We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a surprise overnight stay fire your dog at the Atlantic vet college a little better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Making a surprise overnight stay fire your dog at the Atlantic vet college a little better”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Many nice touches like complimentary shoe shining, bottled water in the room, toiletry packs, WiFi, breakfast and cookies at check-in made for a nice stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They also had a preferred rate for guests whose animals were at the very college.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LABS1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Bsisco757,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown. We are pleased that we were able to help make your trip a little more comfortable. We also want to ensure our four legged friends have the best stay possible. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Charlottetown.
Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    174
    73
    30
    8
See reviews for
163
136
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Truly enjoyed the stay at this Holiday Inn. The staff were so very friendly and helpful in letting me know about the activities in town. Got to enjoy the 'Burger Love" event, in PEI, after a night staff member told me about this yearly event promoting PEI beef.

The hotel hallways were very well decorated and so were the rooms. There was ample space to move around and be comfortable. Highly recommended !

Something to note, the hotel is on Capital Dr. a busy street, however, there is no sound of the traffic; however, be careful when turning into the hotel drive way at night. It was not totally obvious where the entrance is at night as there were not may street lights . I missed the entrance the first time as it was not apparent. On my second attempt, I almost went in to a ditch . Have spoken with hotel staff about this and hope that this will be resolved. It was my first time to PEI and arrived late at night . The hotel is however a charm for both the staff and amenities and would certainly return for another stay.

Something else to note, the room is regulated by the vent in the bathroom. I thought that turning off the light would also close the vent but this was not he case. The vent does eventually turn itself off automatically sometime after 11:00 pm; however, the sound is not terrible or all that distracting. It really amounts to a hum.

Room Tip: It is a very big hotel that has a very welcoming feel. A room overlooking some of the town was more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchill, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have often stayed at the HI Express in Charlottetown over the past 10 years or so, but when we started travelling with our dog a few years ago we were of the understanding that they were not pet friendly so we stayed elsewhere. Well were we wrong! This past week we stayed here again after realizing they allow pets. The staff were absolutely amazing! Although our dog is well trained, quiet, and social, not once did we feel that having him there was a problem. Everyone went out of their way to make both ourselves and our dog feel welcome! That aside, as always the room was exceptionally clean, the bed was very, very comfortable, the staff extremely friendly and attentive to details, and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. The cookies and soup in the evenings is a nice touch! We'll be happy to stay here again the next time we are in PEI.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon-Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Si_n_ri,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We definitely enjoy having four legged guests. The next time you visit, our Smile Ambassador Sue would be more than happy to take our little friend for a walk while to enjoy your soup and cookies.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the HIE the weekend of the Jack Frost festival with my 2 kids and husband. I don't know if all the hotels in the area cater to the kids as much as this hotel did. The kids had there own check in area where they received a treat bag. There was a nightly milk and cookie delivery. A movie each night with popcorn juice and hot chocolate. A playroom. Character visits each morning at breakfast. My boys are 2 and 6 and they loved it! If we go back to the Jack Frost festival again we will definitely stay here. The only thing that didn't blow me away was the pool was a bit dirty. Clumps of grimy gritty dirt along the sides and corners. But that may have had something to do with the amount of young children staying at the hotel and using the pool during that weekend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nursemelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Nursemelo,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown as your Jack Frost destination. Our entire team is pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you return again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for the "Jack Frost" festival in PEI, and what a stay it was! When we arrived, there was a "children's check-in" for the kids, where they got a colouring contest entry sheet to work on, and a bag of snacks, which they were obviously thrilled with! The whole place was done up especially for the weekend and the kids. If you go to the same Jack Frost festival next year, this is the place to stay! There was a play room set up with far more activies than any kid could handle. Each night at 6:00 p.m. there were cookies and milk delivered to the room for the kids. Also a movie night at 8:00 with popcorn, juice, hot chocolate, etc.

Not to mention the breakfast buffet, where I expected some muffins and maybe some cereal, but this place went all out with eggs, sausage, toast, pancakes, anything you or a child could think of for breakfast. Before breakfast, there were special visitors for the kids, like mickey mouse, pooh, dora, diego, etc. The kids went a little nuts for that as well.

The craziest part? That was all free! The room itself was quite affordable, but then they just kept throwing these extras at us! I haven't stayed in a ton of hotel rooms in the past, somewhere between 20 and 30, but this was the best experience I've had yet. My kids were quite sad to leave by the end of it, they wanted to go back to the play room and stay for another movie night!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 373chriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Chris O,
We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at another of our fun filled family events. We do several family oriented events each year such as March Break, Easter & New Years Eve....hope to see you at one soon.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this HIE 2 weeks ago, very clean, comfortable, quiet rooms my stay was great. I checked out a day early so had to be refunded for a night(I paid with debit) in the end I got re-charged for the night so I paid for 3 nights for one nights stay, I actually didn't even notice until someone from HIE called me to tell me which was a week late, since it was a debit card I was told a cheque would be mailed, which I was fine with until a week later still no cheque so I called and was told the mail gets picked up on Wed. so it just went out, any type of business concerned with good customer service would have made sure that cheque was out ASAP especially considering it was their fault and not just left it in a general pile of mail for almost a whole week. Good thing this area has many hotels to choose from because I will not be staying there again and it's sad because it was a nice place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hali10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Hali10,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I regularly stay at the Holiday Inn Express (few times per month) when traveling for business in Charlottetown. I find the location very convenient as it is a short drive to downtown and right off the highway heading out of the city. This hotel is very clean, rooms are well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and always willing to assist you. The exercise gym is a little small for my liking, but has everything (treadmills, elliptical, dumbbells, universal gym) needed to get a good workout before or after a long day of work. The hotel also has a decent sized pool and whirl pool next to the gym. The self-serve breakfast; which is included with your stay, is excellent and convenient offering all sorts of hot and cold foods and beverages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mike A,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always enjoy reading our guest feedback which helps us to keep focused on providing a consistent and comfortable stay. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Charlottetown.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing