We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites of Euston(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel on Pownal(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great George(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbour House(Charlottetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
221
49
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
49
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housebrecken suitepaul mccartneyfire pitb bantique furniturewithin walking distancecookiesjacuzzi tubbreakfast is servedbeautiful propertyrelaxing staydowntown charlottetownstreet noisecoffee machinelounge arearestaurants and pubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

What a lovely home that has been modernized yet stayed true to the historic time in which it was built. The owner has done a fabulous job making his guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was considered the smallest yet it was grand. The soaking tub was a welcome respite after our long drive. The breakfast was delicious and the staff so friendly. Having our wine in the evening while relaxing on the front lawn was divine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do agree that the house has been beautiful restored. We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were able to relax in the front yard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Good Points: Beautifully restored historic building, great location in downtown Charlottetown, delicious food, and in particular, a staff member, Judy, who was so friendly and incredibly helpful.

Disappointing: Perhaps we missed the fine print. Did the website say "Last ones in get the Brecken suite?" That seemed to be our fate, though we had booked the Emslie suite for our first night. I would rate our stay "excellent" except for the first night of our four night stay. We booked our first night in the Emslie suite, to celebrate my husband's birthday, and our three subsequent nights in the Ben Rogers suite, based upon availability. Upon arrival we were greeted by the inn's resident manager, Becca, and were told that our suite for the first night had been changed. No prior communication, explanation or apology. We were disappointed because we had specifically chosen and booked the Emslie for our special occasion. We expressed our disappointment and asked for an explanation. We were told that another guest had booked the Brecken for one night and the Emslie for three nights. When they arrived and had viewed the Brecken suite they decided they did not want to change rooms and wanted the Emslie for all four nights so the inn accommodated their request by changing our reservation. This was done without communicating with us and we feel it was unprofessional, especially given that part of the "charm" of a B&B is choosing your own room. When we politely tried to push back we were matter-of-factly told that there was nothing the manager could do, it was only one night and we were changing rooms the next day anyway! (One is tempted to wonder whether the folks who had actually booked the Brecken suite for that night had also been given this helpful explanation...) We were so disappointed that we strongly considered seeking a motel for that night, but had tickets to the musical nearby... When that evening we asked for a restaurant recommendation on our way to see "Anne" we were told: ''They are all good down that way."

Thoughts on the Brecken suite: The Brecken suite, though billed as the inn's nicest room, is the converted attic of the home. The air conditioner is excessively loud, the smoke detector was missing (wires were hanging from the ceiling), and the stairs to reach it are many.

In summary, we had a lovely time at The Fairholm National Historic Inn, in charming and historic Charlottetown and among the warm, welcoming people of beautiful PEI. I would recommend that you stay here but you may end up in a room you did not book!

Room Tip: The Ben Rogers was charming, the Brecken a converted attic, and, we never did see the Emslie, though our bill shows that we stayed there one night!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we do value your feedback. We try to make sure that all of our guests are happy during their stay and that they do receive the rooms that they have booked. Changing rooms is not something that we do however under some circumstances it does become necessary. The Brecken suite is a very lovely room and personally one of my favorites in the house the other being the Ben Rogers. I personally treat all of my guests with respect and do my absolute best to make your stay is enjoyable.
We are aware that the air conditioner can be a bit loud however during your stay it was very warm and humid and needed to be on. The smoke detector was down due to the fact that the humidity was setting it off because the air conditioner was not being used by the previous guests. It has been reinstalled and working properly.
I agree that Judy is excellent with her advice and very helpful to all of our guests. We are very lucky to have her.
We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again. All the best Fairholm staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very helpful friendly staff, great food, beautiful facility. But for the price is a bit high as you are paying to stay at the historical place. If one is looking for more modern accommodation, this is not the place for you. We would like to come back to PEI and look forward to stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: We booked and paid for a King room upstairs, but had to settle for a smaller Queen room downstairs as my wife broke her foot on the trip and could not climb stairs
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmcsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that we were able to accommodate you and your wife in a different room due to the circumstances. We are a National Historic site but do try to offer as many newer amenities as possible without losing the feel and charm of Fairholm. We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This restored historic home is just a couple blocks from the heart of downtown Charlottetown. The rooms are comfortable, even luxurious. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is delicious. We felt totally pampered. The only additional thing we could have asked for would be a stronger wifi connection in the room. And maybe written operating instructions for the jacuzzi tub!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt "pampered" our goal is to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. We do realize that the wifi connection is difficult in some areas of the house however that does come with the age of the house. Hope to see you again Fairholm staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here in July and it was excellent. Do yourself a favour and stay here. It is beautiful, comfortable and friendly. Central to everything you would want. Pubs and shops are all within walking distance or you can just sit and relax on the lawn underneath the shade of huge old trees. It was the highlight of our trip.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. The old trees surrounding the property do make for nice shaded areas to sit and relax. With the current landscaping we are doing we will have more seating and a nice fire pit to relax in front of.
Being central is very key and does help that you can walk to everything. We do hope that you will return to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews