We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In response to Scott's response....”
Review of Hillhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillhurst Inn
Ranked #8 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“In response to Scott's response....”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I don't see how one needs to bring the cleanliness of a room to the proprietor. That should be checked prior to a guest arriving - not as a reaction after the fact.

I believe you have another couple in mind. We finished breakfast after that couple and they left the same day we did.

Regardless there is a disconnect between the accommodation and cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BARToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had great expectation based on the photos and description. Unfortunately, we were disappointed all around. The B&B is for sale (she asked if we wanted to buy it within minutes of arriving....) so I suspect the owner has lost her enthusiasm if she ever had any. There was dust on the floor in corners and along the baseboards of our room. The wall decorations were also dusty. The bed had a canopy that was pinned up - noticeably so (looked cheap). The alarm clock/radio didn't work. The breakfast was well-presented but very limited. A couple at the table don't eat carbs but were presented with French toast. No alternative. We were all given grapefruit but no proper utensils to extract it. Personally, I don't eat it anyway. The owner was only around when we checked in and checked out. She was polite but I suggest a little more elbow grease and variety at breakfast (she might fall back on that she asked if we had any dietary requests...hmmm...do we need to ask for variety to suit most tastes? Variety at the breakfast table was abound elsewhere on our trip.) The bathroom was clean but tatty. At about $400.00 a night (this was not the most expensive room!!!) one expects a lot more. I can get a business class room at the Royal York in Toronto for that with access to a private lounge with breakfast!

Room Tip: Don't book here. Pay less somewhere else and you will probably get the same quality and not be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I wish you would have told us of your concerns while you were here. The alarm clock did work and still does. We would have been happy to show you how to use it if it had been brought to our attention.

Here at Hillhurst we endeavor to take care of peoples dietary requirements and obviously we were unaware of this couples needs. After we were told by the couple at the table of their dietary needs we prepared them a suitable breakfast.

We are proud of the service we provide and having the property for sale has in no way curbed our enthusiasm as we continue to serve the public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Hillhurst in was a very disappointing experience. Our room, which we reserved for five nights was quite small and somewhat cramped compared to others on the same floor.. There was a down cover folded at the bottom of the bed which did not have a cover and showed signs of dirt. On our first night we used the glasses provided for a drink of water. The next afternoon on our return from touring the dirty glasses were still there, water and all. The next day a half glass of chocolate milk was still in the room after being "cleaned". We took the glass downstairs and left it there. I would have expected an apology, particularly given the fact that the rooms exceed $200 per night. I am sure that other B & Bs in Charlottetown would offer a much more appealing experience. I would like to add that my request for a room on the first floor was kindly accomodated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandimcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
This guest requested a room closest to the stair due to mobility issue. This room was by no means small. As for the room not being done this was at the request of the guest as he and his wife spent most of their time in the room. We asked them daily. At no time during their stay did they mention any concerns. We would have gone out of our way to make sure these issues were addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had booked (and had received confirmation) for two rooms for one night. When we arrived, they didn't have the second room for us even if we had the confirmation. Our friends were then given a Butler's room which was not what was reserved and was not a room which was up to par. At breakfast, we found out from the couple who had arrived before us (without reservations) that they had refused this Butler room, had requested another room and were given the room which we had reserved at the beginning of the Summer. If you reserve with this Inn, make sure to specify what room you will be given!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiseDg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
First of all, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
I would like to clarify that you booked 2 double rooms through booking.com for $145. This is the correct rate for the Brighton room (the butler's). We did, however, upgrade you to a queen at no charge. As we were full we were unable to upgrade your friends.
When making your reservations through booking.com, you are not assigned a specific room, just a room type.
I just didn't want you to think that you paid for something you didn't receive when in fact, you were upgraded at no charge to a $219/night room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during the last stop on our honeymoon in the Maritimes. We were instantly impressed when we were upgraded from one of the smallest rooms to one of the biggest due to the "heat" (it was really only in the high 70's there). The breakfast was homemade and tasted wonderful both mornings. Easily within walking distance to everything in downtown Charolettetown!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in PEI for five nights and had such an incredible time...in part due to the wonderful stay we had at the Hillhurst! The house is beautiful, yet so cozy you feel like you are home. Fiona was such a delight and so helpful in letting us know places in the area to visit and experience. Plus, I have to add, she is a wonderful cook and breakfast was exceptional every morning. I truly enjoyed talking to Fiona and she was always more than happy to accomodate us. We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many B & B's and I've got to say that the Hillhurst ranks in the "top 5" for us. We are hoping to travel to PEI again and will definitely return to the Hillhurst.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

stayed for a week, and didn't want to leave, great place, great ambiance and great inn keepers, definately the place to stay in Charlottetown PEI. We loved it, and its locations is wonderful, you can walk to most restaurants in 5-7 minutes.

Thanks Fiona and Scott for a great time, and a running a great inn, we WILL be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated, choose from their site, we enjoyed no7 but no 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhurst Inn

Property: Hillhurst Inn
Address: 181 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillhurst Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by Great George Properties Ltd this elegant Victorian Inn is situated in the heart of downtown Charlottetown and is decorated with antique furniture and woodwork. Hillhurst Inn offers complimentary in-room internet and free parking. All air-conditioned rooms at Hillhurst Inn come equipped with cable TV and a private bathroom. An American-style breakfast with eggs is served each morning in Hillhurst Inn's Dining Room. Afterwards, guests can relax by the fireplace in the lounge with its oriental carpets and plants. The Hillhurst Inn is situated a 5-minute walk from Charlottetown's shops, restaurants and waterfront. Historic Great George Street is 300 meters away, and Charlottetown Airport is a 7-minute drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillhurst Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing