We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Stay On Business”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“2 Night Stay On Business”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Charlottetown for 2 days of business. My room was well appointed and comfortable. The room temp was easy to regulate and the bed was very comfortable. I had 2 great sleeps. The bathroom was appointed fine but there was hair in several places on the floor. I had already unpacked and was there a few hours before I spent any time in the bathroom and noticed it. I tolerated the hair in the bathroom the first night and hoped it would be cleaned the next day. When I returned the following evening, same hair on the floor and actually extra debris on the carpet in the room. The breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is well located in Charlottetown and is not downtown. This town is not very big. This was a nice hotel and I will return. I can't knock the place for a room attendant not paying attention. The next time I stay, I will check the room out before I unpack.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear ADBOCNL,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to appologize for not meeting your expectations and assure you that your experience is not the typical one at our hotel. We value you as a client and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. I have shared your experience with our housekeeping team and have used your feedback to reiterate the importance of attention to detail.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    169
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
158
132
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orillia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I have both stayed at many Holiday Inns in several provinces. We have come to expect a certain level of hotel standard when paying for a King suite accommodation. This hotel in Charlottetown was a disappointment. We normally book a B&B when we travel for vacations but opted for the convenience of a microwave, fridge, etc. available with this hotel chain for this trip ( 6 night stay). The hotel was not up to our standard for cleanliness; the room did not appear to be vacuumed at all during our stay. The daily cleaning appeared to be completed with a "lick and a promise" ....Because we were there for the week?....not sure . The shower curtain had an unpleasant odor....appears these are not laundered regularly. My husband found the bed to be uncomfortable, perhaps time to up-date the mattresses at this site? There were black marks on the walls, stains on the ceiling and a huge crack in the bathroom sink ( also NO fan in the bathroom). We were in a room at the end of a short hallway with an exit door to the outside ( down a flight)...there was heavy traffic through this door and lots of smoking ( and some drinking on one occasion) going on just outside the door. Apparently there are no regulations regarding the amount of distance required from the door to smoke.....the ashtray appears to be about 10 feet from the door and people were standing much closer than that. Just not a good experience........considered relocating to another location but felt the move would be more taxing on time, etc. Overall a disappointing stay at a Holiday Inn chain of hotels ........we will re-consider our loyalty to this chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear DOGSTARR,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to appologize on behalf of my entire team for not meeting your expectations. We strive to offer a very clean and comfortable environment for our guests and obviously we did not stand up to that promise. I hope you do give Holiday Inn another opportunity to prove itself as a brand and I hope you will try our property again in the future should your travels bring you back to PEI.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #16, 2 nights

PEI turned out to be our favourite Maritime province visit and this hotel added to the experience. It seemed to be a newer Holiday Inn. One plus is that we had a balcony with two chairs and a small table, it was really nice to bring breakfast upstairs and step out there in the morning. The room was clean and comfortable. I slept very well. The staff was courteous, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear amosnov,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. I have shared your review with my team and congratulated them on being recognized for offering great service during your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel is a drive from downtown, but centrally located near shopping and right off the main highway.

Always more expensive during tourist season, rooms were clean with new furniture but still felt dated.

Very friendly and courteous staff, warm welcome as a platinum member.

Did not use many of their facilities (pool, breakfast which was free, or gym)

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Clove007,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to let you know that we are in the process of purchasing new case goods for our guestrooms and hope to have a new fresh look in place by late fall.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Was happy with the hotel, good quality that you come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Lots of parking, was never a problem. The room was well appointed and everything was in good working order. The hotel was clean, and was quiet during the evening hours. Short drive to food and shopping. I would recommend this property!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Techcomm.ca,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in August. We got the kids suite which was cute.

- I expected the room to be bigger, but quite small and cluttered with way too much furniture. Hard to navigate the room at times.
- the kids 'room' was off the main room with bunkbeds and a tv. it was decorated as had cute light fixtures on the wall that the kids enjoyed. the room also had a gaming console which was nice.
- the room had no real air flow and felt stuffy. because the air conditioning unit was located in the kids room we could never really close the dividing door for long or the other room became stuffy and hot.
- the suite was clean and housekeeping very efficient.
- tiny fridge was in the room but because of lack of space it was on the floor near the door and kind of awkward.
- beds were comfortable
- kids enjoyed the onsite pool
- I would stay again at the hotel but not in this room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear aria k,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown during your recent visit to PEI. I am sorry to hear that your experience in our Kid's Suite didn't meet your expectations. On your next visit I would suggest you try one of our Express Suites which might better suit your needs. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Holiday Inn Express. Our room was a good size and had a fridge and microwave. The beds were super comfy. Our stay included a free continental breakfast that included not only your standard pastries, toast and cereal, but also hot items every morning. The staff were wonderful. A bonus is that it was a fraction of the cost of the Delta, which is nice, but pricey in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Shelley H,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay, realized the value in our product and service and enjoyed our breakfast selections. We look forward to seeing you again should your tratravels bring you back to Charlottetown.

Kind regards,

Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax and unwind in the whirlpool. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing