We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh baked cookies, free beer and wine tasting and 2 blocks from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
portland, maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh baked cookies, free beer and wine tasting and 2 blocks from town”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I'm sure we stayed at the best place in Charlottetown. The hotel was very modern with exceptionally friendly staff and a great location. They have fresh cookies baked until midnight and the breakfast had many homemade tasting items such as granola and muffins. We stayed just one night but could have stayed all week!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on the upper floors, our room looked out on a small house's back yard-fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Great to see that you enjoyed our daily dose of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, weekday evening guest receptions, and deluxe continental breakfast.

Add up all those items to our ideal location and great staff and you would be correct in saying that you stayed in the best place in Charlottetown.

Thank you so much for your stay and feedback and until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    133
    46
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
142
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last summer for a few days. The hotel was clean, room was comfortable and breakfast was impressive!! Probably the best included breakfast I have had at a hotel. Had a real boutique hotel feeling and great service!!! Will definitely return again soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

I am glad that you enjoyed all the services and amenities that the Hotel has to offer especially our Deluxe Continental Breakfast.

Thanks again for our comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just visited PEI and stayed at this gem of a hotel. It is definitely within walking distance of many restaurants as well as the downtown area. The hotel staff were fantastic by offering great advice on where to eat and directions on how to get to different places. They even offered umbrellas for our use on a night that it was raining. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast offered a variety of options from cereals to muffins to a different hot item each day. Just be aware that there is no elevator so if you have trouble walking stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. This did not cause us a problem at all. If we ever return to PEI, this is definitely where we would stay.

Room Tip: Inside rooms above the lobby were quiet (no view, but we did not care).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 847harrietg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you so much for your contribution to this site.

I appreciate all the positive comments in regards to your stay with us. Great to see that the Hotel was able to show you what Island Hospitality is all about.

Thanks again and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shediac, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice place, centrally located. Breakfast was good but we've seen more variety in the past.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The free drinks between 5&6 during the week is a plus.

Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: If possible avoid rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on this site.

I am glad to see you enjoyed our Evening Guest Receptions, ideal location, and friendly staff members.

As the Hotel is constantly looking to improve on our continental breakfast offering, any feedback you may have would be more than helpful.

Thanks again for your stay and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Hotel on Pownal (pronounced PAWN-L) is structured with the convenience of a motel where you can drive right up to your room, but is much higher end than your typical motel. There is no pool or fitness room. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very clean. If you forgo room service for a day, they offer a coupon that takes $10 off a meal at 10 different restaurants. I thought these were probably restaurants far outside of town, or ones I would never consider eating at, but I was wrong. They are high quality restaurants, many of them in the downtown core within walking distance of the hotel.

Rooms come with a free breakfast. The breakfast is typical hotel fare with one hot item a day (pancakes or waffles on the 2 days we were there). My only complaint was that they were slow to fill up on items they ran out of. We were told they offer free cookies after 3:00 p.m. but were never there to taste them.

The place had to be fully booked when we were there, judging by how full the parking lot was (the hotel has free parking) but it was as quiet as a church both nights.

The location is one block off the main street, so very conevnient to all the downtown attractions, but quieter than perhaps the hotels directly downtown.

Room Tip: Choose room 140 as it is in the back and a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us.

Our location is certainly very convenient. As you have mentioned, the Hotel is just one street over from the busier part of Downtown.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our, "Greener is Cleaner" program. Receiving a $10 coupon for foregoing Housekeeping services certainly is a sweet deal both for the environment and our guests alike.

Though the Hotel does not have a pool, we do offer a Fitness Room for our guests to workout in. It has two treadmills, an elliptical machine, mats, gym balls, and free weights.

Thank you again and I look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel and it was every bit as good as the first :
Great location in the heart of the city
Great breakfast hot and cold ,lots of choices
Fast Check-in / rooms were all ready when we arrived
Have all day Coffee and Cookies
Great Price

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room ask for availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meadowmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback in regards to your stay with us on this site.

I appreciate your repeat visit with us and am glad that you continue to enjoy all the services and amenities that the Hotel on Pownal has to offer.

I appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Stephen, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We recently stayed at The Hotel on Pownal from June 30th till Aug 1st and it was an overall good experience, even though my reservation wasn't booked right. My rating doesn't reflect this mishap since it could have been miscommunication on both of our parts, although I live by my schedule book, which was in hand when I made the reservation. That being said, the gentleman on the phone was very professional and polite when I called to confirm my reservation and realized the error. He thankfully didn't charge me for the room since I wouldn't be able to check in until the following day.

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours before check in, and unfortunately our room wasn't ready at that time, which is no fault of the hotel since we were so early. The employee at the counter took down our number and said that she would call us if the cleaners were done before the 3:00 check in. We then ventured down to a local restaurant to have a bite and within 30-40 mins we received a phone call telling us our room was ready.

Once we arrived in the room the only real issues that I had with the hotel was the fact that the room was not equipped with a bar fridge and it had a little bit of an odd smell to it. Nothing that would hinder the stay, but there was definitely something lingering in the air. Also, the breakfast that is provided in the morning was lacking to say the least. We ate there the second morning simply because it was included with the room and we figured we might as well fill up there instead of eating out. Having said all of that, the service was excellent, the king size bed was comfy and you simply can't beat the location. Would definitely stay there again considering a lot of the hotels are grossly overpriced in the city and don't offer much more than what the Pownal does for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

I am glad that a mix-up in regards to your reservation was handled quickly by our staff and that we were able to contact you as soon as your room was ready to accommodate your early arrival.

To add to our guests' experience, you will be happy to learn that the Hotel has an implementation plan in place to have bar fridges installed in most of our guest rooms. This will allow you to keep all your items cool until you are ready to enjoy them in the privacy of your own room.

The Hotel has an inclusive Deluxe Continental Breakfast and I would welcome any suggestions you might have to improve on our current offering.

Thanks again for your review and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Property: The Hotel on Pownal
Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing