We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were on our way to Nova Scotia and found this hotel in PEI. Ian and Paulette and the front desk staff were so great we decided to skip NS and stay in PEI for a few more days. We were here for our honeymoon, and had nothing but good experiences here. Our room was upgraded, which was unexpected and very appreciated. We were in a queen room with a jacuzzi. We thought the jacuzzi would be silly, but we actually used it! There was also a fireplace in the room which would be great for winter. Ian was extremely helpful with the logistics of the Confederation Bike Trail. The chocolate chip cookies, cocktail hour, and bottles of water were great touches. We had no problem with noise in room 405. I recommend that room if you are sensitive to noise as some other reviewers have mentioned. We were able to walk almost everywhere from here. We kept our bikes on the car rack and never had a problem with them since the Great George has monitored parking lots.

One of the unique features I liked was that if you do not use housekeeping for the day you get a $10 coupon for a list of nearby restaurants.

I can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoprof71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing us to be a part of your honeymoon memories. Ian is away the next couple of days but I will be sure he gets a copy of your comments. I remember him specifically speaking of you and how much he enjoyed assisting with some advice. We look forward to your return visit next summer.
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked to explore the east side of PEI and Charlottetown, and to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff was very helpful in organizing and recommending visit sites, kudos to Ian for the help. (Nice to have a treat delivered to our room for her birthday) Staying close to 150 nights a year in business travel in canned hotels, I found the George refreshing and inviting. The rooms were great and had some nice touches with the lighting and art. Close to many boutique restaurants, we enjoyed the evening meals in several diverse establishments.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PNDB6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to anywhere downtown. Rooms were clean and spacious. Lobby nice. We stayed on the ground floor in townhouse style suites. The folks staying upstairs were quiet BUT as they went up and down the stairs we could hear everything they said in our room. If they were loud it would have been quite disruptive. Breakfast was nothing special (included), Aveda products were nice. Staff were friendly and generally helpful. Not sure is if full price in season would be worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely, lovely hotel. The nicest, most professional staff. Loved our room - it offered much more than we were expecting. The king bed was awesome, we also had a kitchen area, a seating area (with fireplace and flat screen tv), a huge walk in shower, and a washer/dryer. Not to mention beautiful touches with the lighting, artwork, etc. Wow! We also enjoyed the small gardens and sitting areas outside our building. The hotel lobby was beautiful - continental breakfast was good.

The not so good was actually to do with the town. I read another reviewer comment about the bars in the area - and we also experienced the noise one night as a rather rowdy group exited one of the nearby places very late one evening (or was it early one morning?). They quieted down soon enough, but the group definitely woke us up. I have a concern for this part of town. It is the location of many historical sites, theaters, shops, and galleries, but there seems to be other elements there too. Perhaps if the restaurants/bars had an earlier closing time iin this part of town? The owners of the Great George have done their part in beautifully restoring this hotel and several old buildings surrounding it - my hope is that this entire area continues the trend by upgrading and becoming an even better visitor destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US2RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just spent two nights here on our trip through the Martimes and had a lovely stay. They just do everything right and many other hotels could take a lesson from The Great George management and staff. The location was excellent and parking was free. Although the facility dates from 1846, everything has been modernized while keeping the period charm. Our room was spotless, well appointed, spacious, quiet and had a very comfortable king sized bed. The common areas were tastefully decorated. Although not elaborate the included buffet breakfast was excellent with enough choice for everyone. Cookies, apples and lemon water seemed always to be in the lobby. Although we didn't attend, wine and beer was available in the lobby between 5:00 and 6:00 pm. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The pricing was definitely reasonable for everything you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadyToTravelYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at The Great George in July. We were thrilled to be upgraded to one of their suites overlooking the basilica upon arrival. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very kind in helping us plan our tour of the island our second day and the concierge has thoughtfully printed recommendations depending on where you are headed. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance and the complimentary breakfast was appreciated. This was our first visit to PEI and we hope to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ADemonDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Could not have been more happy! Beautiful accomodations ! Lovely room and the most helpful staff. They made our dinner reservations, and were very personable. We had beer and wine in the lobby in the afternoon, and a great breakfast in the mornings. Cannot think of anything they could improve on....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 24 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 24 in Charlottetown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £99 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing