We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful. Just a perfect place to stay while visiting Prince Edward Island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Just a perfect place to stay while visiting Prince Edward Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

I have visited many places in the world and have to say that this is one of the nicest places I have stayed. The hosts are so friendly and make sure your stay is as private as you want it to be. We met so many interesting people there. The breakfast time was a great oportunity to meet people and the staff were so kind not to mention the delicious food. They wanted to make sure your breakfast time was a winderful experience and it always was. The location cannot be better. You can walk to just about any where in Charlottetown. Driving out to the country side was simple. We rented a junior suite and so we were able to buy local seafood and cook in our room. It was great...the mussels were wonderful. We stayed for 3 days and 4 nights but to be honest I wish we would have stayed longer. We love Prince Edward Island and will be back. When we go back we are staying at Heritage Harbour House. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you very much for your positive review! We were more than happy to have you here with us, in the Junior suite...or what we call "The Rose Room."

Thank you for featuring such great photos of our front yard...the breakfast table, and the breakfast nook located in your suite! I'm sure your vacation was filled with great memories here on Prince Edward Island, and we are so honoured to be a part of it!

We look forward to have you and your partner here again with us, as it was a real joy having you here. We are anxiously awaiting your return!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    144
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
150
345
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I have stayed here two years in a row and would be this year except for the fact they were totally booked up for the time period we wanted . The Inn is very conveniently located, only two or three blocks from the Confederation Center, to which we could easly walk ----the car was left at the Inn's parking lot , safely off the street and did not have to worry about it. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.---incidently, I would like to comment on the othe poster's comment about not having a cheese board or meats out. --- this isnt Europe! The breakfast that is given leaves absolutely nothing to complain about. And to the other person complaining about getting a call from the management regarding the noisy kids, I say , good for them to call and address the situation. I wouldnt appreciate having to hear noisy kids at that time of night. I"d be complaining to the management myself about them. Kids that age should not be up that late making a noise. We will continue to book with the Harbour House Inn.!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnapolisValleyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, 12 July 2009
Thank you so much for your positive review of our location.

We are terribly sorry that we could not accommodate you this year, but we hope you found suitable reservations here on our Gentle Island, PEI.

I appreciate your comments about our breakfast! You're right, this is not Europe, however, we are working on a cheese board platter anyways, as our European demographic has been increasing! We just need more research on the topic! Best to leave everyone happy, and feeling like they are home!

Thank you for commenting on the noise issue. Your mature perspective on the issue is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to be of service to you next year!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The owner was very friendly and as a bonus, spoke Spanish. We were only able to stay in the bedroom with Twin beds as everything else was already full. However, the room was very comfortable, full of amenities and the in suite bathroom, although small,it was perfectly cute. Tastefully decorated, well located, great breakfast, with available parking; we would definitely return.

  • Liked — the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bruixita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, 12 July 2009
Thank you very much for your positive review, and thank you for sharing pictures of our popular "Compact Room, 2 twin bed," room...which we call "The Yellow room." Thank you for your comments pertaining to breakfast, and parking!

I'm happy to hear that you may be returning and we anxiously await that day!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Very nice rooms, absolutely excellent wireless internet access, extremely helpful staff and very good location... oh and nice breakfast too!

Its not as if there is buckloads to do in charlottetown, but is is very nice for a short stay, and this place was great for a short stay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and blazing internet access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HayesAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

Late August 2008:

We found the Inn to be exactly as described on their web-page, very friendly owners and staff! The Inn is also in a very convenient location for walking to all places downtown.
Off-street parking - enough spaces - was also appreciated and so was the fact that the place was very quiet at night. While right downtown, it's a little off the main thoroughfare, in a nice and quiet residential area.
The room we had was very nice, absolutely spotless, had good ventilation - windows you can actually open and the beds were extremely comfortable. A little bar-fridge rounded out our needs for some drinks and late night snacks.
Breakfast was ample and included daily a different warm serving plus fruit, all served by a friendly and helpful staff. But it had “Continental” leanings, with the ubitquous Danishes, Scones and cup-cakes. Those travelers which are used to European breakfast spreads however would be disappointed: no cheese board or cold cuts.
Some rooms have a balcony or veranda, and there are in addition many shared outdoor locations with tables and chairs for late night glasses of wine and conversation. There’s also a nice sun-room, a small kitchen for guest use and a computer with internet connection and printer.

  • Liked — We liked the "whole package", starting with location and ending with helpful owners and staff.
  • Disliked — there really was nothing we found not to like.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amphitryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

This is a comfortable B&B located walking distance from all the sights in downtown Charlottetown. We stayed with our kids and they had a good selection of DVDs as well as up to date electronics in the room. The offstreet parking lot around back made it easy to park and forget about the car while in Charlottetown. The breakfast was good and the staff were all pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Albemarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

Heritage House was a wonderful surprise. (There were 6 of us) Right in the heart of Charlottetown. Close to a lot of attractions. (Well within walking distance) We found the accommodations to be superb, and the staff was above and beyond normal "hotel" staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had to leave early on our last day to catch the ferry, and to our surprise there was a breakfast to go for all of us. Nice touch. We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who is making the trip to PEI.

Grant and Debbie McLaren
Winnipeg MB.

  • Liked — What was not to like
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like about this accomondation
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank winnipegbluebomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing