We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't believe the stuff packed in here!”

The Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum
Attraction details
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You won't believe the stuff packed in here!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited this museum for the first time in January, and was simply blown away. One of the better military museum you will visit anywhere with TONS of artifacts and information. It is laid out quite logically and chronological which is much appreciated. Even a section dedicated to peacekeeping. It is quite small, but don't let that fool you. It isn't thrown together either. Nicely presented! Give yourself at least 1 hour to really look at everything. I can't believe it isn't the number one attraction in Charlottetown.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lloyd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Artifacts!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tucked away inside a working military base, this is a gem of details. The citizens of PEI are very patriotic and have generously donated any and all artifacts pertaining to various military operations throughout the years. It seems there has been a division from PEI (or at least several men/women) in every major military event since the 1700's.
Due to the mild climate, the uniforms are in excellent shape and some of them are complete from top to bottom.
It is a free exhibit, with donations accepted.
This is an excellent museum for anyone researching military history for a film or report. I could've spent far more time there than I was able to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
454 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Truly a hidden jewel. A comprehensive collection near the boardwalk. Definitely worth a visit and then continue along the boardwalk for a pleasant afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“glad I dropped in”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Came in after the Nov. 11 commemoration. Looking for info on my great uncle but nobody there to inquire about him. Displays very interesting, though. Glad I dropped in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you are interested in military history, make sure that you visit this museum. There are some military vehicles to see as well as historic photo's and plaques.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CollTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing