We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Great, but...”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely, lovely hotel. The nicest, most professional staff. Loved our room - it offered much more than we were expecting. The king bed was awesome, we also had a kitchen area, a seating area (with fireplace and flat screen tv), a huge walk in shower, and a washer/dryer. Not to mention beautiful touches with the lighting, artwork, etc. Wow! We also enjoyed the small gardens and sitting areas outside our building. The hotel lobby was beautiful - continental breakfast was good.

The not so good was actually to do with the town. I read another reviewer comment about the bars in the area - and we also experienced the noise one night as a rather rowdy group exited one of the nearby places very late one evening (or was it early one morning?). They quieted down soon enough, but the group definitely woke us up. I have a concern for this part of town. It is the location of many historical sites, theaters, shops, and galleries, but there seems to be other elements there too. Perhaps if the restaurants/bars had an earlier closing time iin this part of town? The owners of the Great George have done their part in beautifully restoring this hotel and several old buildings surrounding it - my hope is that this entire area continues the trend by upgrading and becoming an even better visitor destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US2RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for The Great George
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just spent two nights here on our trip through the Martimes and had a lovely stay. They just do everything right and many other hotels could take a lesson from The Great George management and staff. The location was excellent and parking was free. Although the facility dates from 1846, everything has been modernized while keeping the period charm. Our room was spotless, well appointed, spacious, quiet and had a very comfortable king sized bed. The common areas were tastefully decorated. Although not elaborate the included buffet breakfast was excellent with enough choice for everyone. Cookies, apples and lemon water seemed always to be in the lobby. Although we didn't attend, wine and beer was available in the lobby between 5:00 and 6:00 pm. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The pricing was definitely reasonable for everything you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadyToTravelYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at The Great George in July. We were thrilled to be upgraded to one of their suites overlooking the basilica upon arrival. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very kind in helping us plan our tour of the island our second day and the concierge has thoughtfully printed recommendations depending on where you are headed. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance and the complimentary breakfast was appreciated. This was our first visit to PEI and we hope to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ADemonDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Could not have been more happy! Beautiful accomodations ! Lovely room and the most helpful staff. They made our dinner reservations, and were very personable. We had beer and wine in the lobby in the afternoon, and a great breakfast in the mornings. Cannot think of anything they could improve on....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are looking to stay here, realize that this is not laid out like a typical hotel. There is the main building with the lobby where breakfast is served and the several nearby buildings (within a few blocks). As a result, it appears that the quality of the rooms with regards to state of repair, amenities, fit/finish is highly variable.


I booked a few rooms for the family. we were given 2 town homes - one one bedroom and one with 2 bedrooms. Both had 1 bath, a small kitchen and a living room.

The townhouses are not pictured on the website, and for good reason. They are in terrible disrepair. The two bedroom was worse than the one bedroom. The carpets are stained. The floors are crooked to the point of being unsafe. Steep stairs are treacherous for the very old and very young. The shower was a like a phone both. I felt like Will Farrell in Elf. Fridge was rusty. House smelled like exhaust from a car. The back door was secured with what a bathroom door lock. The hardware was barely held in place by loose screws. This reminded me of my dilapidated 1st apartment in west philly decades ago.

The only real plus was there was a laundry machine in the room.

The staff are very nice and helpful. Our schedule was messed up with hurricane Arthur. The staff were very accommodating and understanding.

The breakfast was ok - nothing special.

Location was perfect.

I suspect that if I had a recently renovated room, I would have been able to give 4 stars. If you stay, make sure you ask specifically about the room you are booking.


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank leaded71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad you found our team helpful and you enjoyed the perfect location. It's disappointing that you had to experience Hurricane Arthur while you were visiting.

With respect to the Townhouses they are not part of The Great George regular inventory. They are typically only used to accommodate extended stay or long-term guests and sometimes for larger families that are travelling. Our reservations team are trained to sell them specifically only when the guests are made aware that they are older units in need of some TLC. It doesn't sound as though this was the case for you and for that we’re sincerely sorry. Clearly it was a lapse in our communication on our part and again, I sincerely apologize. I do hope that we can make it up to you next time you are travelling on PEI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Honestly, 5 is totally inadequate and doesn't reflect the excellence we experienced during our four night stay.

Our room (402) was impeccable. Superbly furnished, spacious and quiet with a very comfortable bed and quirky but welcome bath tub in the main room (as well as a full shower room, of course).

That's the easy bit. It's not too difficult to equip a room and keep it clean. The real difference at the Great George was the service. Our air conditioning malfunctioned and was sorted immediately. All staff from the maid to reception to breakfast servers couldn't do enough for us.

Should we return to Charlottetown we will not waste our time considering other accommodation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PGeorgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Great George for one night passing through Charlottetown and wished we had more time to enjoy. While this hotel is not for someone on a budget we definitely felt that we got what we paid for. For families and larger groups they have several guest houses on the property. Fresh baked cookies upon arrival which were readily available every afternoon and evening as well as a lounge area full of comfy spots and antiques that are calling for you to hunker down with a good book and relax. There are also several spots on the grounds to sit and enjoy the charm of old Charlottetown. A short walk to the waterfront or to Victoria Rowe the location is spot on. The continental breakfast went above the standard with warm mini quiches and fresh berries and tropical fruit as well as the usual coffee, toasts cereal ect. Definitely recommend this spot to those looking for a relaxing spot with the beauty and charm of Ch'town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pst20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £126 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing