We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We found this hotel was what we expected from a chain hotel, no surprises. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean with two queen size beds. The air conditioning was very effective and gave us full control, Wi Fi worked fine whenever I used it. Our room was on the 3rd floor towards the rear of the hotel, away from reception but close to the car parking, gym and swimming pool.
Having to line up for breakfast was a negative, the hold up seemed to be the toaster, but the selection was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabuNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear BabuNz,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We appreciate your visiting our Island and hope you have an opportunity to return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    169
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
159
133
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very noisy with children running up and down the halls continually up to midnight. Requests of the staff to resolve issue was completely ignored. Children were touching all the food in the buffet breakfast area. This is not a hotel for mature adults. Worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: end of the hall when they do not have a kids tournament booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear mrandmrsdreamer,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to offer a comfortable and enjoyable environment for all of our guests. We also ensure that all the proper serving utensils are in place in our breakfast service area and follow all the regulations set by the Department of Health. Once again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us we do appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved this hotel, staff went above and beyond, breakfast included and ample choice. Facilities good.
Room spacious and clean. Great beds very comfortable pillows . Free wifi

For value for money would definitely recommend.
Hotel located a little outside of downtown Charlottstown, however taxis were timely, relatively inexpensive and drivers were helpful.

Excellent value for money

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, easy access to reception, restaurant etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gillywest,
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding the team at the hotel. We have some amazing team members and we are very proud of them and the effort they put forward to ensure our guests experience Hospitality like never before. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August. We arrived with warm cookies being offered in the lobby, great touch, the kids really enjoyed that after a rather long drive. Check in was quick, lots of parking. The room is a good size and clean. Pool is good size, but cold. Hot tub was small and the jets were not working. Fitness area is on the small side and not much ventilation. The laundry facility was adequate and not crowded when I was there. The only complaint I have really is the internet access issue, constant disconnect that requires reconnecting and entering a password, which was quite annoying and there was one night when the internet was just down. Service was not restored until morning. Breakfast was plentiful, although first morning was lacking fruit. Overall we had a good stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank twinstars616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear twinstars616,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we appreciate hearing from our guests. I do apologize for running low on fresh fruit which would definitely effect your breakfast experience. I would also like to apologize for the internet issues you experienced. We do have our internet set to automatically log users off after 2.5 hours as so many people travel with multiple devices that we can easily find our system overloaded even though we have access for two users per room. In the future, if you need to stay connected for a longer period of time to finish a project we can contact our provider and ensure that your IP address remains logged on.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited PEI recently and stayed at the Charlottetown Holiday Inn located on the trans-canada highway. It was very convenient location, good sized room, clean and quiet. Issues we had were intermittent wifi, very long lines for the breakfast buffet, bed was overdue to be replaced, pool was unpleasantly cold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear MarianneR1958,
We are sorry to hear that you sleep was not as restful as you hoped and the breakfast lineup a little slow. I do appreciate your sharing these concerns with us and I assure you they will be addressed.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located just off the Trans-Canada highway in Charlottetown. The check-in was quick and easy and the staff are friendly. The rooms are average size, clean and the beds and pillows are quite comfortable. That being said, the hotel has some issues that need some attention. One our first morning, we had to wait in line around 20 minutes to get our breakfast. The food was very good, once you finally get to plate it. They serve eggs each morning, along with sausage, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. The breakfast room is a good size.

Don't count on the internet working, as it was out of commission around 50% of the time, sometimes hours at a time. Seems that the internet is managed by an external company and service was slow.

In the morning, if you plan on taking a shower, do it early, as they run out of hot water very quickly. When I asked about it, I was told that I had to expect it since it is an older hotel. The shower also makes a intermittent squealing noise that makes the shower quite un-relaxing.

We used the gym and it did not seem to be air-conditioned at all as it was so hot, it made it difficult to exercise. Despite all this, I would rate this hotel as a 7/10.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Glen007_11,
Thank you for talking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I have spoken with my team and we are addressing all of the items you pointed out. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The sleep quality is excellent and the hotel is very quiet. The breakfast is great with lots of sitting area and the rooms are large with a fridge and microwave but, they do need more laundry facilities for guests. The internet did came in and out and you had to sign in again every day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Logan B,
It is great to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast and had a restful sleep. We hope you have an opportunity to join us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax on our deck. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness center that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing