We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic return visit”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nostalgic return visit”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had not stayed at the Great George for a while and this was a nice return visit. Things were mostly as we remembered them give or take a few changes to the lobby which is much bigger now than it was on our last stay. Our room was cozy and relaxing, the feeling we remembered from previous stays, and the bed was very comfortable. The service as always is very good. It is actually less comfortable at breakfast time than it used to be. Eating off a tray on your lap because the seating is basically couches and chairs with low tables is a bit of a challenge. I also remembered fresh flowers all over the lobby on one of our previous stays and it may have been because we were just there for one night this time, but I didn't see any and I missed that grace note. We were invited to complimentary drinks in the lobby on the night of our stay. This was a nice touch which unfortunately, because of our schedule we could not enjoy, but we appreciated the invitation. The Great George is still a very pleasant place to stay. I also love the small courtyard gardens outside, they are so beautifully done and it has always been a dream for me to stay in one of the pretty little houses they have adjoining them. Maybe one day we will.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    89
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
297
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, KS
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you are one of those people who enjoys complaining about service everywhere you go, you won't get any satisfaction staying at the Great George. The staff goes above and beyond to accommodate and do what they can to enhance your stay.

However, things started off on a bad note for us. Due to a reservation error (One Travel is to blame, not Great George), the room we received upon checking in was different than the room type we booked. They made an attempt to switch us to the correct room, but the entire hotel was 100% booked with no other options. We ended up in a basic room with 2 doubles on the 2nd floor of the main building, directly across from the elevator. The room smelled very musty. Everything else about the room was nice, but the odor was an initial turn off. The A/C helped pull the humidity out of the air and later it got much better, but it still lingered throughout our stay.

Breakfast is served until 10am and it is quite good. It's odd, though, how there isn't a comfortable place to sit and eat. The lobby is very nicely decorated and provides plenty of seating areas, but no real tables. Instead, everyone awkwardly carves out spots on end tables and coffee tables to eat breakfast. Either that or you need to hold your plate in your lap.

Moving on to the high points; like I said, the service is top-notch. The staff felt badly about the reservation mix up so they gave me a few bottled beers from the Gahan House Brewery next door (great brewery by the way) and some wine to bring up to the room. Also, fresh cookies are constantly being baked on-site so they fully stocked us on those as well. When I asked about dining at the Claddagh Oyster House later that evening, they immediately offered to make a reservation and confirmed it within a few minutes. The next morning at breakfast we talked to a couple guys on the kitchen/wait staff about our plans for the day. We planned on going to a beach so they gave us pointers on where to go and what to do; plus, they loaned us a park pass to get into the Provincial Parks for free! Then, after discussing options for different plays/musicals showing that night, they offered to purchase tickets for us, charging it to our room, and we found the tickets on our bed upon our return from the beach (along with a personalized note...nice touch).

The location is ideal. Everything you need is walking distance. All things considered, the Great George is probably your best bet in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruntlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at the Great George for three nights, September 13, 14 and 15, 2013. Loved the hotel, mainly because of the warmth of its staff which matched the décor of the lobby and its rooms. We stayed in one of it's "outbuildings" the first night - the Great George seems to have bought up the neighbourhood and our room was an actual small house almost attached to the main hotel. Very comfortable, the ideal family hotel as it had a kitchen and other rooms aside from two comfortable bed rooms.

A great downtown location surrounded by at least 10 excellent restaurants.

The hotel has no bar and serves an excellent breakfast which is special because you are seated with fellow visitors and get good intelligence over your morning carbs. The happy hour each evening is also special, good chance to sample a local beer, meet your neighbours again and swap tales!

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor was directly across from a scenic historic church, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've been travelling for work for about 20 years now and it gets harder to be impressed by a hotel or a hotel room but I'm impressed with the Great George. The lobby is inviting, the rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfasts are great, the happy hour is a wonderful touch which encourages people to converse, the location is perfect, but the staff....oh the staff...truly outstanding!!!! This team works in sync, they are helpful and friendly beyond words. And the housekeeping staff are trustworthy. I left some valuables in my room and the housekeeping staff took them to the management and within a short time they tracked me down to ensure that I got it back. I have never had that kind of attention paid to my well-being in a hotel. A Great Big Thank You!!! You have raised the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillmarx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

An unusual design, friendly staff, great lobby and furniture and what a terrific free happy hour accompanied by home made yummy chocie chip bikkies. Perfect. And they have an innovative environmental green scheme, which links to discounts at local restaurants.

Room Tip: Dont miss happy hour and the chocie chip bikkies. They are so cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The rooms are very unique, and have much personality. They are also very large. My room was a loft style suite, with a living rooms on the lower level and bedroom with king bed on the upper level. The attention to detail was really amazing. Starting from the person at reception, who personally takes you to your room, to the chocolates on your pillow at night, complimentary " turn down" service, Aveda bath products in the washroom, complimentary water bottles at the front desk... And freshly baked cookies anytime.

The rooms were very clean, attractively decorated with very comfortable seating and a huge washroom too. Jacuzzi tub and stand up shower. "Keurig" coffee makers in the room with real cream

This hotel also takes the "green" initiative very seriously. Guests staying more than a few nights can choose to not have their room cleaned daily and as an incentive get a $10 voucher to use at a neighbourhood restaurant/pub.

The complimentary continental breakfast was also very nice, served in the main area and offered lots of choices, from pastries, to eggs, to fruits, yogurts, cheese, etc.

The staff really care about creating the perfect experience for guests. I was really impressed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice rooms, good buffet breakfast and "high tea" friendly staff and great location for walking the city down to harbor and up to the center and around. Main hotel was preferred by us (they have about two or three blocks they have taken over of houses kept in period style around the main building.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Property: The Great George
Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing