We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place was so bad that we checked in and checked out 10 minutes later.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place was so bad that we checked in and checked out 10 minutes later.”
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever seen in North America. I find it hard to believe that the Cest Western lets this place sully their name.

We have often stayed in Best Westerns due to their consistency and value for the money. We checked into two rooms that a smell akin to dead animals and we told it was due to carpet cleaning. The rooms are in terrible need of a complete update. There were water rings on the furniture (damp) that house cleaning thought not necessary to clean. I also "loved" the bathroom concept where the sink is located outside the bathroom. Please take my advice and stay away from this dump. Ps. Don't be deceived by the photo on the website. There is an older wing across the street, which is an old motel with a facade built over the front. Both sections are horrible.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smith852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    147
    143
    96
    86
See reviews for
165
192
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Hi, over the years, I have stayed at several different Best Western Hotels, and have always been happy with the service and overall experience. I am writing to tell you that I am very unhappy with my experience at Best Western Charlottetown.
1. My safety was severely compromised. The door to the stairs(Fire Escape) was locked/jambed for 2 days and I told at least 4 employees including front desk.
2. Went to the pool, and was suprised to see no one in it. (full hotel) It was too cold to get in.
3. Went to get in the hot tub. Out of Order, and by the looks of the black stuff growing in the bottom, it had been out of order for awhile.
4. Last of all...this is stupid but frustrating...forgot my toothpaste, when i asked for some at the front desk the reply was "I don't think we have any, but if we do, I will send some up to the room" I went to the store and bought some for 74 cents. Bottom line, when I pay 204/night for 5 star hotel, I would like to stay at a 5 star hotel. On a positive note the rooms were clean

  • Liked — Nothing outstading besides the location
  • Disliked — no hot tub, pool was freezing, the thought of burning like a rat, fire escape was locked
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubiker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We spent only one night in this hotel and are now all dealing with BED BUG bites and infestations in our suitcases, clothes, bedsheets and homes. These bugs travelled home with us from Charlottetown to Toronto. All three of us that stayed in that room that one night have spent the last 3 weeks laundering, vacuuming and disinfecting our homes !

Don't stay at this hotel!! It's been a Bed Bug Nightmare ever since we got back !!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs in the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

How many ways can a motel screw up? They lost my reservation completely - even when I gave them the number they couldn't find it. They charged my card for nothing even before I had arrived, and it took a fax to sort out. No soap in the room! Crumbs in the cupboard! They don't change the towels and linen every day! They don't vacuum the hallway! When we were lugging our bags to the room, two porters walked right past us with an empty cart...

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — grotty
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

After staying in this hotel, both my sister and I were diagnosed with scabies. The hotel assumes no responsibility. However, during our stay, neither cleanliness nor customer satisfaction was a priority. More than once our room was not cleaned, even though we were out all day, and when reported to the front desk staff, we were told that the cleaning staff were busy and did not have time to clean our room. At times, we were just given a couple of towels at the door, no cleaning was done at all. When cleaning was done, it was very basic. The kitchenette in the room was a handyman special, uneven handmade looking counters and cupboards and no plugins. Staff did not seem to know what facilities/services were available in the hotel. Food was mediocre. Price was around $150/night. I would have expected better and will not stay at a Best Western again.

Helpful?
6 Thank cateToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
396 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

Dollar for dollar, this may be about the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I had little choice - I was in town for a political convention and this was about the only place free. Now I know why.

I paid $170 Canadian dollars a night for a room that stank of damp and cigarette smoke, even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Water dripped down from the air conditioning unit, making an infuriating noise, so I had to stumble around looking for something to catch the drips silently (I used two upside down drinking glasses).

The bottom sheets were too small and could not be tucked under the mattress, so I kept waking up wrapped in white, just like a mummy. The fridge clattered away all night until I found the fuse box and flicked the right switch. The walls are paper thin, so I could hear all too clearly the people next to me as they shrieked and wailed late into the night.

A group of us were staying there and one night all our plastic entry cards stopped working. We went over one by one to the
reception, where each time the person on duty asked suspicously whether we'd "done something" to the card, as if we'd all chosen the same big magnet in town to walk by in a deliberate attempt to lock ourselves out of our rooms.

The breakfast was execrable. There is no other way to describe fizzy tinned fruit, concrete bacon strips and granulated scrambled egg that looked and tasted as though they could have been used as the foundation for a major highway.

The ONLY thing good about this dump is that it is five minutes' walk from downtown.

The receptionist did not ask how my stay had been when I checked out. I think I know why.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

2 Friends and myself arrived at the Best Western on Friday night June 29th to stay for 5 nights. We had booked a room with 2 double beds (as there were 3 of us). Checking in was smooth, but then we got to our room and it was on the bottom floor of the main building and STUNK. The carpet was damp, there was a loud dehumidifier running constantly, and my favorite part, the room had 1 double bed and a pull out couch. At that point, since we got in so late, I just pulled out the couch and was just going to sleep on that, untill I noticed that the pull out bed slanted down at the head and foot parts, so you were literally doing a back bend if you were lying on your back. We called the front desk and were pretty much told they couldn't do anythign about it because they were booked solid (canada day weekend festival) and that too many people booked rooms with double beds and its a first come first serve basis, but they would send someone to look at the pull out bed. When the person came to look at the bed, he seemed embarassed that the bed looked like that and we were then told the person at the front desk should not have told us that the rooms were first come first serve. He left to 'see what he could do'. A short time later, they told us that we could be moved across the street to a room with 2 dbl beds and that my name was mixed up with someone elses ( likely story, my name is NOT common in any means and has NEVER been confused with someone elses name!) The room they moved us into was fine, it had 2 dbl beds and was clean.
The following 5 days were pretty uneventful there, theonly major things that happened were that twice the key card stopped working on us and we had to march down and go all the way across the street to get it fixed which is NOT fun when you have to use the bathroom! Also, one other time we had left our dirty towels on the floor and housekeeping took them out, but didnt restock all of them, so for 3 girls we had 1 towel to shower with. It took 3 phone calls and the next morning to get the towels back.
Upon checking out, they had given me a rate taht was alot higher than I expected and we were going through it and it was found outthat the reason the final price was higher wasbecuase the tax was over 18%, and on the sheet I had from when I booked the hotel ( I used the hotels website) it said tax was 17.7%. I showed them the paper I had with that tax rate and they pretty much said thats nice, we're still charging you 18+% tax because it went up in April. I was like, well I booked in early JUNE so you're website needs to be updated and thats false advertisement. It made over a $50 difference too. I was quite upset about that
Otherwise, the property is in a good location.. about a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. I just feel this property was WAY overpriced for what they offered. Next time, I will spend the extra money and stay at the Delta Prince Edward right on the waterfront. We went inside this hotel for a drink, and it is beautiful!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the staff and website lie to you!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JennTravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Property: BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing