We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, great breakfast”

Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 254 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Amherst, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great breakfast”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were strolling along University Ave, Charlottetown looking for a place to have breakfast and entered Leonhard's. What a charming place; very cosy and bright inside. We enjoyed homemade French toast, real maple syrup, sausage, smoked salmon and delicious coffee. The luncheon menu also looked inviting and there is wonderful looking desserts in the showcase. We would definitely recommend this café for an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 797Bicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    118
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No other breakfast compares!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The decor is so welcoming, as are the staff (then again, who isn't on the island!). I had the bagel with scrambled eggs and bacon with a tomato chutney and green salad. It was the best breakfast of my life. The bagels and bread are just amazing and the mustard vinaigrette is brilliant. Go here, a thousand times over!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeliBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting this chique cafe”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Charming place to stop for breakfast, , brunch, lunch or afternoon tea. Something to excite your tastebuds on the menu whatever time of day.
Decor - vintage with lovely hanging baskets outside and angel wings.
A busy little place with a quick turnover and friendly staff.
Beautifully clean and welcoming atmosphere. Don't miss paying a visit while in this lovely historical town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch in Charlottetown”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very nicely decorated with a sofa sitting area even. Delicious lunch food. We even bought a loaf of bread to go the sandwiches were so good. The perfect spot for a very good casual lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Meal of Our Trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Leonhard's is a charming cafe, decorated in a soft, welcoming style. We had read great reviews about the cafe and decided to stop for a late lunch. As other diners have mentioned, service was a bit slow, but our food was well worth the wait. We initially planned to order sandwiches, however, upon looking at the menu, we opted for schnitzel and an omelette. The schnitzel was a fried pork chop topped with mushrooms and onions, and it was served with fresh roasted potatoes, and a fresh salad. The omelette was filled with roasted potatoes and vegetables and served with a salad as well. My sister and I both loved our meals, and were impressed by the freshness of all of the ingredients. We also purchased pastries for later, and loved those as well. Leonhard's was our favorite restaurant of our vacation, and one that we highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HistoryHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing