We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, just okay food”
Review of The Churchill Arms

The Churchill Arms
Ranked #15 of 252 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Prince Edward Island's only authentic British Pub, located in Charlottetown. Our Pub features British Style Curries and Traditional British Dishes. Join us for great Beer, Food and Service!
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub, just okay food”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went here to watch the first World Cup game. wasnt overly busy, average pub busy. Ordered the burger - it had sat out too long, melted cheese had congealed and was cold. Tomatoe and lettuce weren't the freshest.

The service though was impeccable. Always had a full pint of beer, and the waitress was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    27
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Several trips, overall average”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been to Churchill Arms several times and overall it comes out average. Most of the time, the food is very good to awesome. I love the curry for sure! and the fries are terrific! The last time I was there with my mother and sister, the service was not typical. The waitress seems distracted and disinterested but that is not usual. I have had this same waitress before and she has always been very good so good policy to not base things on one experience! I like to go here and it is one of my favorites. Sometimes the crowd at the bar can be too loud but it is a pub!! When visiting Charlottetown, you really should come in for some traditional British fare!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not bad but not as expected”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Decided to go here based on what they are known for- curry :) Got a variety of food (group of people) including curry. Can't complain- food was hot, fast and satisfying. I guess I thought the curry would be a bit better. Server was top notch and very friendly. There were children in our group and she was quite good with them. Thought the food could have used a bit of sprucing up but other than that a great place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pub food, nothing more”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Food first: Curry is what they're known for. We all (2 couples) order the dinner- size dish Chicken Marsalla. The chicken and sauce is served in a bowl on a plate. Rice and or fries are on the side. My first beef is with quantity of chicken. Maybe 7 bite sized chunks in a soup-sized bowl of curry sauce. The rest of the dish is a good sized scoop of rice and a small portion of fries. This for $15.95. I have ordered the same meal there at lunch and had the same quantity. At night you are offered lunch or dinner size ($12.95/$$15.95). I didn't see any difference between lunch and dinner portions.

Next, service: not good. Two servers handling the Friday night crowd doesn't cut it. Fortunately one of them is a seasoned veteran and is capable of juggling several balls at once. Our waits were long and would have been unacceptable if this person had not extended herself.

In summary: on a slow day at lunch this place serves a decent curry for Charlottetown. If the place is busy, especially at dinner, they have trouble coping.

Visited November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My spouse and I had a date night at the Churchill Arms and had a very nice time, although I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a romantic venue. We ordered the curry sampler and found it very flavourful and filling. The ambiance is okay, but it got very crowded around the bar - particularly around the front entrance, where people just kind of stepped inside far enough to get a drink and then just stood there. Our server was friendly but it took an excruciatingly long time to get our food. Thankfully, the food was worth the wait. I would hope that lunch service is speedier. All in all, I would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing