We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful, charming place”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed there for one night when touring the Atlantic provinces with my parents. I stayed in Rosa's room, they stayed in the Premier suite. Jay and Carol were so kind to give us an upgrade. Originally I had booked Rosa's room and the Nurse's room. There is so much attention to detail in the way the rooms are furnished. Nothing has been overlooked. The rooms were immaculate. Both our rooms had jetted tubs. That was a very nice treat! It is a great place to stay and to be immersed in Victorian surroundings. The dining room is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay there again if I had the opportunity to go to Charlottetown again. Another great thing is that it is absolutely silent at night.

Room Tip: It is is an old house. If you have mobility issues choose a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
298
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in June 2014. The Inn is in a great location - near Victoria Park and close to the historic district. The rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts were delicious. Jay and Carol were friendly and extremely helpful. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier Room. It was very spacious. All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs7439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Can't say enough good things about our stay here. Jay and Carol were so welcoming and hospitable. The accommodations were great (we were in the Cook's Room), atmosphere lovely and the breakfasts were gourmet. They also took dietary needs into account (no gluten) effortlessly - very much appreciated.

It was about a 20 minute walk into the town centre, which was a good thing since it allowed us to walk off the beautiful, plentiful breakfast!

We would certainly recommend the Elmwood to our friends - delightful

The Reids

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Elmwood for four nights in mid June 2014. We booked a combination package and planned to stay in the Victorian Room the first two nights and the Nurse's Room the third and fourth nights. Since it was early in the PEI season and the inn was not full, Jay and Carol generously upgraded us for the third and fourth nights, so we instead moved to the Premier's Suite. That room is stunning and luxurious - truly fit for a premier. We enjoyed the enormous tub and then lit the fire while we curled up with the Anne of Green Gables movies from Carol's extensive video library.

Jay's breakfasts were delicious every morning, but our favorite items were the baked omelette, the rhubarb orange pecan muffins and the incredibly light and fluffy ricotta pancakes. We definitely would stay at the Elmwood again and heartily recommend it to anyone taking a PEI vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Carol and Jay provided us with a level of service unmatched in my experience. My wife and I traveled to Charlottetown with our 1 and a 1/2 year old son and as soon as we arrived they whisked us off our feet and set us down into a comfortable yet decadent PEI lifestyle.

Minutes after settling into our pristinely cleaned room (I would eat off the floor) Carol both recommended and facilitated the pick-up of fresh and delicious lobster rolls. They produced restaurant and activity recommendations as well as arranging car pick-ups and reservations. The next morning at breakfast which was incredibly delicious (both mornings) a basket of toys was produced which amused our young son greatly. I can't say enough about how wonderful and relaxing our stay was but I will summarize with the following. Perfection.

Room Tip: The suite was great if you have a young one because they can sleep in a different room while you enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the Elmwood in the Nurse's Room. We had an incredible stay in this beautiful bed and breakfast. Our floor was unoccupied the night we stayed so our room was very private. For a large group this floor would be ideal, but it was also lovely for our romantic getaway for two. The whole inn was beautiful and had everything we needed. We loved meeting the other guests and seeing the common spaces of the house. Jay and Carol coordinated their plans around us and recommended great stuff to do while we were on the island. Breakfast was delicious and we wished we could stay a few nights longer. I'd recommend the Elmwood Heritage Inn to anyone visiting Charlottetown. The location is very convenient and the Inn is charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Jay & Carol Macdonald are there to meet you and welcome you into their home! 2 separate floors of spacious welcoming room to hand out in. The breakfast was absolutely delicious in front of the fire and all guests shared fun stories and adventures with advice on traveling to and from Prince Edward Island to Cape Bretton, etc. We ended up on the same ferry as another couple and met up with them in Louisberg, Cape Bretton....The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I sent another couple from my office there and they absolutely loved it too! Glad we found it !

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room and it was lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
740 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing