We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our room seemed like a new addition to the hotel, very clean and fresh. It was a large, attractive room with a mini kitchen in a good downtown location. This room was an outstanding value and we felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel. The only drawback was that there was no elevator but the room was worth the stairs. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in the annex across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Small property right downtown so the location is great, within walking distance to everything. Staff was fantasic and the restaurant on site was decent. But with the plethora of restaurants within walking distance you dont have to rely on the in house restaurant. Property has one 'main' building (older) and 2 'outbuildings' named Sutherland House and Holland House. The outbuildings are newer style and have only a few rooms in each. NO elevators though so if you are staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor..if you have heavy luggage it can be a pain in the butt carrying everything up flights of stairs. The Sutherland House DID NOT have an ice machine but each room is well appointed with a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, flat screen tv. Stayed in a king room (not a suite though, the suites/upgraded rooms have the hardwood floors and bigger size). Beds and pillows were very comfy. The rooms in the main building (I had visited people that were staying in the main building) were much much older and very dingy although they Still had the same room amenities. Truthfully I dont think I'd be as impressed if I had stayed in the main building. No pool on site but you do get free access to the pool at the CARI centre (Attached to UPEI) but I didn't use the facilities so can't comment (although I did see the pool does have a waterslide thing)

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Holland House or Sutherland House (one of the outbuildings) and not the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently stayed at the Sutherland House for 6 nights.
Room: nice old hardwood floors, large space, great king size bed, very clean, modern touches (flatscreen, mini fridge, microwave, toaster, etc) with old-character within
Location: extremely ideal! very centrally located - close to everything! (waterfront, restaurants, pubs, shopping, Starbucks, etc)
Free parking!!!
Overall great stay! and very friendly staff! Would stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissEricaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Great service. Not bad location. Few block away from the downtown. Friendly staff, really enjoy the stay. Would recommend it anytime. Rooms are clean. WE Were there with our son and he enjoyed is time there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in the main building and the room smelled terrible. Other guest reviewers have noted this as well. The decor is sad 1970's with green carpet and popcorn ceilings. The blanket on the bed had animal bite marks in it. There was rust in the bathroom sink. The mattresses were very hard and the pillows were old and soft. We had to ask for toilet tissue. The A/C had a moldy smell. The coffee in the lobby was good and I like non-smoking feature. This is not a 3 star, but a 1-2 star with a 3 star price. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Recently we had the pleasure of staying in two suites in Holland Grove House which is an old home refurbished as suite for the Quality Inn. The rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable and incude a kitchenette with full size fridge, fireplace, sitting area and comfortable chairs. This accommodation is very good.
One of the best things is that it is a two block walk to many of the major tourist attractions for visitors in downtown Charlottetown. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in Holland Grove House from the two that we've seen are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our family of four stayed four nights in the main building (they are two other houses in which there are rooms which you may want to investigate if you are thinking of this hotel) and each day the room and bathroom were nicely cleaned. There was enough room for the four of us, and there was space for us to unpack. The room had a good size fridge and a microwave.
The staff were friendly and offered great advice regarding attractions, restaurants, and things to do throughout PEI. When we needed things, such as towels, they were delivered promptly.
The location was perfect for us.
Another thing we loved is that in ten minutes or less you can walk to all of Charlottetown's downtown historic buildings, attractions, restaurants and shops. You can easily do day trips to any point on the island and return to your room each night, which is what we did. Cavendish, for example, is only 45 minutes away, There is a clean laundromat five blocks away from the hotel and an iron and board in the room.
There is a restaurant, but there are a lot of places to eat within a few blocks of the hotel. This restaurant does not have a "free" breakfast in the summer, but thanks to the fridge, we had some milk and fruit in the room, and went off for the day.
Some people have written that the rooms have an odor. This is true, but it was something we got used to and it was not a problem for us at all.
If you are the type of person who likes to stay down-town and use a hotel as a home base, dollar for dollar, this might be a great option. It is true that there are more expensive and newer hotels in Charlottetown, but since we hardly spent any waking hours in our room, we felt we got great value for our money at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the newer rooms in the houses adjacent to the main building. We never saw these rooms, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoadFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 24 in Charlottetown
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 150 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1W5, Canada (Formerly Inn on the Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £74 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites Downtown is located in the heart of Charlottetown just a short walk to many local attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Province House, the waterfront, shopping and restaurants. The Charlottetown Driving Park & Casino are only a five minute drive. The Charlottetown Boardwalk meanders along the shoreline, allowing visitors to stroll along its pathways, relax on a park bench or enjoy a picnic on the water. Stay with us we provide FREE of charge: free Hot Breakfast Buffet, free WIFI, free coffee station in lobby, free Parking and Business Centre. We also offer guests free CARI Pool passes featuring two pools, waterslide, diving boards & fitness room a five minute drive from the hotel. We are a 30 minute drive from Anne of Green Gables Historic site and the famous Cavendish Beach. Our Award winning Golf courses are a short drive away and a must while on our beautiful Island. Quality service and Quality rates stay with us while on PEI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Charlottetown
Quality Inn Charlottetown
Charlottetown Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing