We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
194
215
90
41
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
215
90
41
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelrooftop patioan older hotelold world charmrooms are smalllots of characterwithin walking distancewater pressurefront desk staffcorner roomhockey tournamentlocation is greatcentral locationconfederation centreprince edward islandvictoria parkcn
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would have given a four star rating but comparing to other reviews and the outstanding staff had to bump them up. From the front desk, to housekeeping and finally our adopted tour guide waiter, Sean, the staff excelled and always greeted us with a smile. The hotel is a classic railway hotel with memories of more gentIle times in decor. The basement pool was a welcome oasis complete with sauna. We snuck a few beers and a bottle of wine to the roof top and had a nice night with other guests. The parking was easy but I could see a problem if the hotel were full. Walking distance to most Charlottetown restaurants and theatres. Would definitely return!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Dasha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dasha15

What an awesome review from your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to have such a dedicated staff who truly do care about our guests and making them feel welcome and comfortable. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooftop patio as it is a wonderful place to relax for a beer or glass of wine and enjoy the view. I will pass along your comments to our team as they are always excited to hear when guests enjoy their experience with us. We sure hope you will be back sometime over the summer months and if so you might enjoy our summer dinner theater. Thanks for your wonderful feedback and we will look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an older once great facility. Good service, restaurant breakfast was good.Rooms and facilities need an update.Has a workout, roof lounge and bar. Has a dinner show running through summer months.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank krof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear krof

Thanks so much for your review and comments from your recent stay with us. Our location is second to none for exploring our great city on foot. We have started our renovations with the first floor bathrooms and some of our meeting space. We will continue with these over the next few years until all rooms are updated to better serve our guests needs. We sure hope you will have an opportunity to return this summer for the dinner theater and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booking this hotel was effortless as the staff were very efficient and knowledgeable. The hotel is loaded with the charm of yesteryear and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make our 3 night stay comfortable. The restaurant on the premises is unreal good with the friendliest waitresses and waiters you could imagine. Excellent food and they go out of their way to ensure dietary requirements are met. This is a very quiet hotel as it was built to be that way. Location is also great as walking distance to many attractions.

Room Tip: Have stayed on several over the years and all are good.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank genoa12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear genoa12345

Thanks for your awesome review and comments from your recent stay with us. We absolutely love when our guests enjoy the classic charm and character of our hotel. Our great team of staff do work hard to ensure that our rooms are very clean and that our guests are welcomed and comfortable. Our Chambers restaurant offers wonderful local food at very reasonable prices and our service team want to ensure that everyone's dining experience is exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to PEI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Group of us stayed at the Rodd Charlottetown for two nights. This place has a great grandiose appearance with chairs and table to sit at out front. This is a nice touch. The hotel has a good location for many events in the city such as the Arts centre. Also within walking distance of the restaurants and pubs. Downside of being in the core is that parking is hard to find. Only 8 spots out front and not enough parking in their side lot. Very frustrating, and it cost one person in our group to get a parking ticket for having to park at a meter. he did not move his car in time in the morning. This hotel is dated and rooms small with dated furniture. The closet where I had wanted to hand some shirts was appox 5 inches deep. Not a useable closet at all. The rooms were clean and staff were all friendly. No issues there. But two issues I experienced as did others in our group were the noise form the water pipes. I call it a whistling noise which can be common on some homes. But not so pleasant in a hotel in the early hours. The other issue was the air quality seemed off. Maybe my fault for not seeing if I could open a window. But with a/c I would have thought there would be better air circulation. The Charlottetown area has so many accommodations, that we will pass of this place next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Blair M

Thank you for your comments and review from your recent stay with us. Our downtown location is perfect for walking to the theater, or downtown shops, restaurants or pubs. So sorry that you had difficulty with finding parking as is sometimes quite challenging with downtown city locations. We do work closely with the city and often use street parking or the parkade that is close by to help alleviate our need for additional parking. We have started our renovations with out first floor bathrooms and will be continuing to update our guest bedrooms and bathrooms over the next few years in order to better serve the needs of our guests. Our windows do open to allow fresh air in the rooms and once our temperatures remain constant our A/C will operate at maximum. We will continue with our renovation plans for our classic CN style hotel and do hope you will have the opportunity to return once they are completed. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the historic Rodd Charlottetown on many occasions, including our 25th Wedding Anniversary 5 years ago, so we were very excited to be spending our 30th Wedding Anniversary there just last weekend. As soon as we arrived, Miranda at the front desk was extremely helpful, efficient and courteous. The room, as usual, was very comfortable, clean and inviting. The location of the hotel, on a beautiful tree lined street, is ideally located just a short 5 minute walk to local shops, restaurants and the theatre. Holidaying in Charlottetown and staying at the Rodd Hotel is really the best of both worlds - surrounded by history with all modern amenities available. We had a wonderful time and are already looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMarple450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

MissMarple450

Congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary and thanks for choosing to stay at our historic hotel to celebrate it. We love hearing when people are excited about returning to our great hotel and we certainly appreciate your loyalty. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us. Miranda is a wonderful host at our desk and I will share your wonderful comments with her. We really look forward to welcoming you back for your next anniversary celebration or any other occasion that brings you to our lovely city. Thanks again for your kind rating and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews