We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Charlottetown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Charlottetown”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel within walking distance of everything. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff was friendly and professional. I thought that the free continental breakfast was amongst the best I had ever had, with lots of variety, including fresh fruit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NBMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback on this site.

I am glad that you enjoyed our services and amenities at the Hotel especially our deluxe continental breakfast offering and friendly staff.

Again thank you for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    131
    46
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
141
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked online, got a great rate and when we checked in the room greatly exceeded our expectations based on the reviews we'd read. Our room was quite large and well appointed and most importantly for me - clean. There is no elevator though so be aware of that when booking - all rooms are up at least one flight of stairs from the front desk. The continental breakfast was really good. They had the usual options - toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, but they also had a hot egg dish that was very tasty. The hotel is perfectly located for theatre, shopping and dining. It's a bit of a walk to some of the other tourist areas but a beautiful walk none the less. And last, but not least, they have fresh baked cookies and tea or coffee available for free each afternoon. Who doesn't love fresh baked cookies?!? We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This establishment and its front office staff exceeded all our expectations for a hotel in Charlottetown. From the upscale room accommodations through to the morning breakfast; all was a notch above anything experienced to date on PEI.
What really stood out was the attentiveness of the front office folks. Any query we had was handled with a smile and a 'can do' willingness to make our stay most pleasant. We had booked 5 rooms and all of our relatives were equally impressed with the Hotel on Pownal.
I do not normally bother with writing reviews; this time it seemed appropriate to do so.

T. P.
Orleans, ON

Room Tip: Note that there is no elevator so carrying luggage upstairs is factor to consider when requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback in regards to the Hotel on Pownal on this site. Knowing that it is unusual for you to do so makes this review even better.

Aside from our wonderful location, deluxe continental breakfast, and nicely appointed accommodations, it is our staff members that make this Hotel special. I am so glad that each and every one of them left you with wonderful memories of the Hotel on Pownal.

Thank you again for your many kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel and PEI in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a find this hotel was. We were greeted with smiles by the excellent staff, the room was great, very well appointed and there was even a happy hour in the lobby with wine and beer being served to the guests. This hotel is walking distance to all the wonderful restaurants that Charlottetown has to offer. Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. They will even package up a breakfast to go for travelers who are in a hurry.

Room Tip: We didn't choose a room per se; the room we were given was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Catherine321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences at the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

It is certainly nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to visit some of our local restaurants in the City. I am glad our staff made you feel at home and that the breakfast and guest reception were a hit.

I look forward to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel on Pownal to provide you with more memorable experiences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newofoundland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here once before and found my room a little small. This time out I called and told them that the room was too small and they were more than happy to help me out. This time I got a suite. It had a stove, refrigerator, toaster etc. There was a small kitchen (but no table), bathroom , living room and a nice sized bedroom. Overall the hotel itself is very modern and really nice inside. The bed was super comfie and I found it a quiet hotel. I was very happy this time out. Glad I came back. I would return to the suite size room. Great location- right across from the Pilot House restaurant which is excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ldruken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to express your stay on this site to other travelers.

Your comments are certainly appreciated. I am glad to see that you choose the Hotel on Pownal for a second stay and enjoyed your larger room. It is always a good thing when you, the traveler, let us know how you feel allowing staff members to act and achieve a positive outcome.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Island and the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here on a quick overnight stop for business and while the hotel met my needs, the small rooms with a lack of a work space means I probably wouldn't go back for business, although the price was good.
Check in was pleasant, and the property is nicely laid out. The rooms are very much on the small side, and two would be a crowd. The bed was comfortable, and the included breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that apart from the physical size to the room, you enjoyed everything the Hotel on Pownal has to offer.

The Hotel offers guest rooms of varying configurations and sizes including ones that have a work desk in them. Should you book with us again, please let us know that you would like a room with a desk and we will be more than happy to assign a suitable room to you. I apologize if this question was not put to you during the reservations process.

Thanks again for your comments and do hope that you will return to the Hotel on Pownal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
757 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had the visitor center recommend this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice our stay was. They had a happy hour in the afternoon which was nice. Our breakfast was included in the room charge and it was very good,. Our room was nice and had a comfortable bed. The staff was real friendly and helpful with our travel request. I used their washer and dryer to wash some clothes. The price was very reasonable. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for commenting on your experience at the Hotel on Pownal here on this site.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our on-site laundry facilities.

It's also nice to see that you were able to attend our evening Guest Reception. It runs every weeknight from 5pm -6pm and it a great way to get to know our staff members or fellow travelers while enjoying a beverage.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Property: The Hotel on Pownal
Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing