We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Property; A Posh Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitzroy Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzroy Hall
Ranked #16 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Property; A Posh Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I really could've just moved in here, as I've never been made to feel so at home while traveling. I was instantly made to feel like family by the lovely innkeeper, who is a native islander. In my entire journey I did not meet another individual so knowledgable about the island, or so generous in their hospitality.

The building is 3 blocks from downtown, and is breathtaking. Every detail is done to period, complete with red glassware, wallpaper and chandeliers. The rooms are elegant and the suites in particular, are stately. I stayed in the attic in Gran's Nook and most definitely was giddy with the patchwork quilt on the sleigh bed, spotless bath and playful wallpaper, feeling much like I was in a room at my Gran's (in the best way possible).

There are many nooks and crannies in which to read, and movies/books to borrow. Wifi is fantastic and a communal computer provided. Best was a coffee and tea nook to make all feel cozy and at home.

Breakfast = amazing. Walking downstairs to crystal and fine china in a grand dining room was a great start to the day. I so enjoyed the made to order eggs, sausage, multigrain toast and strawberries. And she was generous with the coffee refills, which is always a plus. Most of all, I enjoyed the conversation and hearing all of the stories of this storied island.

I was sad to leave, feeling that time had slowed a bit during my stay and left knowing our exchanges were genuine. Such a beautiful option on PEI; posh, but unpretentious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rootwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    12
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We arrived at Fitzroy in the mid evening. I don't think the owner had been asked very often if the room could be shown before deciding to stay. The biggest difficulty was taking our luggage up two landings of stairs.
Fitzroy is easy walking distance to downtown and the owner told us we could keep our car parked at the residence until we were ready to leave. This made for a nice relaxing walk.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, and I would be happy to spend another night at this B & B.
Conversation was predominately one sided, in that the owner touched on taxes, water, and expense of operating her B & B and I thought, was a bit too opinionated and chatty.
Nonetheless, it was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. This is a heritage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

This place is fantastic. The house is very well maintained and beautifully decorated. The down sides are that it is a bit expensive and they could be a little more generous with the breakfast. The location is great; just three blocks from most of the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20UCLA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I would go back there in a second. Breakfast was just lovely, everything was very professional and staff were warm and accommodating

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1964SeasonalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Tastefully decorated, good-sized, cozy room ("Olivia" on the top floor), comfortable bed. Nice clean bathroom. Great breakfast. Areas where you could relax, without being in the main stream of other guests. Easy walking distance to downtown. Prices slightly reduced for off season.

Room Tip: Top floor, despite the stairs, is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_ERasberryRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The rooms were BEAUTIFUL, extremely cozy, and the whole place just makes you feel like you're at home, except you don't have to cook or clean! The breakfast was excellent as well, and the service was friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kaisha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chatham, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast inn...the owner is gracious; the public areas and the quest rooms are beautifully decorated with every amenity (including a small flashlight on the bedside table) that a weary traveler needs; and the breakfast was the best I ever had in a B and B. I will return to PEI just to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Hall

Property: Fitzroy Hall
Address: 45 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzroy Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzroy Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Hall Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing