interesting adventures, and excellent entertainments we experienced were enhanced by the warmth that awaited us upon each return to Dawson House. Friendliness, helpfulness, and professionalism were in abundance, and Dawson is a charming companion. We will definitely be returning for more TLC at Dawson House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMiller04401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ansonia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the Best Western the first night we arrived in Charlottetown PEI. Quite pricey for the 4 nights we wanted to stay. Decided to look for a B & B and was so glad we chose The Dawson House. Innkeepers Stacy and Randy were just so hospitable and friendly. Our room was just lovely, very clean, comfortable beds. Stacy made wonderful breakfasts and Randy was just so helpful suggesting places to go and restaurants to eat. My husband and Randy would sit at the breakfast table and just talk. We really enjoyed this place and highly recommended it. So homey and comfortable. We hated to leave but had to head back to the USA - Connecticut. Thank you so much for our lovely stay in your lovely town of Charlottetown.

Room Tip: Can't say enough about this lovely inn. You won't be sorry you stayed. Stacy and Randy are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the moment we walked in the door we felt like we were at home. Our host Randy was excellent carrying our luggage up to our room and then spent time talking to us about their home and city. The next morning we were welcomed at breakfast by Stacey (Randy's better half) and enjoyed an excellent breakfast. If you are looking for a great place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My sister and I had the most wonderful time in Charlottetown and our stay at Dawson's was the icing on the cake! The staff were great fun and our rooms were beautifully kept and well looked after. We always looked forward to breakfast and Dawson's was a great place of rest after sightseeing all day. We would definitely stay at Dawson's again, it was a home away from home, very special

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our first B&B for both of us as well as my boyfriend's first visit to the East Coast. Stacey, Randy and Dawson made us feel like family. Their hospitality was typical of the East Coast and we can't wait to see them on future visits. The French toast and banana muffins were delicious our first day and eggs with croissants wrapped up day 2 just right.

Now I'm a dog lover so Dawson and I hit it off. For those of you who may not be dog lovers not to worry, she was the most well behaved and trained dog I've come across in along time. If you didn't want her around she would stay in the kitchen until called.

Thank you again for the lovely memories.

Room Tip: FC and RM not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a wonderful time here. Friendly and very helpful host with an excellent breakfast. The room was cosy and clean, the location excellent and the dog, also called Dawson, was also very friendly and happy to see everyone. We couldn't recommend this place more, and if we're ever in Charlottetown again, there's no question that we'll stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson House

Property: The Dawson House
Address: 122 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 4 Star, heritage B&B and Spa was built in 1852 by Colonial Thomas Dawson and was the home of the late PEI Premier, Joseph A. Ghiz. Elegant guestrooms with modern amenities. Spacious grounds with large deck, garden and swimming pool. Downtown and Victoria Park are all within strolling distance. Ample private parking. Bilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Dawson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dawson House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing