We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical B & B”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am not a B & B person but this was the perfect blend of hotel and B & B. Our deluxe queen double was huge - room for two beds, two arm chairs, an entertainment unit, a desk and plenty of room to walk around in. It was spotless as was the bathroom. There was none of the flowery chintz and knickknacks one would expect in a B & B - just simple, clean, beautiful decor. The food was delicious and it was nice to have a choice of sweet or savory breakfast. It is ideally located in a residential area just off the western edge of the downtown. We easily walked all around Charlottetown. I look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie201183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family spent two weeks in the Maritimes, this was easily the best accommodation we stayed in the entire trip. Lovely rooms (we had three of the suites - beautifully appointed), off-street parking, big deck and sitting area on upper level, sun room c/w snacks at the front of the property, very quiet building, rooms equipped with individual A/C units, lovely artwork (mostly original and local) throughout, etc. Breakfast was served in two large dining room areas. Staff were very courteous and helpful, brochures and maps of things to see and do in and around Charlottetown were readily available.

Overall, this Inn is highly recommended. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Although a bit more expensive, the suites really are beautiful rooms! If you're going to pamper...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Perfect location, peaceful, despite very near to downtown.
Friendly staff and owners, best breakfast we had in Canada, served with porcelain cups (first time in a B&B.
Furnishing of the rooms as well as the corridors were beautiful.
It was a pitty we could not stay another night and had to move elsewhere.
Would truely recommend the place...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilüfer ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect for enjoying the peace and quiet of Charlottetown, but within easy walking distance of shops and the waterfront.

The room we rented was clean and nicely decorated. The housekeeping was immaculate and made us feel right at home.

Breakfast was always delicious, with a couple of options available each morning.

We had a brilliant time at the Heritage Harbour House Inn and would definitely stay here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights here last week and were so pleased with everything at Heritage House. The staff were always ready to accommodate our every need even when we gave them very little notice. This B&B is in a stunning old house that makes you want to move to Charlottetown but the rooms are anything but old, they have made every effort to update them. The rooms were extremely comfortable, clean and modern. Breakfasts were delicious and very filling. We would definitely recommend a stay here and will absolutely be staying here again next time we're in Ch'town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Lovely stay in this B&B, which is quiet and restful but only two blocks away from the heart of Charlottetown! We are not usually B&B people, but we had a great experience here. They have a variety of well appointed, rooms with updated furnishings, bedding, and decor. Many rooms had their own balcony, and I saw many guests hanging out enjoying wine or reading and relaxing. We stayed in a compact room, which was snug but had everything we need. The innkeeper was very kind--though we arrived after 10pm but had not called ahead of time (as we should have), he left us a note to call him when he arrived. He came right down to check us in and show us around. The breakfasts were very good, with a hot sweet and savory entree to choose from daily. The staff were all very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with our two children. We always think twice about bringing children to a bed and breakfast, as often it is a more intimate setting and we do not want to impose the energy and "exuberance" of our younger children on other guests in a smaller space. We chose this place due to the reviews and the fact that the description appealed to us most. Everyone was very welcoming. It was not overly formal. This was a lovely place; the owners were helpful, informative, but not intrusive. The location was excellent and we were in easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants and sights. We stayed in the deluxe queen/queen room and the space was ample. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were super clear and the water pressure (I like my showers!) excellent. The entire family enjoyed the breakfasts and the variety of choices more than adequate for the picky eater in my family. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank jk730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
511 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £85 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing