We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our first trip to Prince Edward Island and we were delighted to find a wonderful
historic boutique hotel to stay our one and only night in PEI. The hotel is located in a beautiful historic part of the city - walking distance of the waterfront , shopping and restaurants. We had a lovely room quite spacious with 2 double beds (which slept great) , and furnished with period furniture but still modern according to today's standards(flat screen tv and wi-fi).
The staff were very warm and helpful. A complimentary cocktail hour is held each
afternoon in their beautiful lobby and complimentary breakfast is also set up there
each morning. Just as additional information, this hotel is a cluster of historic buildings
and sometimes parking is a bit tricky. We stayed in the main building on the corner. It is a beautiful historic hotel, very clean, service excellent and would highly recommend this hotel if in the Charlottetown PEI area. Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: I always suggest calling the hotel directly if possible to make your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

One of the finest places that we have ever stayed. Perhaps it was because we booked a traditional room with king bed on their internet site, and when we arrived we were given a king suite with full kitchen, all recently remodeled. Our room was on the top of the Manor House and had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking well-tended flower gardens. The free WiFi works best in the lobby not in the room.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is excellent and there is a complimentary wine and beer hour each weekday night.

There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance. However, if you drive to dinner, you may come back to a full parking lot and have to settle for street parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A great experience and a wonderful chance to stay in a hotel we couldn't normally choose. Our room was beautiful - well appointed and even had a washer and dryer. The bed was superbly comfortable with the lightest feather duvet and the softest linens ever. The Great George Hotel is beautiful and is only a block or two from the waterfront. The 'continental' breakfast was beautifully done and had a large assortment of everything, from a hot dish to freshly cut fruit - very well presented and delicious. We would definitely recommend and would be lucky to return. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Our traditional room was on the main floor in the blue building right across the street from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

There was a small problem with the room and were into a new room within 10 minutes! The staff were amazing and very helpful with reccomendations on things to do and making reservations. The breakfast each morning was to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a packed schedule for touring the Maritimes which allowed only one night at "The Great George". If we could have added an extra night to stay longer, we would have. We would definitely return. We travel frrequently on business and for pleasure and have stayed at some very nice properties. Occassionally we will come across properties we really love and would highly recommend for example the Woodlands in South Carolina, the Grand Bretagne in Athens Greece, The Great George is now in that category.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. I am very particular about a clean bathroom and this hotel did not disappoint me. The room was also a good size. Every staff member that we came in contact with was kind, polite and friendly. The lobby area was recently renovated and it is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. It is a great place to sit back and enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. Do yourself a favor and stay at The Great George if they have a room available, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here on business for two nights and just loved it!! It is like a home away from home - very comfortable, spacious and clean rooms. Very quaint setting with free buffet breakfast in the morning, and a reception every evening in the lobby which offers free wine and cookies! It is not a standard hotel and offers a unique, traditional/homestyle character - the lobby area is beautiful. Not a very big city, so the location is close to everything. Had a great stay and would highly recommend it! Will definitely stay here again in the future!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £114 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing