We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Charlottetown”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights during our tour of Atalntic Canada. This was one of our favorite stops. From the very warm welcome we received on check-in, to the excellent breakfasts in the morning we found everything we needed and more. There are lots of extra touches that we really appreciated having been on the road for three weeks. There is a guest laundry, there are plenty of common areas to sit and relax. They have a small library of DVDs you can borrow to watch in your room - not that we did but I thought it a nice touch. There is also a small kitchen area where you can fix a cup of tea or coffee in the afternoon. Our room was small, compact, but priced accordingly and we felt it was good value given all the other amenities available. Also, the location was very convenient for walking into town or out to Victoria Park. We would return in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed a week at the height of the tourist season. It's a guesthouse in the European style. Lovely rooms and lots of nice touches (like lots of hanging hooks in the bathroom). Other reviewers have noted that the air-con units are all individual and rather noisy. Given that summer heat is a short-lived phenomenon we thought this was bearable. The staff are friendly and responsive. Breakfasts are opportunities to meet and chat in the crowded dining rooms -- a good place to swap stories and get tips. Enjoyed our stay a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have useful balconies.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here 10 years ago, then returned this summer again. excellent, excellent. The staff was great, the place very clean and accomodating. Highly recommended for cleanliness, convenience and hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We (our family of 5 ppl) stayed three nights, it was clean, comfortable, and we had excellent breakfasts. The 2 gentlemen at the front counter where knowledgable of the area and very courtious, the rest of the staff was great. Very family friendly. Location was to easy to find, virtualy straight off the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Heritage Harbour House Inn has a great location. It sits on a quiet street, just a 5 minute walk from the downtown. The house is in a great shape and there are lots of common space for the guests to just sit and relax. One of the best things about this place is the staff - they are friendly and extremely helpful. The only downside was that our room was a bit small.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunaldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights...and this was the first time we visited PEI. Our stay at the Heritage Harbour House was terrific. The accommodations were excellent, and the staff were all very cordial and helpful...
They also catered to the needs of the guests, and served breakfast each morning, which was consistently well done!
We would definitely recommend the Heritage Harbour House Inn...it's a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I really enjoyed the "homey", casual feel of this Inn. The staff were kind and the eggs benedict was delicious. The compact room was perfect for my 6 year old and I. The mattresses and pillows were perfectly cozy and we got a great night's sleep. We walked to the harbour twice and stopped at a park to play along the way. I would definitely stay here again as i felt it was reasonably priced. When it was time to leave, i wished I could stay longer.

Sarah

Room Tip: the compact room with twin beds was perfect for parent/child combination. We were right beside an up...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £85 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing