We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dundee Arms Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Eagle River, AK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I loved this hotel. I will definitely stay here again if/when I return to Charlottetown. I was a bridesmaid at a wedding at this hotel. It was lovely. The staff were kind and courteous. They made an effort to ensure we were well taken care of.

The food was terrific - as was the service in both the dining room and the patio.

The room was perfect - clean, modern, everything worked properly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Well done!

Room Tip: The Annex Rooms are modern, clean, with a beautiful king size bed. Also much more private. The old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaAnnMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    79
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
128
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here one night in October.
We were in room 25 in the main "Victorian" section of the hotel. The room was gorgeous, very spacious and beautifully appointed, and really gave the feel of staying in an old Victorian home.
There were two large beds -a queen and a double, separate bathroom and shower room, lots of bathroom soaps, shampoos etc. so you could really pamper yourself, and a beautiful tree decked out in Autumn colours right outside the window! WiFi reception in the room was excellent.
Parking outside was fine and convenient, and the hotel is positioned for easy walking access to restaurants and pubs (we ate at the Old Triangle pub just round the corner - good pint and excellent food).
Breakfast in the morning was as advertised - fancy continental. Large choice of baked products coffee/tea and a quirky D.I.Y boil-your-own egg thingy which we tried out....it worked.
Staff were very friendly and gave good recommendations on where to go etc.
To summarize - a little pricey, but all in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian part of the hotel for a cosy nonstandard room feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We and six of our friends stayed for 4 nights. The staff was very helpful in assigning rooms in the Annex. Those rooms are a little "dark" but well appointed and housekeeping staff were efficient and thorough. The dining facilities are excellent - we ate breakfasts and 2 dinners on the terrace. The servers could not have been more helpful and attentive and the food was very good. The Inn is very well located for walking around Charlottetown. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the Annex - as seniors we were all on the ground floor and this was very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murfreesboro,Tn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed in the Anna Room. It was very nice. Check in was easy. I may the reservation online from my IPad before we crossed the border. The lady at the desk was very nice. We loved the room. The inside of the room and restaurant seemed warm. It was 65 outside but seemed 78 inside. I ran the AC to cool off the room. The wife was not hot it may have been me. The food was good but pricey. Best fish chowder I have ever had. Waitress was very nice. The hotel is close to downtown. It was a very easy walk. The down was very safe. It cost to leave PEI was 44usd. That was a surprise. Very quite and not a lot of crowds in Oct. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chute_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis indiana usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I took 17 days to take a road trip to the Maritimes in Canada and stayed 3 nights in Charlottetown PEI. I had booked the Dundee Arms ahead of time and we were not disappointed in the quality of this B&B. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful , the rooms very clean and up to date. We had a wonderful room in the annex which was perfect since our room was on ground level and we did not have to do any lifting and it wasconvienent to our car. The pub inside the main part of the Inn was great and the servers excellent and friendly. We stayed three nights and had my back been up to another round of golf The Dundee Inn was willing to put us up in another room for an extra night and move all our luggage to that room,sweet! However we choose to start our venture back home and head back to Indiana. If ever we get back to PEI we will be in good ARMS again !

Room Tip: Room 31 is close to the parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aljgoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Dundee arms in September. The location is very convenient. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We also had breakfast and dinner there. We had a choice of a room in the Inn or Annex. We looked a both and chose the Annex. The Inn room we looked at was decorated nicely but there was no fridge, it was on the third floor (they will carry your luggage up for you), and there was road work going on outside. The room in the Annex was larger and the shower was large and beautiful. The room was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, probably the best on our 3 week trip. Someone commented the Annex room was dark. It did seem so when we first entered because there are no windows. We found the lighting adequate especially if you use the lights on the headboard. Breakfast was delicious, service was great. We had dinner in the pub on Fri night. They had a steak special which we ordered because we had eaten so much seafood. It was very good. Had to laugh at the entertainment. The guitarist did not have a very good voice and did not know the words to the songs he sang but everyone was having a good time and dinner guests got up and sang with him which helped!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed three nights at the Dundee Arms, in the annex, before and after a bike tour of Prince Edward Island. I found the staff to be exceptionally accommodating - they really went out of their way to help our group with storing bikes, making space for us to meet, and feeding our huge appetites. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, great location, good food, and great live music in the bar/breakfast room on Friday night all make the Dundee Arms a great choice for a stay in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Property: Dundee Arms Inn
Address: 200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 46 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing