We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find. Pleasantly surprised. Best place of our trip.”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The minute we walked in my husband started smiling. We hadn't booked anything yet and many of the hotel were full. This place had one room left with two twin beds. Since we are used to a king or queen, I didn't have high expectations, but was happy to at least have a room. This B &B was beautiful, clean and comfortable with unexpected touches such as decks off of rooms. Conveniently located and friendly staff. We were served eggs Benedict in addition to continental breakfast. Even the twin beds were comfy. Nice place. Would stay here again if ever make a return trip to PEI.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfriedrich133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very clean rooms. It was great having a fridge in the room. Walking distance to downtown and Victoria park. We had a room that overlooked the patio, the only downfall was that we had to close the windows when people went out for a cigarette as we could smell the smoke.

Other than that it was a great B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was a perfect Inn for my family and I to spend the last night of our week-long PEI cycling trip. First, the owners were most gracious, allowing us to leave our car in their off-street parking lot for the 9 day duration of our trip. The Inn itself is steps from downtown Charlottetown and the harbour. We stayed in 2 compact rooms, one with 2 beds on the second floor and one with 1 queen bed on the third floor. The entire house is furnished beautifully, there is coffee / tea and a kitchenette available at all times, and the hot breakfast (blueberry pancakes) was delicious!

There is a garage to store bicycles, and the Confederation Trail Charlottetown trail head is approximately 1 mile down Grafton Street.

Highly recommended and we wish we had a few more days to spend in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am not a B & B person but this was the perfect blend of hotel and B & B. Our deluxe queen double was huge - room for two beds, two arm chairs, an entertainment unit, a desk and plenty of room to walk around in. It was spotless as was the bathroom. There was none of the flowery chintz and knickknacks one would expect in a B & B - just simple, clean, beautiful decor. The food was delicious and it was nice to have a choice of sweet or savory breakfast. It is ideally located in a residential area just off the western edge of the downtown. We easily walked all around Charlottetown. I look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie201183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family spent two weeks in the Maritimes, this was easily the best accommodation we stayed in the entire trip. Lovely rooms (we had three of the suites - beautifully appointed), off-street parking, big deck and sitting area on upper level, sun room c/w snacks at the front of the property, very quiet building, rooms equipped with individual A/C units, lovely artwork (mostly original and local) throughout, etc. Breakfast was served in two large dining room areas. Staff were very courteous and helpful, brochures and maps of things to see and do in and around Charlottetown were readily available.

Overall, this Inn is highly recommended. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Although a bit more expensive, the suites really are beautiful rooms! If you're going to pamper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Perfect location, peaceful, despite very near to downtown.
Friendly staff and owners, best breakfast we had in Canada, served with porcelain cups (first time in a B&B.
Furnishing of the rooms as well as the corridors were beautiful.
It was a pitty we could not stay another night and had to move elsewhere.
Would truely recommend the place...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilüfer ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect for enjoying the peace and quiet of Charlottetown, but within easy walking distance of shops and the waterfront.

The room we rented was clean and nicely decorated. The housekeeping was immaculate and made us feel right at home.

Breakfast was always delicious, with a couple of options available each morning.

We had a brilliant time at the Heritage Harbour House Inn and would definitely stay here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing