We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay when in Charlottetown”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must stay when in Charlottetown”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A friend and I have just returned from a visit to Atlantic Canada. When we were in Charlottetown we made a last minute booking at Heritage Harbour House Inn. We couldn't have made a more excellent choice. The room - and beds - were so comfy. Clean, spacious, courteous service, etc. A scrumptuous breakfast was served by attentive personnel. It's located walking distance from centretown where it's all happening. Close to restaurants, etc. I want to praise the owner who went the extra mile in order to locate a dressing gown I had left behind. He went out of his way to look for it and when he found it he rang me to let me know where I could collect it. Thank you Michael.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozincan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    163
    27
    12
    1
See reviews for
158
376
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and parents for their anniversary. Quick walk to waterfront and downtown for dinner. Very quiet area. Beautiful building, rooms very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for two nights, in two different rooms. The first was in the basement which was ok and seemed clean but had a damp unpleasant odour, most definitely due to the lack of ventilation. The second room on the second floor was a lot better, and smelt a lot fresher. The breakfast was fine with different options daily and very helpful staff. The staff on the whole were very helpful and friendly. The best thing about this inn was the central location although most of the accommodation is within a similar radius. If you are going to stay here, make sure it isn't in the basement...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyH156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The location of this inn is great location in charlottetown, as you walk to most places in the city. The inn is much larger than we expected but had nice charm. The room was large. Breakfast was pretty good. Hot and cold options. The only thing i would say is that the room had a slight damp odour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetheworld416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

WE <3 HERITAGE HARBOUR HOUSE

My husband and I stayed here for over a week in August 2013 and I have to say this has to have been our best B&B experience, and we both travel a lot. From the start its the little things that make it #1, the beautiful decor and home, fantastic staff and an establishment that is just simply beautiful. So cose to downtown, 3 blocks, and great little extras. Kitchen for communal use on all floors, balconies in most rooms, and communal balconies and sun room. Not to mention the breakfasts with hot entree options ... we never had a bad breakfast and they always looked exquisite.

We have to give a special shout out to ALEXA, the lovely woman who learned our names the first day and greeted us by name the entire time. She also had some great dinner suggestions. We loved this girl, she's definately a STAR! All employees were fantastic as well.

I really dont know how one could rate this place anything under 4 stars.
Overall this place was just so lovely, all the little extras you dont expect but make your trip even better. We WILL be returning

Room Tip: I suggest a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed two nights at this very nice bed and breakfast spot. We chose one of the compact rooms and it was more than adequate. Comfortable beds, good storage and work space and clean, up to date washroom (but don't drop the soap in the shower). It is a beautiful old house but the floors can be noisy if you are on the second floor. They serve a hot breakfast in the busy breakfast room and have lots of cold dishes (cereal, bagels, toast, jams) as well. It is in a great location just a few blocks from the main street, Province House, the Confederation Centre and Victoria Park. Hosts are very pleasant and it most certainly would be our stay next time we go to Charlottetown.

Room Tip: The compact rooms are very nice and a good value but I would choose the larger rooms next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I have been travelling all over the Atlantic this year, and we have stayed in many 4-5 star places here and in our home province of BC, this B and B is one of the best! Tastefully decorated, quiet, elegant and a great stay! We would recommend it to anyone.......we will be back.
Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing