We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more than a b and b”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“more than a b and b”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As with all the other reviewers I concur with the fantastic location. you can park the car and walk everywhere. Although there are 22 rooms you don't feel as if there are a large number of other people around. We had a suite on the ground floor which was very spacious. the beds were really comfortable with wonderful crisp bedlinen. there were a lot of nice touches like the DVD/book libraries ( free) and easily accessible public computer.
Breakfast is on shared tables and limited compared with a number of other similar places we stayed during our Maritime travels . Fruit was limited to a few pieces which accompanied the hot breakfast and there was not much choice of muffins/bagels /bread.
Staff very helpful and plenty of parking/tourist literature. would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    144
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
152
350
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived way too early for check-in, but received a cheerful and helpful reception and an offer to stow our luggage - someone later carted it up three stories to our room before we settled in. We got some touristy tips and ventured out into the Charlottetown rain for a day of exploring. The available arts and crafts offerings has greatly increased since my last visit seven years ago. This probably has something to do with the fact that Charlottetown is now a fairly common cruise boat stop and, indeed, one was at the dock during our one night there.

The Inn is ideally situated a few blocks from the main street and very close to Victoria Park which is a beautiful place in the sun but not so much in the rain. All shops, restaurants, museums etc. are within easy walking distance. Our room on the top floor under the eaves was nicely and comfortably furnished with all standard conveniences including AC. The bathroom was contemporary and utilitarian and had a very narrow shower that I could hardly squeeze into. The WiFi worked well. Parking is conveniently located in the back. The dining and public spaces are pleasantly furnished and inviting.

We had to leave before breakfast, but the staff kindly prepared a couple of take-out bags for us with a continental selection.

This place is, in all respects, an ideal B&B for Charlottetown and we will certainly stay here again when we return. Happy Trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in the suite with a kitchen. Lots of room, comfortable bed, awesome breakfast and a great location. Parked are rental car in the evenings and walked to restaurants, clubs and bars. Was so nice they had a laundry room on the lower floor. Staff was really nice. I would defenately stay again.

Room Tip: Suites with the kitchen are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrisSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from December 2013-May 2014. Myself along with 3 colleagues were international students studying for a semester with UPEI. During the off season (anytime except summer) HHH offers students short term rentals. The price is awesome, it's close to everything, the bus stop, clubs, bars, restaurants, shopping; we could literally walk everywhere. Someone took us grocery shopping every week (no breakfast offered during this time). Someone came and cleaned our rooms once a week or so, and it was super quiet so we could study. The Inn is well maintained. The on site manager Alexa was a gem, she came up with great activities that we could do, since it was winter and a lot of fun places were closed. The entire experience was awesome, and I do highly recommend that visitors stay at HHH.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAPPYSERVICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Close to everything downtown, including the Convention Centre 10 mins walk each morning. I could not find fault with anything. Room was well equipped and maintained, even a USB in the power bar. A wide selection was offered for breakfast, with hot and cold options and fresh baked muffins and scones. Staff were friendly and helpful, lots of parking. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Perfectly situated, well run large B&B two blocks from Queen Street and Victoria Park. Great rear parking, friendly staff, good size rooms and tasy breakfasts.
We would return again.
We stayed in Room 2 on the ground floor with a King bed, large sitting area, fridge, sink and microwave. Good choice for our three day stay.
No need for a car if you are just seeing the town. Taxis are inexpensive ($16 to and from the airport); $8 to the golf course.
Recommend Lot30 and Claddaughs Oyster House for fine dining, Merchantman or St. James Gate Pubs. Water Street Corner House for lobster or fish (very casual) Check the monthly local entertainment paper "The Buzz" for music, theater, ceilidhs, festivals.

Room Tip: Main floor Rooms 2,3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I took our first trip to PEI and were lucky to have checked into the Hertiage Harbour House Inn for three nights. The staff went above and beyond. Michael ( the owner) and his right hand person Alexa were very helpful. Always there with a smile and ready advise on where to go or where to eat.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious and well managed. Could not image anyone not enjoying their stay at this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: One down side...no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing