We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced old hotel”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Last minute booking through the visitor center put us in this overpriced old hotel. Noisy, small rooms with old fixtures. Not quaint at all. Go on the floor to search for electrical outlets. Limited parking.
However staff is friendly and helpful but have limited authority.
Never will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms with adjoining doors (you'll hear EVERYTHING) and make sure you are away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are an older historic hotel in the center of Charlottetown but with many modern updates - flat screen TV.s, full size mini fridges, iron and boards, free internet and a modern updated exercise room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The location is great as it is walking distance to everything in Charlottetown. The bed was sooooooooo comfortable (we travel a lot and this one tops it all). The bath towels smelled so fresh. On the second night we have booked as a package the Dinner feast Good Golly Miss Molly and this was excellent as well. My wife ate mussels for the 1st time and she loved it. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments we receive many rave reviews regarding our pillow top mattresses. I will pass your comments on to all the staff regarding your kind words, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The good: Decent service and convenient location downtown; free (but limited) parking right in front of hotel is a plus;

The bad: need major updates in room even if you want to keep the hotel "historic", bathrooms could definitely be cleaner (eg hair in sink, specs and cracks on sink, black marks on tub tile) and hot water takes forever to get hot, no place in bathroom to put your things; taps in sink are hard to use (old fashion turning and water can spray on you if you are not careful; thin walls I can hear both of my neighbours talking; and there is an old building smell when you walk in your room and massive cleaning supplies' smell when you are in the public areas; and limited tv channels!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudCanadianTravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had a great experience at the restored Rodd Hotel at Charlottetown. Our room was perfect, king bed with large spacious living room. Large screen TV. Beautiful view from the roof. It was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Recently I understand the hotel was restored. Such a beautiful place within walking distance of other attractions. The desk clerk was so helpful with directions and a map.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardinalgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

From the hotel we were able to walk around much of the downtown core of the city. We arrived on a Saturday with a wedding in the main ballroom. We couldn't hear a thing from our room! A special treat was the lounge on the roof. It provide a perfect vantage point to watch the sunset. The breakfast was reasonably price and tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonmouse_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are looking at expanding our roof top patio for next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice quaint hotel capturing the charm of yesteryear with the conveniences of today, nicely situated in the heart of Charlottetown. Comfortable room. Parking is a little crammed, first come first serve but you can park free on street overnight. Rooftop patio was very nice, but closed a little early, 10 pm. Nice place, would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments our room top patio is a great place to view all of Charlottetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice and very friendly.
Looks like a very old hotel but it has been well maintained.
Top notch service
Beds are very comfy
Breakfast was traditional and very good.
Rooms are quiet
Everything seems old but very well done.
I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.4 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing