We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good August Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Good August Stay!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This Best Western is very good!
To start, great customer service. We were expected to arrive on a Thursday but good old Air Canada let us down with a lay over in Montreal from T.O. Enough said!
This being our situation we called the hotel to inform them that we would arrive on Friday and they graciously did not charge us for the Thursday! Thank You! Great customer service.
The staff at the front desk, Wow! Very helpful with getting us a fridge, and all the secrets to local places to see. A special shout out to Tracey, who is always smiling and helpful with any question.
Our room was always very well cleaned and cared for.
The property is well kept and laid out. There are two buildings with a connecting tunnel underground.
We stayed in the north building, called Conference Center. Room #161 on the first floor close to the lobby. Nice room and enjoyed being able to open the window for some fresh air.
Lots of parking.
We had a late flight out on Monday and tried to extend our room. This is possible to do but because of a full house reservation, it was not possible for us.
However, they did offer to store our luggage for the day while we toured the island and allowed us to return for the use of the pool locker room and shower. Good customer service.
Breakfast: What can I say, very nice spread! Coffee, tea, juice, cereal, toast, muffins, eggs, crepes, sausage and yogurt.
We were here for the National Youth Track and Field Championships, so there were lots of hungry teens and not once a problem with the quality/quantity of the food or friendliness of staff.
Location: Walking distance to many food and drink spots! 5-8 minutes walk downtown.
We will definitely return when we visit Charlottetown in the future!
Go and enjoy!
Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keswickdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    147
    143
    96
    86
See reviews for
165
192
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washago,on
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

hotel seems older,we stayed in a king suite on aug 7th 2012.very close to downtown,adequate breakfast included. people seemed friendly. Did not experience any problems. second time here.
If your stuck and didn't plan ahead, its still a decent place to rest.

Room Tip: some rooms have a hallway on the exterior of room that passes by your bedroom window which makes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice, modern, and close to nearby sites, activities, and has for the most part good and friendly staff. However, customer service is lacking. When traveling, I always call the location itself to make sure of things and to confirm questionable items. I avoid Expedia and other sites and because of this I don't get the best price - but usually I get what I asked for. Not this time, I asked for a room on the main building and a late checkout - this was all confirmed by the location and the best western main office. When I get there nothing was right and no solutions were offered. I get a room in the main building - right next to the exercise room - the window for the room actually looks in the exercise room (?!?) . The staff made no efforts to satisfy me with the late checkout - causing me extra stress and costs as I had to change my plans for the ferry and drive to cape breton. I asked for someone to make contact with me at the start of my stay and no one inquired about the problem for 4 days. Their answer was there are no guarantees in the reservations - I don't buy this - other hotels and chains honor their reservations. What's the point in calling ahead and confirming and they can't honor a reservation? I gave them numerous opportunities and everyone said they couldn't help me! Best Western hotels are usually my second choice after Delta hotels in Canada , and I still enjoy them, but I will not be returning to this one. They just don't care that when you make a reservation at a hotel the customer relies on getting what they wanted and causing hardship regarding changing plans is a problem during vacations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinToronto37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter v, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
I would like to acknowledge the guest observations.
I was very happy to see your kind comments on the friendly staff and the overall quality of the guestrooms and the hotel in general.
Investigation of your specific issue with the "promised" late check out is somewhat complicated as we do not have your name to follow the trail properly. It seems that your booking was made by a central reservation office, possibly Best Western International or another source. I can assure you that we are very specific when taking reservations over the telephone at the hotel and review our check in and check out times, especially during the height of the summer season when we run at high occupancy. We post an 11 a.m. check out time to allow the housekeeping department sufficient time to clean the rooms for arriving guests with a promised check in time of 3pm. From time to time we have guests who need to have a later check out time than 11 a.m. and we typically arrive at a mutually agreeable solution where the guests understand that they need to incur an additional charge for the extended stay. This can apply to late departing flights or ferries. We aim to please both departing guests with the specified check out time but we also feel an obligation to honour our posted check in guarantee of 3pm. I hope this guests can understand that this can at times be a delicate balancing act, especially with vacationing travellers.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Let me start by saying that I travel all the time for my work and I also have done some backpacking. I have stayed in different type of accommodations, anywhere from hostels to a Five-Diamond hotel. I can make a difference between reality and unrealistic travelers expectations.

Location:
Excellent. 5 minutes walk to the downtown core.

Room:
It was big, clean, not complaints there. I read reviews where people complain about the noise they can hear from room next to them. I did not hear any of this. The noise comes from the hallway door. Best Western, please invest in some foam tape (put weather stripping on the inside of the door frame to seal it up) as it will considerably reduce the hallway noise. That being said, there was also lots of group of kids-teens running in the hallway, talking loudly.... so its not just BW's fault.

Included breakfast:
This is where BW seriously needs to improve. They ran out of items all the time. The hours are good (6h-10h) but on our first day, we were there at 6h45 and the server told us that the hot food was not going to be out until 7h. Then, 4 days later, we were there at 6h30 and it was all out. Not too sure why they served hot food at different hours since both times was during the week.

Then, the first day they had whole wheat bread. They ran out of it on the second day. I was informed that they wont be any for the next few days until the delivery arrives. Both days, there was rotten apples in the basket. Also, you had to ask the server to refill items (croissants, bowls, cutlery, muffins...)

Im usually not picky about that kind of stuff, but i believe that if you are going to charge your guests in the high hundreds of dollars, you need to be on top of things. The free breakfast issues would not have bothered me if I paid $79-115 a night. For the amount I paid, I expected more. Its not like the issues were on one day, it was everyday we were there. Waking up earlier to get breakfast and then getting there to have half the stuff missing is an annoying way to start the day.

Internet:
Fast but was cutting off often and you had to type in the PW every 10-15 minutes.

All in all it was simply okay. I have stayed in hotels that were half the price but was much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banana111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter v, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I thank the guest for taking considerable time to share his/her comments about the stay in our hotel. I truly appreciate the feedback and will share and action some of your comments with my team.
We have just completed a multi million dollar renovation of our hotel including completely renewed guest room interiors with granite countertop bathrooms, flat screen t.v.'s etc. I am glad you enjoyed the experience. We frequently receive great feedback on our very convenient downtown location which is literally within 5 minutes walkig distance to all downtown attractions.
Your comments about the newly introduced free hot breakfast were very disappointing especially your experience early in the morning with missing items. This should simply not happen I can assure you that this will be reviewed in detail with the breakfast team.
We have just introduced password protected WiFi which has substantially reduced the speed however I will closely monitor any further comments from guests about the password isues you dewscribed.
Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The room walls are paper thin and you can hear every noise in the adjoining rooms. The free breakfast leaves a lot to desire. No wonder this was rated 19 out of 26 in Charlottetown. I would suggest staying at the Delta or even one of the B&Bs before staying at the Best Western Charlottetown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leviathan_slayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter v, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I have reviewed your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Customer feedback is always appreciated and I am sorry that you did not enjoy our newly renovated guestrooms due to disturbing noise issues.
We have just introduced our new Free hot breakfast including all required items including scrambled eggs, suasage, french crepes, yoghurts, 5 types of baked goods, juices, fresh fruit etc. I will continue to monitor comments from other guests to ensure that the breakfast is properly delivered by my team however in the high season it can happen that the breakfast room is extremely busy with holiday travellers which can at times cause slight delays.
Thank you for taking the time to comment and we will do all possible to further improve the breakfast offering.
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here recently when on vacation in Charlottetown. The hotel is close to the waterfront. The rooms are nice and clean. Our only complaint was the noise level between rooms, we could here the conversation of the people in the next room, more soundproofing would be good. The continental breakfast was good, with a selection of hot and cold items. A nice play to stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadathebeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter v, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
It was a pleasure to read the guest comments.
We have just completed a full renovation of the hotel including all guest rooms. We are receiving many compliments on the new produst offering.
I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from fellow guests. We try our very best to manage this aspect of the hotel however this can at times be somewhat challenging especially during the high season. We have an 11pm quiet policy in the hotel however this can sometimes be difficult to enforce especially when guests return to the hotel after 11pm.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on future visits.
Walter van Beek
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. It is conveniently located about 6 blocks away from attractions and restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is always clean, rooms updated, and very good. It is not a 5* hotel, but it a *very good* and reasonably-priced hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank aginsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter v, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I thank the guest for taking the time to comment on their stay.
We frequently receive compliments on our downtown location and I plan to share your kind observations about the room and the staff with the hotel team.
Thank you,
Walter van Beek
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Property: BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing