We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best B & B Ever!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

There's always a bit of chance when choosing a B & B - no chain reputation or record to rely on - which adds to the fun of discovering the perfect one. We did, at the Elmwood.

Jay and Carol are wonderful, welcoming, hosts who put us in the "Library", an antique-filled room on the main floor of their Victorian-era mansion. If the bedroom portrayed that era, the large bathroom did not. The shower was complete with additional horizontal jets that made for a unique kick start to the morning. The bathtub, with its array of air jets, was imposing but untried by us.

Carol's breakfasts in the charming Victorian dining room were spectacular: lots of fresh fruit, fancy home-made breads that catered wonderfully to my Austrian heritage, and once a memorable breakfast souffle!

The inn is set well back from the street in a residential neighbourhood, so noise is not a factor. It is a 20-minute stroll to the heart of Charlottetown, where we followed Carol and Jay's advice to find excellent restaurants. And they provided lots of thoughtful little touches, such as a fridge in our room with an ambitious ice-maker, and the provision by Jay of his annual National Parks pass that gave us free access to the lovely - and empty - beaches.

We've stayed at a number of B & B's on three continents; the Elmwood tops our list.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
293
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Carol and Jay are great hosts who go the extra mile to ensure that their guests are well informed about local attractions and enjoy their stay. Their charming period inn feels like a home where you are made welcome. Its location is ideal being about 10 minutes walk from the water and downtown but far enough away to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Leisurely, relaxing breakfasts are a holiday treat and Elmwood does them to a T. The breakfasts are one of the pleasures of a visit being beautifully cooked and presented; second helpings offered (and gratefully accepted) - a great start to a day's sightseeing. This Inn deserves its outstanding accolades and has earned every star.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMS137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband wanted to choose a romantic setting for our 35th wedding anniversary, so he singled out Elmwood for it's historic charm, high ratings, and proximity to Charlottetown restuarants and sites. After a long flight to the Island we were pleased to find that the house oozed historic charm, however we were even more pleased to find that our room, The Cooks Room, had a nice amount of space, a very comfortable bed and mattress, and a huge shower that made you want to spend 30 minutes in it every morning. The "new" old Cook's Room was tastefully decorated to period ,matching the Inn's decor, however it was fresh and new at the same time. I feared it would be noisy because of it's proximity to the kitchen, but this proved unfounded. We never heard any of the house traffic sounds you often hear in a Bed and B'fast. Carol and Jay were gracious hosts and helped immensly with suggestions on sites to see for the best Prince Edward Island experience. I think they must have secured the BEST seats in the house for our " Anne of Green Gables" musical. Without Carol's suggestion to visit the Farmer's Market, Water Prince Cafe and The Shipwright's , I fear we would have missed some of our favorite Island experiences. Lovely Island, lovely people, lovely Inn.

Room Tip: Cook's Room is downstairs, quiet, roomy, and has a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed at the Elmwood for two nights. I loved everything about it, including the beautiful smell when I walked in -- the calming, embracing scent of an old country estate home. The Elmwood is in a quiet, tree-filled nook hidden from the city, yet is right downtown. There are so many little touches throughout the house which give it character, like you have gone back in time to a historical period. Yet, the rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. There is even a DVD library from which to borrow movies to watch in your room.

The hosts go beyond the call of duty, and do so with such a humble attitude, making you feel so welcome. Jay gave me a tour of downtown. Carol brought me to the farmers' market. A young couple from Japan said at breakfast that their famous Japanese travel guide ranked the Elmwood as truly 5 star. They were delighted that it matched its reputation abroad.

Breakfast was exceptional. I had incredible home made marmalade and I am not sure I can ever eat commercially prepared marmalade ever again.

I would recommend the Elmwood for anyone who needs embracing for his or her soul.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We loved our five-night stay at the Elmwood. It's tucked away from a main street so it's very quiet, but it's close enough to downtown Charlottetown (and the water) that it's an ideal location. We stayed in the "Library", a beautiful room that combines Victorian elegance with modern convenience. The huge bathtub with the massaging jets was a godsend after a long day of bike riding.
Going to breakfast in the dining room every morning was truly a Victorian experience. The aura that Jay and Carol have created made us feel as though we were stepping into into the late 1800's, and the breakfasts were superb.
Jay and Carol were the perfect hosts, and could not have been more accommodating. When we were stunned by the revelation that were the victims of credit card fraud the day before we left, Jay directed us to the inn's phone, explaining that it was always available to guests, free of charge. (We had no cellphone service in PEI, so that wasn't an option.)We arranged with our credit card company to open up our credit for a few minutes to let our payment to go through, and Jay jumped into action to provide our bill. We were later surprised after we'd gotten home to get an e-mail from Jay and Carol making sure that we didn't have any further credit card trouble, and to ask how we came through the Vermont deluge from Hurricane Irene. We arrived just ahead of it, fortunately.
We highly recommend the Elmwood Inn, and we can honestly say that out of perhaps a dozen stays at inns over the past 25 years, this was our favorite experience!

Room Tip: The library doesn't actually appear to be a library anymore, but it does contain a nicely stocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
514 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Over the years we have stayed at over 80 different B&Bs. Elmwood Heritage is now in our top 10 B&B experiences.
For us, one of the key features we look for in a B&B is "hands-on" innkepers. Jay and Carol are the model hosts. They are there to ensure your stay is memorable, and ours was delightful.
The breakfasts are delicious and freshly prepared, Another feature we enjoy is meeting other guests at the B&B. We met some very interesting folks on this trip and conversations around the breakfast table were enjoyable.
God willing, we will return and stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly completed "Cook's Room." It is marvelous. The shower itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

While we only stayed at the Elmwood, it would be hard to imagine a better B&B in this beautiful city. The hosts, Carol and Jay were most welcoming and provided a lovely hearty breakfast. We had the room at the back of the second floor (Nurses Room) and it was spacious and had everthing we needed. The nicest touch was when they offered to wash some of our clothes. While we were there, a festival was in process and a parade passed the B&B. We were invited to join the hosts and other guests at a champagne and Orange juice viewing from a vantage point. All just like home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandMargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd | Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing