We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodd Royalty
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean, staff was helpful, beds were comfortable. Kids loved the water slide and so did we! Hot buffet breakfast was one of the best we have had at a hotel. Our waitress Teresa was excellent and was the hardest working server we have ever seen!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

What a great review! Thank you for sharing your great stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown with fellow travellers.

I will be sure to share your kind comments with Theresse.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Rodd Royalty
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a night at the Rodd Royalty and can highly recommend it for your visit to Charlottetown. The hotel was lovely and the staff could not have been more friendly and eager to assist their guests. Check out their 'Happy' video on YouTube. What a riot! The kids loved the pool and waterslide. We enjoyed the ample space to relax in our suite, comfy beds and lots of pillows! The breakfast selections offered something for everyone. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Rodd for any visit to Charlottetown!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank KGonf328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your great stay with fellow travellers. We are glad you enjoyed the Happy video. We had a lot of fun making it!

Thank you again for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been staying here twice a year for 8 or 9 years. Always nice experience!! Always
Come back here because I know exactly what to expect and it's always the same.
It is also centrally located. Downtown Charlottetown 5 minutes away then only 20 minutes to cavendish, green gables and all kinds of other attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are very honoured to be your Island Get-Away!

Thanks for the great review. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a firm 3 star property that is starting to show it's age. It sits on the outskirts of Charlottetown about a 5 minute drive from downtown. The rooms have been renovated, however the bathrooms are in dire need of attention. The bathroom tub and fixtures and tile are a good 40 years old and need updating in the worst way. The indoor pool is also many years old, but I doubt the kids who use it would notice. Breakfast is free, but the service area is small and feels cramped. The room itself is nice, bedding, carpet and tv all updated. For my next visit I would opt to stay downtown, this property is just too far from anything going on - walking anywhere is not possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doghouse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to share your stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown. I appreciate your feedback about the guest room and the property. I can assure you that we are replacing many of our tub surrounds and we will be doing pool maintenance in the fall. Hopefully we can get you to book with us next time you are in Charlottetown. However; if you don't we are glad you will continue to stay with Rodds and book at the Rodd Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Rodd Royalty seeing the higher rating on Tripadvisor. We had a booking at the Holiday Inn Express down the road but cancelled it. Upon arrival the lobby is nice and only one slow elevator which I knew there will be issues in the morning.
The room had 2 twin beds and was not really spacious for 2 adults and a teenager. The beds were not comfortable as they were caved in towards the middle.
The bathroom was tiny with minimum counter space. The shower was nice and the bathroom amenities were restocked on a hit and miss basis. The room had a small fridge and microwave which is a nice touch. The room overall needed some touchups as wear and tear were showing. The biggest disappointment is the noise. The walls are paper thin, we were by the elevator and you can hear everybody in the hallways. We were on the 3rd floor and can hear everything outside in the parking lot from vehicle noise to conversations (windows were closed). It was tough to fall asleep.
The breakfast was OK and no better or worse than a Best Western or Holiday Inn Express.
As I mentioned earlier the elevators were quite tied up in the mornings due to the cleaning staff using them around 8:30 am. Guests have to wait as most establishments let guests go first and the cleaning staff will take it after.
Parking is at a premium as it was tough to find a spot on some nights.

Room Tip: not by the elevator
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for the constructive feedback after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown. I completely understand your frustration with the slow elevator. We do have a few room options such as our Family Suite, or Loft Suite which might be a better option for your next stay.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for the first time at the Rodd while attending a soccer tournament August 1-3. We had a large group and yet were treated as individuals with excellent service and accommodations. The pool, open space and hot breakfast made for a great weekend for all of the families in attendance. The staff went above and beyond when one of the parents became very ill allowing the parent to stay well beyond checkout time to rest and then providing him with necessary supplies for his trip home. Bravo Rodd Royalty staff!!!

Room Tip: Family suites on the main floor have 2 bedrooms and a living room. Great choice.Close to pool and op...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty. We are very happy that we were able to provide great service to you and the rest of your group.

We cannot wait to see you again when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff is what makes this hotel a wonderful experience. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff who continued their superior service throughout our stay. The hotel is a little dated and could use some refreshing but overall it is clean and the rooms are fine. The cold and hot breakfast choices are very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your great stay at the Rodd Royalty with fellow travellers. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Address: 14 Capital Dr | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: £65 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor saltwater pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing