We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sonata Inn(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel on Pownal(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites of Euston(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great George(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
460
17
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
17
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscunard suitepremier suitesqueezed orange juiceb bfrench toastour honeymoonother gueststheatre ticketsprince edward islandfine chinadietary needsgracious hostsfood allergieseach morningfour nightswealth of informationdelicious breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We felt welcome as we walked through the door. Jay and Carol was the picture of hospitality. Our suite was lovely and our adult daughter loved the fireplace in her part of the suite. Clean, inviting, loved the antiques and could have cooked in the kitchen but I was on vacation. Lovely common areas on two levels.
Now for breakfast: proper table setting with linens on the tables, cloth napkins, candles lit, but not stuffy. Greeted three mornings with made from scratch, delicious breakfasts, fresh fruit. They also were accommodating and made a different breakfast for my daughter.
Shared stories but not overbearing. So very helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants, entertainment options, current events.
Five stars isn't enough of a rating for this place!
Beware, there are stairs and its compact for getting luggage to your room, but Jay will help. We live in a two story so it didn't bother us.
Close to town center/waterfront.

Room Tip: There are bottom floor accommodations, but most are on the second and third floors. Bathrooms in every room. Some are very luxurious, others are utilitarian.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed there for one night when touring the Atlantic provinces with my parents. I stayed in Rosa's room, they stayed in the Premier suite. Jay and Carol were so kind to give us an upgrade. Originally I had booked Rosa's room and the Nurse's room. There is so much attention to detail in the way the rooms are furnished. Nothing has been overlooked. The rooms were immaculate. Both our rooms had jetted tubs. That was a very nice treat! It is a great place to stay and to be immersed in Victorian surroundings. The dining room is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay there again if I had the opportunity to go to Charlottetown again. Another great thing is that it is absolutely silent at night.

Room Tip: It is is an old house. If you have mobility issues choose a room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in June 2014. The Inn is in a great location - near Victoria Park and close to the historic district. The rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts were delicious. Jay and Carol were friendly and extremely helpful. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier Room. It was very spacious. All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bs7439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Can't say enough good things about our stay here. Jay and Carol were so welcoming and hospitable. The accommodations were great (we were in the Cook's Room), atmosphere lovely and the breakfasts were gourmet. They also took dietary needs into account (no gluten) effortlessly - very much appreciated.

It was about a 20 minute walk into the town centre, which was a good thing since it allowed us to walk off the beautiful, plentiful breakfast!

We would certainly recommend the Elmwood to our friends - delightful

The Reids

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Elmwood for four nights in mid June 2014. We booked a combination package and planned to stay in the Victorian Room the first two nights and the Nurse's Room the third and fourth nights. Since it was early in the PEI season and the inn was not full, Jay and Carol generously upgraded us for the third and fourth nights, so we instead moved to the Premier's Suite. That room is stunning and luxurious - truly fit for a premier. We enjoyed the enormous tub and then lit the fire while we curled up with the Anne of Green Gables movies from Carol's extensive video library.

Jay's breakfasts were delicious every morning, but our favorite items were the baked omelette, the rhubarb orange pecan muffins and the incredibly light and fluffy ricotta pancakes. We definitely would stay at the Elmwood again and heartily recommend it to anyone taking a PEI vacation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews