We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for big red fest last summer - great staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stayed for big red fest last summer - great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The only thing that I am not happy about is that the staff did not ask me about air miles. The room was nice - no view... The view was a wall lol. Did not eat the free breakfast or use the pool so cannot speak to those features. Within walking distance to the water front- down town - concert site... Found a little pricey and parking was scarce (to be expected with large concert in town) ... Rooms are not sound proof... Could hear people talking in next room and throughout hallways ... Kind of awkward... Overall would stay again if we needed to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckysyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us last summer. I apologize that the collecting of air miles was not better explained to you. We do not collect air miles directly but rather allow our guests to become a Best Western Rewards Member, which will allow you to transfer Best Western Rewards Points into air miles. Becoming a Best Western Rewards Member has many advantages beyond the collection of points. I do hope you will return to stay with us this year, as this will be a tremendous year for all festivals.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    147
    143
    96
    86
See reviews for
165
192
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This place was okay if you're looking for a clean, basic hotel to stay at. They do offer continental breakfast in the morning which was a good feature and a decent gym and pool area. There's nothing attention grabbing about this place, but it serves it's purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeva1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. As you mentioned we are a clean hotel that offers a good breakfast and a nice pool and fitness room. We appreciate your feedback and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Nothing fabulous. Basic ole school 1980s decor. Breakfast adequate. Great location. Room clean and fairly quiet. Bathroom and fixtures need updating. The entrance to the bank of rooms that ran along the front of the main road was not maintained with shoveling or salted in 24 hours during a snow storm and the card pass entrance swiper didn't always work to unlock door. If I end up returning to charlottetown I would probably choose another hotel or B&B.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank restless1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share to feedback about your stay at our Hotel. I am sorry that you were visiting us during a snow storm and we were not able to keep the pathways clear all of the time. We have a terrific team that works very hard to ensure our guest's experiences are always pleasant even during the toughest of times. I do hope you will visit us again in the future to allow us to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October while visiting family nearby. We were pleased with some of the aspects of this facility but somewhat disappointed in others. The hotel itself was satisfactory, although it could use a bit of freshening up in some areas. The desk service was pleasant, the room presentable, and the breakfast items similar to other Best Westerns. The hotel room was large, the bed comfortable, and the internet connection speed good. Unfortunately there was no hot water in our bathroom, as my husband discovered when he took a late evening shower. The next morning there was still no hot water, so I used the showering facilities in the pool change room, which had a very good supply. My husband brought it to the attention of the staff in the morning and was told that different parts of the hotel are served by separate boiler systems, and depending on your location, problems may occur. I was also a little disappointed in the way the breakfast area was serviced and having to hand in a ticket before seating yourself. Hard to imagine why the hotel staff needed to supervise this area so carefully such that guests feel as though they are being monitored as they eat. The food was okay, but not so wonderful that one would need to hoard it. Given the location, and the price, I believe that this hotel could do a lot better with just a little fine tuning.

Room Tip: Do check that you have hot water as soon as you get into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. I am sorry you felt like we were monitoring you at breakfast......it is quite the opposite. We have a rotating schedule, of our Associates, collecting breakfast coupons upon our guests arrival to help our guests with any questions they may have. This allows different departments, who may not normally interact with guests very much, the luxury of meeting our valuable guests face to face. We want to interact with guests in a more leisurely setting when it comes to answering travel plans for the day or location of ammenities the island has to offer. I am sorry you felt a different feeling. I do hope, now knowing our reasoning, you will visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Have visited Charlottetown several times with my family & am so grateful that Chance led me to the Best Western Hotel there & Room 236.......a Queen Sized Suite with two beds plus a pull out sofa bed.....sitting area, two TVs, WiFi, bar fridge & sink with storage for provisions, glasses, dishes, picture windows overlooking the indoor pool , complimentary ,Continental & hot buffet style breakfast served . All that Plus within walking distance to all the downtown amenities including shopping & Lobster on the Wharf!!!!
Our stays have always been pleasant, quiet, clean & above all , very reasonably priced.......since we stayed more than 5 nights, we qualified for the Extended Stay Rates .....an added bonus to say the least.
I will definitely be staying here on future visits to Charlottetown.
Front desk personnel & housekeeping were very helpful, pleasant & quick to address any questions or issues.

Room Tip: IF YOU ARE MORE THAN 2 OR 3, ROOM 236 IS GREAT!!! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I want to thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback about your stay with us. You have done a terrific job of explaining the many offerings we have for our guests. From oversized rooms to hot breakfast and of course in the heart of downtown Charlottetown. I look forward to hosting you on a return trip to Charlottetown.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very convient location in downtown. Within walking distance of may restaurants and historical sights.
Older hotel with many amenities. Could use a better cleaning staff. We stayed for two days and the second day our room was not cleaned properly. The bed was not made and the floor was not vacuumed. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at our property. What you explain about the state of your bed is not our standards at all. I have shared this with the housekeeping manager and we will ensure this never happens again. I hope you will consider staying with us in the fututre, to allow us to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was a typical Best Western experience, nothing thrilling, even though things worked ok. The room was basic, beds were average. A huge plus was that the window could be opened in the bathroom for some fresh air. The air conditioning breeze smelled strange (moldy), so did not want to use it anymore. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, kind of cheap stuff available. Still, the room was rather pricey. For that price I paid I was expecting to get a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnishGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I would like to thank you for your valuable comments about your stay. I am pleased that you found us to be similar to our Family of Best Western hotels. Our price is reflective of the destination we operate from. PEI is considered to be a resort destination and can slightly higher rates on occasion. I hope you will consider staying with us on a return trip to PEI.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Property: BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
Address: 238 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing