We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel on Pownal
Nearby Hotels
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairholm National Historic Inn(Charlottetown)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodd Royalty(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Cornwall)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Great George(Charlottetown)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sonata Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
196
138
47
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
138
47
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookieshotel has free parkingwithin walking distanceno elevatorhard boiled eggscontinental breakfastdowntown charlottetownlocal beerthe pilot housecomfortable bedsfrittatabreakfast areafrench toastvery nice stayqueen streetconvenient locationconfederation centre
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed in room 122. Pleasantly surprised at how spacious, clean and comfortable the room was. The overall location was very close to all amenities including dining and pharmacy and in a very walkable part of the downtown area for some sightseeing. The continental breakfast area was nice and comfortable with refreshments including hot tea available at all times. The front desk staff were always helpful and the cleaning staff were excellent.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Lanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel on Pownal and for sharing your experience on this site.

It is always so rewarding to hear positive feedback as it reinforces that the Hotel on Pownal is one of the best places to stay while in Charlottetown. All your great comments are shared with our staff members ensuring they know how much our guests appreciate them.

Thank you once more for taking the time to write a review and I hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed at the HOP during a recent business trip. Originally we attempted to book at an alternate hotel but ran into some difficulties. A local suggested we try the HOP and I'm glad we did. Clean and modern the rooms are very spacious. WiFi was good throughout the hotel although slightly slow at times. Unless you're streaming movies or something I wouldn't imagine it would be an issue. The rooms did lack mini fridges and the general complaint from the group was that they were slightly warmer than would have been preferred. The AC was disconnected for the winter months. Fresh baked cookies on arrival and complimentary breakfast in the morning were the highlights for me. Within easy walking distance of many pubs, clubs and restaurants this hotel is a smart choice for those looking for something a little out of the ordinary.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mleducho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the Hotel on Pownal and thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

You are right, our downtown location is ideal for checking out Charlottetown's many pubs, clubs, and restaurants.

When booking with us again, please mention that you would like to have a fridge in your room. All our King and queen bedded rooms come equipped with mini fridge and Keurig Coffee maker. During the winter months, the Hotel wants to ensure all our guests are warm and cozy but the system may need some fine tuning.

I am glad you first choice for accommodations ran into problems in taking your booking allowing you to experience our property and amazing staff members. I look forward to your next visit to the Hotel on Pownal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I didn't know what to expect as the room was covered by a third party. I was really impressed with the overall look and feel of the property. It is basically a boutique hotel. Recently renovated from an old motel. Steps to downtown. Excellent, attentive staff. Fitness center is really nice. Complimentary breakfast was fresh. Rooms are clean and each room on second floor has a balcony. The only negative thing for me was that the room did not have a mini refrigerator. That's my only complaint and it is a minor one. I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is nicely decorated, and rooms are spacious and well equipped. Our second floor room had a small balcony. It was freezing cold, so we didn't make much use of it. The top of the ice cube container was noticeably dirty, and this brings into question how clean the rest of the ice cube container and glasses (real glasses and not plastic) were. One of the electrical outlet was not working, so we had to unplug the lamp to use this outlet. Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay. The beds were very comfortable, and we did not hear any noise from other rooms or the hall. There is no pool but there is an exercise area with a few machines. I'll bring running shoes next time.

The continental breakfast was adequate, with an egg dish and the usual toast, juice, coffee.

The location is fairly close to the downtown core, and so it is within walking distance. There are other hotels closer to downtown.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

The lobby and breakfast nook were beautifully decorated and maintained.

The parking lot felt crowded. We were in a Mini, so we can park anywhere, but some of the bigger vehicles were having a hard time, I am sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drizzt_Dark_Elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Each and every step was a wonderful surprise. From the umbrellas at the hotel front door (which we didn't need to use) to the extra care the linens were arranged on the bed (lots of big fluffy pillows) Wine opener and coffee machine (keurig) to the large flat screen TV plus an MP3 player for your iphone. The continental breakfast was the best i have had for years... good coffee, homemade cinnamon buns and scones and fresh fruit, etc etc. What can i say.... somebody took the time to think of everything.... must have been a woman.

Julianne and Jack

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews