We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, conveinient, comfortable and cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, conveinient, comfortable and cheap!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Taking advantage of this evening of rain while I am still staying here to write a few reviews on my stay and adventures in Charlottetown. This is a great spot it is our first visit to Charlottetown. I am here on business and decided to bring the family. I called up to reserve a few weeks ago now and got a great deal on a weekly stay.Stay 6 nights and the 7th is free was the special offer for weekly stays that sold me on the phone. We are in a 1 bedroom cottage for 99 a night. Can't get much cheaper then that. The room has 2 double beds, with a large closet and dresser which is nice to have when you are somewheres for a week. Kitchen living room combined and pull out couch in the living room which my son says is comfortable. The beds are comfortable as well I will add.

Everything was spotless when we checked in. Kitchen seems to have everything. I don't know if there is everything to cook a turkey dinner with I haven't found anything that we are missing at the moment Check in was nice and quick. Went back up to the desk once we got settled and the young man got all the information and maps of the area to get me started for the week. The room is a bit dated (wood paneling). The carpet must be newer it still seems to have that fresh new carpet smell and it looks to be in realy good shape. Bathroom is probably only a few years old. Kitchen is a little older. Nice TV flat panel larger size which is nice to have. The place is really clean and everything seems to being getting updated as it needs it and all the odler stuff is working and well maintained

Housekeeping has been great each day we are well stocked for everything we need they haven't missed a day. We've always had enough towels and supplies haven't had to ask for extra of anything.

One thing I must mention is the Internet which was a must when I called I asked how good it was and the person on the phone said it has to be one of the best around and that it never goes down and it was just upgraded this summer. He was right. I find hotel internet always slow and on and off and on and off this has been up for me and FAST FAST FAST.

Location has been good for me just turn right out of the parking lot and that road takes you right downtown. Only about 5 minutes if you hit all green lights.

All in all its a great spot. Its nice and quiet I have been able to get a bit of work done in the evening the kids have been outside playing in the worlds largest sandbox(a beach volleyball court). Its nice becuase the no vacancy sign has been up all week and I have noticed cars at all the units and it still doesn't feel busy here. The street out front is busy but you don't notice it at all over night or evening in the evening when your sitting out on your deck. I will be back if and when I return to PEI

One note some cottages seem to have a larger deck on them and look a little bigger these are a good size but they look like they would be a little larger not sure what the difference is beside the big deck.

Room Tip: Take a cottage its like your own little home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
21
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Happy to discover Royalty Maples.
Clean,quiet and friendly.Will go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rose154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Chris and his staff are amazing! I shopped and compared all around Charlottetown & the Royaly Maples was by far the best value in town!! My 4yr old son was a big fan of the family friendly grounds and atmosphere!

Thank you Chris and Staff we will be back in October!

Robin & Rayner Smith
Calgary, Alberta

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Raynerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had 8 family members from 9 to 90. We all enjoyed out stay. 3 of the family are from England. For one, it was his first trip. The cottages are neat and clean. If we didn't have it, the staff got it for us. These cottages are minutes from everything in Charlottetown, and a great spot to situate for Island tours. A few minutes from the Beach. Half an hour of less from Cavendish.

Our next Island tour will definitely be from Royalty Maples Cottages. Did I mention the friendly staff???

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jozel_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in a motel unit for two nights at the beginning of our visit to PEI and again for two nights at the end. The first time we stayed we got unlucky and had noisy neighbors playing music or video games until late at night. This is not really the fault of the motel management except that I didn't see anything about quiet hours anywhere. And the walls are paper-thin. The motel is a bit out of town near some main roads, so it seems to draw an odd crowd. However, the second time we stayed it was perfectly quiet.

A bigger issue is that housekeeping in the motel unit was rather inconsistent. On our first stay, there were no bars of soap provided; we assumed this was standard (most of the place is cottages, after all) and went with it (there is a grocery store nearby) - but the second time we stayed there were bars of soap, and the second night there was even shampoo! Also the second time when we arrived there were no towels in the room so we had to ask for them. The housekeeper also threw away my shower cap between the first and second nights, which I was not pleased about - it was not something the motel had provided (I had gotten it from a different hotel, so it was the clear, cheap kind) so they should not have touched it.

The staff is very friendly and they also stored two suitcases for us between our two stays, so overall it is a decent place. Just not the highest standards around.

Room Tip: An end unit in the motel will ensure that your bed is against an outer wall instead of a shared wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed at the Royalty Maples for 5 nights while visiting from Australia. We toured the Island and found this spot to be highly accessbale to everything on PEI. First 3 nights in a cottage and 2 nights in the motel. Overall this is a very well kept property. It says its a 2.5 star which probably explains why the units are a litte dated but the conveinece of the location, having your own kitchen and the CLEANLINESS makes it easy to look beyond. We did enjoy the cottage a little better then the motel but we knew this when we arrived at the property that all the cottages were booked for nights 4 and 5. It was nice to have the extra space in the cottage I believe we paid $119 and then $89 for a motel room with a kitchen I don't think you can go wrong with these rates in Charlottetown after we noticed what a few of the other properties were charging. Especially to have your own cottage in a city for $119...Correct me if I am wrong but would say it is a rare opportunity. Check out time says 10am but we were told we could take our time and stay until 12pm or so if needed. WIFI worked better then any other property we had stayed at on our month Vacation. At checkin we asked for a few recomendations on places to eat and everyone of them proved to be excellent. We highly recommend just like we were told Water Prince Corner Shop, Gahan Microbrewery and Simms Steakhouse.

Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmccoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and another couple booked a weekend here this month in a cottage and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were in a cottage with 2 bedrooms which had a nice large new deck on the front of it. (Lacking some patio furnture) but apparently its coming soon. This place isn't the delta or best western or something it is older but everything was spotless ITS A COTTAGE! I believe we paid $99 per night for our own cottage where we were able to sit in relax be a little louder and not have to worry about a person on the other side of the wall. It was just the weekend the four of us were looking for. Minutes from town yet when your there you feel like you are away and have that relaxed nothing to worry about feeling. We usually visit the island a couple times a year I think we have found our spot!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bwcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.8 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
277 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel

Property: Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel
Address: 89 Malpeque Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2016! Brand new Wifi System for the entire property with additional access points. An exterior renovation has been completed on the Motel making way for larger private decks with patio sets. All of of bathrooms are now 100% renovated with new tubs, toilets, vanitys, bathroom fans and fixtures! 1 Bedroom Cottages now all have larger more private decks to accomodate more then 2 people. Property recieved major renovation in 2014 and more was completed in 2015 and 2016. Nestled in Charlottetown, PEI The Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages comprise of 10 cottages and 6 motel units. All units with complimentary High Speed Wireless InternetEach motel unit includes cable TV, double hide-a-bed, queen bed, and a fully equipped kitchen and bath. The 1 and 2 bedroom cottages each have 2 double beds, hide-a-bed, full kitchen and full bath. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen to make your stay even more affordable or to produce that special home cooked lobster dinner. As well we have BBQ for rent to help create that full cottage experience. When time allows take advantage of our well-maintained spacious grounds to play lawn games, beach volleyball or just sit back and relax in the sun.We are close to all amenities, including restaurants, beaches, shopping, golfing and the Charlottetown Airport. With the Charlottetown Mall virtually across the street, shopping is just a walk away.The Royalty Maples is proud to be Pet Friendly so feel free to bring along that special travel companion Office Hours: 8:00am - 10:00pm Daily. Check in: 2:00pm Check out: 10:00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Maples Cottages Hotel Charlottetown
Royalty Maples Cottages And Motel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing