We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The outside of this hotel looks very specky but upon entering our room noticed it was very dated and not in an antiquey way but with cracked tiles and old toilet etc. the room was clean enough and was fine for a night but disappointed us as their reputation for an upscale hotel was lost when we entered our room. The location was good as far as being close to the downtown core.
We also had to listen to our neighbours conversation late into the night as the walls obviously were not sound proof!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandi654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. Yes our bathrooms are small and with some original fixtures so as to keep the 'look'. We do have flats screen televisions, large min-fridges, coffee perks, iron boards and free high speed internet so as to keep up with the modern travellers needs.
Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel when I visited Charlottetown with my two adult children. We loved being in a location so close to restaurants on Victoria Row and downtown sites. We enjoyed the historic architectural details as well as the comfortable bedding. Price was affordable and our service was friendly and efficient. Parking was a bit difficult, but we managed to get a space in the lot. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Would have enjoyed a room facing the front of the building since our view was uninteresting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarilynJohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words and yes our location is the best in town if I do say so myself. Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked my hotel room 6 weeks in advance to guarantee my room. I could not find the appropriate rate type online so I had to call the hotel directly; however, they were helpful and I got a good price for the dates. I received three emails confirming my reservation with the details....VERY NICE TOUCH!!!
Upon arriving, there was no parking available, with only 10 spots in the front, and the rest on street. Took me 40 min to find a parking spot nearby due to events in the downtown, and weddings etc. I was not happy to have to lug suitcases over a block away because of lack of parking. At the checkout, they then told me there was parking behind the hotel, but not well marked (I passed it 4 times without knowing)....however it was full that night for a wedding. Then I was placed in the wrong room, because someone had changed my reservation (still don't know who or why it was changed), but the room was sub par. As the hotel was fully booked that night I had to stay in the room, but they gave me two $10 coupons for the hotel restaurant. I say they should have given me the room for free since I had all the confirmation emails for my booking. But the staff that night were not the friendliest nor did they seem to care. I wasn't going to argue and lose my room completely.

The next day I was moved to my proper room and the accommodations were very satisfactory. The staff the next day were much more receptive and friendly.

The restaurant is quite beautiful, retaining the decor of years gone by, keeping in line with the history. The servers were very professional, friendly and welcoming, and the food was well prepared. The prices were FANTASTIC....please note this for breakfast as many urban hotels charge ridiculous rates for breakfast, while this was very well priced, and I would eat there each morning that I stayed due to the great price, good quality and beautiful ambience and decor. I did not have dinner there, so cannot comment.

Checkout was quick, however, upon review of my bill, I was charged the wrong rate for my room and had to return to get it corrected....again, no explanation why my rate was changed. They did refund my difference courteously.

Overall, I had a very negative start to my stay in this hotel. They need to improve on their communication with guests (especially with the parking), and pay attention to their booking and customer service. Though some of the staff shone like superstars and the cleaning staff were more like family with their warmth, friendliness, and thoroughness. Despite these setbacks and the hotel being haunted, I will be returning next year, knowing more what to expect. It's a beautiful grand hotel from a lost era and that cannot be duplicated by any modern building.

Room Tip: 4th Floor is haunted Best view from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lexxus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I will address your concerns with our front desk staff so that they make sure they inform all our guests where and how to get to our parking lot behind the hotel. I also appreciate your comments regarding our housekeepers the backbone of the hotel. Again thank you and your points will be addressed with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel is perfectly located for those who wish to explore downtown Charlottetown. Staff was very pleasant. The room was a small but clean and surprisingly quite. Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on Trip Advisor much appreciated. Location location location and clean comfortable rooms. Again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Rented the room for 2 nights. It was what it had expected, that old fashion feeling. Beds are up to date, real comfort. Walking distance to Charlotte down town and water front. Only problem was when we first checked in there wasn't any parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel was very historic, very clean with a nice restaurant attached. Stayed 2 nights in Aug.. Had an issue the first night as they had put us on the pet floor, we have no pet, and the small dog next door yelped and wined all the time the owners were away from the room, which seemed like a lot.Informed the front desk the next morning and they moved us immediately.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the pet floor if possible, usually the first floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding us being Pet Friendly we try our best to make sure all rooms are cleaned properly after a pet was in the room. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I just spent 2 nights at this hotel and over all I would consider our experience average.
Check in: Pleasant and fast

Room: We had an executive room booked ( we had previously stayed in a deluxe suite) and this room paled in comparison.

Cleanliness: Upon my first visit to the bathroom I noticed a large ladies black hair under the toilet seat (probably from the maid during cleaning) but disconcerting non the less.

Bed: 1 Queen, comfortable but seemed small?

Staff: Friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments I will as them along to all the staff. I am also addressing with our quality Assurance Officer to double check all rooms after cleaning. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: £67 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing