We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inspiring to see the birthplace of our nation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Government House

Government House
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“inspiring to see the birthplace of our nation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just glancing at the site, its not extraordinarily beautiful. The physical building is like any other historic preserved building that you'd find at an intersection in any city's downtown. However, it deserves 5 stars for the overwhelming sense of history and meaning. The events that occured at that very spot the beauty of government house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R_26C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely and informative tour - nice Royalty info”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We happened upon this gorgeous building and upon learning it was free we thought, Why Not? As American tourists we think they should seriously consider charging a small fee - a very cool tour, with lots of original artifacts and surprising facts (The Queen, Prince William and Kate Middleton stayed here) The view can't be beat and the garden in summertime is spectacular - perfect pit stop from the lovely eats and drink on the island. Really enjoyed it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kewood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Amazing tour - free of charge - very informative ... was an awesome review of history and an incredible feeling being part of such royalty - given it is still an active home outside of the tourist season - gardens were 'more than' amazing ...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank walterel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gardens Are A Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The building was closed on the morning we visited this site in Charlottetown, PEI, but the gardens were amazing. We visited in the morning on a cool day, and the ambience was relaxing and fulfilling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History in the viewing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Loved the way the rooms recreated the times of starting confederation. Simple but very educational, just a cool place to wander around for 20 mins.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Government House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Government House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing