We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds and clean accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Royalty
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds and clean accommodations”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here overnight and found the bed extremely comfortable and the room clean. When looking at the price though in comparison to other hotels ( Delta Prince Edward for example) and Holiday Inn Express, not far away, we found it pricey. At the end, we decided to stay because of the breakfast and parking that were included. We were advised upon check in that breakfast was served from 7-10 so we headed down about 8:50 only to find out there was only cereal, yogurt and bread left. All of the eggs, hash browns, bacon and juice were completely empty and we waited 20 minutes but there was no effort to replace it. Tables were dirty covered in dishes and there was very little clean cutlery and no knives at all. No staff in sight to ask if food would be replenished. Very disappointing....stayed many times at Marriott hotels and Holiday Inn next door and there has always been adequate food and always staff to clean and replenish.....lack of food seems to be common theme at this hotel. Would try somewhere else next time .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Rodd Royalty with fellow travellers.

I am very sorry for the delays you experienced during breakfast when you stayed with us.

You can be assured that I have shared your feedback with all members of our Food and Beverage team and steps have been taken to eliminate this issue.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown. I hope that despite your comments you will choose our property again and see the changes we have made to improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    144
    75
    46
    22
See reviews for
200
118
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and were quite impressed with the quality at a great price. The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly. Most hotels serve a complimentary breakfast which is adequate but feels factory-like. This hotel presented an impressive difference. The choices were numerous, the quality excellent, (coffee was awesome!), and the young energetic staff were literally standing back respectfully, but scanning the room for anyone who needed assistance or to clean a vacated table. All around a great experience. We were very impressed and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRandJTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review and share your fantastic stay at the Rodd Royalty.

We are very proud of all of our staff and the level of service and the quality of products we deliver to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty and we will see you again when you travel to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a nice hotel; some rooms are nicer than others. Some rooms have been updated but you can tell that they are old rooms. The breakfast was good, but get there early, or the choices are limited. It's a great location; central to everything.
Rooms in the 237-240 section were nice; away from most of the noise; nice big rooms, clean and updated.

Room Tip: room 239 was the best! Away from most of the noise; it had a king size bed, a separate living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0vasc0tiabeachl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

TO START WITH; I WILL STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN. HOWEVER SOME OF THE REVIEWS ARE BLASA AND REALLY DO NOT TELL YOU ALOT ABOUT THE HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT TO NIT PICK; SO I WILL BECAUSE EVERYONE WANTS TO HEAR THE BAD THINGS OR THINGS THAT MAY GO UNMENTIONED.
-
Breakfast-One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of the breakfast deal. The breakfast includes the continental breakfast items along with scrambled eggs, home fries and the worse sausages on PEI. I think they should pay a little more and get some better sausages for breakfast. These are salty and bland. If you like to sleep in abit and get down to the restaurant at 8:30 there will be a long line on the days leading up to and including the weekend. There are other fast food restaurants close at hand so you won't starve if you can't wait or not get in.
Bathroom-It is a full but small bathroom. There is a standard tub, toilet and I think its a 16"sink.-No counter space if you have toilet items or make-up. I did not rent a room to have lots of room for toilet items.
Room-Room is larger as the bathroom is smaller but there is not enough drawer space. One extra drawer would have been good. (Especially if you are staying for seven days)
Décor-The hotel is renovated. We stayed in Rm 201. There is a crack in the ceiling, small scratches and nicks in the wall and the bathroom door is delaminating at the top. (These are very minor-I'm in construction-Jus Nit Picking) The main elevator has some scratches in it and the hall corners have some damage.
Pool Area-Did not spend a lot of time but it smelt like it was over chlorinated a little bit.
-
THATS IT FOR NIT PICKING. IF LITTLE THINGS LIKE THE ONES I MENTIONED ABOVE BOTHER YOU, THEN THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR YOU. MY WIFE AND I STAYED HERE A WEEKS AND FOUND THE STAFF MORE THAN HELPFULL. I THINK THE REASON THE HOTEL GETS GOOD REVIEWS IS MOSTLY BECAUSE OF THE STAFF AND ITS LOCATION. ITS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL BY ANY MEANS. IN REALITY I WOULD GIVE IT A 3 STAR RATING OUT OF 5.
We will consider staying again...

Room Tip: We had Room 201 at the end of the hall. It was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for the constructive feedback after your stay at the Rodd Royalty.

We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast buffet and utilize comments and criticism to fine tune our operation. You can be assured that we are addressing this issue.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience at the Rodd Royalty and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you travel to Charlottetown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family and I booked this hotel for 3 nights from seeing pictures and reading reviews online. We were very excited for our first visit to PEI. We were upgraded to a family suite from an executive suite upon arrival as our executive suite had been given away to some other visitors as the hotel(motel) was fully booked. The room on the first floor was smelly and dark. It was situated on the outside of the ballroom area so no large windows for natural light or view. I immediately opened the two small windows (bedroom and bathroom) to air out the rooms. The furnishings are lovely, the bathroom small but sufficient.
It was very loud in our room, so much so that we switched off the two window sized air conditioners in an attempt to reduce the noise level. We spent the night listening to a never ending thrumming which we think was coming from the ballroom area itself. It was like a big truck idling in the parking lot.
We did not sleep at all that night.
Breakfast was horrible. No taste. The sausages were gross, the eggs tasteless. Thank goodness for toast. I have high standards admittedly when it comes to quality of food, but even the 2 teenagers in our party did not enjoy it and could not finish their meals.
The hotel staff were apologetic about the difficulties with our room, but because they were full could not move our room. They did reduce the rate for the one night and we moved to a MUCH nicer hotel (Holman Grand Hotel).
If your okay staying at motels the Robb Royalty would be a good place, if your looking for hotel standards 3 star or better, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer section of hotel not in the previously existing buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review of the Rodd Royalty after your recent stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the layout of some of our guest rooms.

Thank you for your comments about our complimentary breakfast. You can be assured that I have shared your feedback with my Food and Beverage team.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty we look forward to seeing you when you travel to Charlottetown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed at the Rodd Royalty just this past weekend, the staff were so helpful. I mean super duper friendly. :) We stayed in a double room and paid a significant price, when we got to the room I did expect it to be larger, I've stayed at a lot of hotels, and this was probably the most I've ever paid for a room here in the Maritimes. We were in a room that overlooked the banquet hall... disappointing. The Bathroom was nice, kind of small but nice. Except for the fact that there was mold in the grout of the shower.
My son (8) was super stoked about the waterslide, the pool was nice. The slide was grungy, and the stairs leading to the slide were down right discusting. Mold on every stair.
Breakfast was good. Staff frequently refilled the hot trays. Overall an "ok" stay, when you carry the name Rodd, a person expects the details to be perfect, especially at $189.99 a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I appreciate your feedback about our waterslide. We are in the process of resurfacing and repainting our stairwell and anticipate it being completed within the next week.

We are very proud of the level of service our staff provide and are constantly looking for ways to improve our product.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I recently returned to Charlottetown for my 27th consecutive Old Home Week and once again stayed at the Rodds Royalty Inn. To stay 27 consecutive years at the same hotel is a testament to the hotel and its staff. I've seen many changes and upgrades to the facility and its rooms. But, the one thing that has never changed, is the excellent way I have been treated by the staff everytime I'm there. Hats off to all the staff, thanks again, and I'll see you next year.

Room Tip: I prefer a room towards the back of the building. It is usually quieter and easier to go out the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your most recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Charlottetown in the future.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
455 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
578 reviews
2.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Property: Rodd Royalty
Address: 14 Capital Dr | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor saltwater pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing