We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most lovely B&B ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I went to PEI with my boyfriend and my parents, to celebrate their 30th anniversary. Since my mom was big fan of the story "Anne and green gables", I wanted to pick up the prettiest b&b in various choice for her to feel like Anne Shirley in the story.
And when we arrived there, it turned out that I did my right choice; Elmwood heritage inn looked awesome and super lovely from outside and inside!! full of flowers everywhere (even in wall papers!), beds covered with hand made patchwork quilt, curtains with fancy frills, beautiful old woody furniture... it was filled with charm of PEI, totally amazing.
And not only the Inn itself, but also owners, Carol and Jay were awesome as well; were always smiley and gentle, helped us a lot to reserve/plan touristic sites, served us delicious breakfast (especially hot biscuit and home made jam were excellent!), gave us short drive and guiding in Charlottetown... Thanks to them and I definitely come back there if I visit PEI again!!

Room Tip: We took "The Peake Suite" room with 4 adults (me, my boyfriend, my parents) and it was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

There are so many b and b's to choose from in PEI...and we found what we believe to be the best! Here's why: 1) Gracious AND informative hosts, Jay and Carol 2) lovely rooms (not sure what our room was called...but queen suite on the 2nd floor) 3) terrific breakfasts 4) great location to both downtown and central to all the areas of the island.

Staying at the Elmwood...made our vacation to PEI even more special than it already was. Thanks Jay and Carol!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmjr525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We didn't want to share this....but the Elmwood Heritage Inn and its superb stewards Carol and Jay offer one of the most understatedly elegant B&B experiences we've encountered. From the treasure that is their home to the wonderful location, near enough yet away from the madding throngs of Charlottetown in summer, to the presence of genuinely hospitable and endlessly resourceful hosts: staying at the Elmwood is a sublime delight in every respect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MavisPancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of spending our first night as a married couple at Elmwood this past weekend. We were greeted by the lovely hosts, Carol & Jay, who are two of the friendliest and sweetest people we've met. After a little chat, Carol showed us up to our room. We were in a gorgeous 3 room suite complete with bottle of champagne, chocolates and a big jacuzzi. Carol took the time to show us around the room and explained how everything worked from the tv remotes to the hot tub. She asked what time we would like breakfast in the morning and then left us to be. We immediately dived into the champagne and chocolates which was such a nice touch. The jacuzzi was the perfect way to unwind after a hectic but fun weekend. We decided to pick out a movie from the vaste selection - Forrest Gump. We climbed into the comfy bed and curled up. It was the perfect way to relax. The following morning we entered the dining room for breakfast. The table was full of guests chatting away. As we had a very busy weekend of chatting non stop, we both felt a little overwhelmed with joining the large table. Luckily, Carol suggested we find a seat at another vacant table tucked away in the corner. We gladly sat down and awaited the delicious breakfast. Started off with good, strong coffee and freshly squeezed Orange Juice. Followed by a fresh fruit bowl with special orange yogurt sauce. Then the main - French Toast with grand marnier orange sauce and 3 strips of tasty bacon. DELICIOUS! Thank you so much Carol & Jay. You are incredible hosts and your attention to detail is amazing. We felt honored to stay here and would encourage anyone - whether you're visiting from away or looking for a retreat on PEI - this is the place to stay! This historic Prince Edward Island home will blow you away.

Room Tip: 3 room suite on second floor has big jacuzzi and is close to the collection of DVDs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villagepottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hosts were very helpful and welcoming us. Parking was close by. We really enjoyed the delightful and carefully prepared breakfasts. They were delicious. Host even borrowed us the pass to get into national park, beach towels, umbrella and chairs as we head out to Cavendish for a day trip.

We stayed here 3 nights on the 3rd floor and it's quite far with lots of stairs for my two toddlers and a newborn and my poor hubby has to carry up a couple luggages up as we flew from Edmonton. The room could be better with less furniture and carpets and I think and the bathroom needs some baking soda to clear up the old humid smell. Overall the stay was ok but it's overpriced for what it is. It is by far the most expensive portion of our 12 days trip to the Maritimes.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Melody223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Elmwood Heritage Inn June 25, 26. Our hosts Carol and Jay were warm, helpful, just over the top welcoming. Our room (cook's room) was beautifully decorated, spacious, clean, with a cosy sitting area. Carol was extremely helpful-- getting concert tickets for us in the "Queen's Row" of the theatre, providing helpful suggestions and directions of places to go.
The breakfasts were superb and were served in such an elegant setting. A unique and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nafeesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It was such a lovely visit. They even came and picked me up from the new bus terminal. Hands down the most friendly, hospitable place that i've ever come across. If your on the island for an length of time I highly suggest this place.

Room Tip: I had a small room on the top floor to myself, and It was absolutely superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Doucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
Shipwright Inn
Shipwright Inn
#3 of 44 in Charlottetown
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Charm Inn
Colonial Charm Inn
#2 of 44 in Charlottetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Address: 121 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing