We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banny & D'Arcy the Papillon dog in Charlottetown”
Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodd Royalty
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My little dog was scheduled to have an operation to fix a hernia at the Atlantic Veterinary College Hospital, so it was a stressful time. The Rodd Royalty had been recommended, and I'm very pleased that it was. It was incredibly convenient in terms of getting to the hospital and also for me to get to the Mall and downtown Charlottetown while I tried to fill in the hours during his operation and recuperation. Although the Rodd is on a main thoroughfare, our room was astonishingly quiet. We were in the motel section, and there were windows on both sides of the room, making the room bright and airy. A huge bonus for me was that I could open a window and sleep in fresh air! I liked the room and will most certainly ask for the same room again.

Room Tip: The room in the motel section was bright and airy with windows on two sides. Because I was travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us during a very stressful trip.

Many of our guests enjoy the convenience that our Drive-Up rooms offer.

Thank you once again for taking time to complete a review and choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in mid September. The rooms were nice, clean and comforable esepcially the beds. The only problems was soon when you open the door there was an odour. There was no freshness and rather a smelly odour like smelly feet whether it was the carpet or something.

Also, the rooms were separate like a motel. I am used to being in hotels so when breakfast comes in this case you needs to get coats as you have to come outside especailly on a cool day to get your contientntal breakfast in the main building. The buffett breakfast was good but get early there otherwise the food goes fast. Overall nice but a bit pricey consideraing other hotels nearby such as the Holiday Express Inn and you are not exactly in downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to have our house keeping team address issues noted in your feedback.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in one of our Drive-Up guest rooms. We will do our best to contact you personally so we can make sure your room preference is listed in your guest profile.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel has a great location for taking day trips around the Island. It is close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff were great and the pool fun. The breakfasts were good except for the Thursday (soggy English muffin with overdone cheese and ham or bagel with egg). The room could have been cleaner (write your name on chair rails and around microwave and fridge) plus patio door windows broken down and could not see out. Bathroom very small and fan did not work. Good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed our many amenities and our location.

Thank you very much for your feedback about your guest room. We hold our cleanliness to the highest standard and you can be assured that I have shared this with my housekeeping staff.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

This place is great except it advertises a buffet breakfast which is included in your room rate. Unfortunately, the buffet was English Buffin with cheese and a piece of ham along with the normal Continental Breakfast items.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our offering at the breakfast buffet. In response to our guest feedback we change up our offerings on a daily basis. We offer breakfast sandwiches, breakfast burritos, pancakes, and scrambled eggs. We also offer a menu should our guests want something that isn't offered on the buffet.

You can be assured that I have shared your feedback with my Food and Beverage staff. We will need to ensure that our guests are aware of the variety and menu we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had an awesome experiance. The hotel staff was great and very much interested in our comfort. We asked for another chair in the room and they went out of their way to find one for us.
The entire staff was very helpful, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. Corner suite on south side are large and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay at the Rodd Royalty with fellow travellers. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very proud of the level of service that the staff provides all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We checked in for 2 nights only (bad experience with a cottage on the north side of island) and wanted somewhere with service and fresh towels.
The young man at reception got me a great rate for two nights.
The staff were ALL very helpful and polite.
Indoor Pool (with big slide) and Breakfast were nice features.
Just 2 negatives (sorry).
PIzza left in Microwave in room from previous guest.
Several "Live" Silverfish in room.

Will strongly consider staying here, again.

Thank you

Room Tip: Try a suite with bedroom above (loft) and sleeper sofa, below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to complete a survey after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a very extensive pest control system installed and we will follow up with you personally to ensure issues you noted are addressed.

Thank you once again for staying with us when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location, great price, complimentary breakfast has a nice variety of food, room was very comfortable & newly decorated. All in all, a great hotel to spend an extended stay. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I would stay here again when visiting the Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We work very hard at the Rodd Royalty to constantly improve our services, products and to exceed our guests expectations.

Recently our kitchen staff has worked very hard at adding new and exciting food choices to our breakfast buffet. These items include breakfast sandwiches, fruit and yogurt stations, pancakes and French toast. We alternate these items on a daily basis to ensure we can provide the variety our guests have asked for.

Thank you again for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Address: 14 Capital Dr | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor saltwater pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing