We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stylish but small”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stylish hotel on Pownal was a very good experience. Great beds, huge pillows, neat breakfast room and good breakfast were great things about this hotel. Some disadvantage was the small size of the room, plus no fridge or minibar. It was also rather pricey. All in all, The Hotel on Pownal was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnishGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your contribution to this site.

I am glad that overall your experience at the Hotel on Pownal was a positive one. Our breakfast, beds, and pillows are certainly where the rubber meets the road. The Hotel has rooms of various sizes, maybe a king bedded room would have been a better fit for your stay.

Thanks again and let us know that you would like a larger room when booking your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    133
    46
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
142
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berry Mills NB
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Straight forward, great service, and especially looking for something different than 'high-rise' boxes - convenient location, free parking, quiet neighbourhood setting, great dining nearby. Recommend highly for business or leisure travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon-and-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

You are certainly correct, aside from our great location, wonderful amenities, and warm Island hospitality, our building itself has a certain, "Character' to it. The Hotel is a nice departure from the run of the mill high rise units that so many downtown cities offer. It has a very, "homey" feeling which both our guests and staff appreciate.

Thanks again for your stay and great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Greatly surprised. What a gem! Read a review about the place and went with it. We're glad we did. Such friendly workers. We are certainly glad we stayed there. The price was reasonable. Walking distance to downtown. Rooms were on the small size, however the room was very clean, cozy, and comfy. Loved the breakfast. I was so impressed. Definitely would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank konane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. So nice to know that our guests appreciate us as much as we appreciate them. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on Pownal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel on Pownal in Charlottetown for two nights recently. We found the service very good along with the accommodations. A very well stocked and displayed deluxe continental breakfast greeted us in the morning.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
This hotel is within walking distance of the Confederation Centre, Water front,shopping and many fine eating establishments
I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom level with drive-up access to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

So nice to see that you enjoyed all the services and amenities that the Hotel has to offer. Our location is indeed ideal to explore Charlottetown with its many restaurants, shops, and beautiful waterfront.

Our breakfast is certainly designed to get you started on the right foot with a full tank. No need to leave hungry here.

Having said all that, it is really our dedicated staff members that make this Hotel the warm and welcoming place that it is. Thank you for appreciating all they do to make your stay the best it can be.

Thanks again for your review and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel on Pownal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

No serious problems with the hotel and some real upsides, but nothing to write home about.

Pros:
- clean, decent room;
- above-average complimentary breakfast;
- convenient location a short, pleasant walk from downtown core;
- comfortable bed;
- notably friendly staff

Cons:
- TINY room;
- distinctly lacking in boutique-ness for a place selling itself as a "boutique" hotel;
- super loud A/C unit;
- poor value -> not really worth the $160+ the tiny room cost for a night;
- my view seemed to be into someone's apartment kitchen window

If you don't mind small, aren't too concerned about cost, and aren't looking for a view, this could be a decent spot for you.

Room Tip: 130-series rooms seem to be tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your day to review the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

I am happy that overall your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our central location, deluxe continental breakfast, and great staff members.

As the Hotel is located right downtown, it does overlook other buildings. Though neighbouring homes do impede on view, it does make the Hotel a very quiet place for being in the centre of the City.

Should you book with us again, consider reserving a king or double-double room as they are larger in size. The single rooms offer the same amenities but are indeed a bit smaller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance to the downtown and water front areas making this a perfect location. The staff here is very friendly and most helpful. One drawback is no elevator but the staff is more than willing to help with your luggage. The rooms are neat and clean and we were able to leave our window open for fresh air. Breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeTraveled4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel on Pownal and writing a review on this site.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Not having an elevator is sometimes a plus as it gives our staff members a chance to get to know you a little better and answer any questions you may have.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this nice hotel. Breakfast was fantastic and the location is great - very central. I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Charlottetown. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mufty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel on Pownal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Property: The Hotel on Pownal
Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing