We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

our extended family needed to come to the Island on short notice this past weekend. Serendipitously, none of the larger downtown hotels could accommodate us, but it turned out that the Fairholm had availability and we were able to "charter" the entire inn. The experience was wonderful - obviously it's a beautiful, historic inn in an ideal downtown setting, and very conducive to socializing. In addition their chef Bill is capable of producing delicious food for, in our case, over 20 of us. Couldn't have had a better experience - many thanks to owner Brooke.

Rich Deacon
Markham, Ontario

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParentTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Fairholm National Historic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our deepest thanks to Brooke and Gina for enabling our celebration of Mum's life to be more special than we could have ever asked or hoped. Being able to gather at Fairholm was a perfect gift. Thank you also to Bill for cooking an incredible meal that took us all back to Mum's wonderful Sunday dinners in our youth. We are grateful.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect... and everyone was thrilled.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewPeoplePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our stay at Fairholm was actually a while back, but I came across the Fairholm here on Tripadvisor and thought I would just voice how amazing our stay was! We drove from St. John`s NL to PEI on a road trip and the Fairholm was by far the best place we stayed. Our rooms were beautiful, and the service was excellent. We only wish the Fairholm could come to St. John`s! If we are ever in PEI again, we will be sure to stay again!

Room Tip: The extra money for the largest room is well worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Fairholm Inn in Charlottetown. We stayed there 3 nights before starting a bicycling trip around PEI and then ended there for an additional night after finishing our bicycling. Rebecca and her staff, Nancy and Judi, were friendly, welcoming, helpful and nice. The Inn felt like our home. The rooms were spacious (ours had a fireplace--we were in the Haviland Suite), and the bathrooms were modern with a jacuzzi tub and slate lined shower. Every afternoon Rebecca had fresh baked cookies, tea and coffee available and the breakfasts were tasty and filling. Everything downtown was within walking distance (great restaurants, the theatre, waterfront parks). When we return to Charlottetown we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Babe Rogers suite at the Fairholm Inn. The room was huge and very nicely furnished. You know when you visit those historic homes and they have the rooms roped off. Well, this was like stepping over the rope and spending the night in one of those rooms.
The location couldn't have been better. Easy walking distance into town and the waterfront. Parking was available in the back.
Breakfasts were good, with fresh made bake goods and a choice of two different main courses.
The only reason I did not give them five stars was because of the lack of service. The owner had had a dinner the night before and the next morning at breakfast there was only one person making the meal, taking orders and trying to keep the buffet stocked. On the morning that we checked out we had to find Rebecca, as she was working in the kitchen and wait for her to finish. We felt that they could easily use more staff, especially at breakfast time. Rebecca should be handing the business end and not have to be helping with breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the inn in the Haviland Suite for 5 nights. The rooms here are typical of the era -- dark, large, plenty of storage for clothes, and in our suite, a very comfortable bed and an elegant bathroom with excellent shower and wonderful tub-Jacuzzi. The breakfasts were just wonderful, with a different selection each day, and our hosts during our stay -- Rebecca and Judy -- were more than helpful regarding the Island and its attractions. Rebecca went out of her way to buy a cookie mix for us when we told her how much we enjoyed the afternoon snacks. There are some drawbacks: the streets outside are busy and provide a route for carousing students to return to their quarters late at night; there is a lot of traffic quite audible in the front rooms like ours; the gas fireplaces were out of order in all of the rooms; the Inn is several blocks from the heart of town in a not very scenic area -- a salvation army facility is across the street, for example. But we loved our stay there, and its length gave us more than enough time to rate this Inn fairly as a five-star establishment.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter, but our front room -- the Haviland Suite -- was worth the extra noise (t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedDoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have the 4 of you come and stay with us. We are sorry the fireplace wasn't operational during you stay but it is now. We are glad that you got to spend as much time with us as you did and baking afternoon treats is something that I like to do and sharing recipes is always a pleasure. Street noise is not always an issue it is unfortunate that your stay was the same time as university students were going back to class.
We do hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairholm Aug 29 - Sep 1, 2013. We loved the Inn - a beautifully restored Victorian Home. The decor is gorgeous, the antiques are exquisite, and all of the rooms I saw were well-appointed and cozy. Every morning there were blueberry muffins and cheese/bacon biscuits waiting with coffee and juice. We were always offered choice of two hot gourmet breakfasts, and they were delicious. The Innkeeper is warm and friendly, and goes out of her way to help with plans for the day, dinner recommendations and reservations, etc. The other staff who come in daily are equally as helpful, and all take great pride in the history of the Inn. The Fairholm could not be a better location for doing anything in Charlottetown you want, by foot. PEI is a wonderful place to explore by car. We look forward to being able to return to the Fairholm one day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope to see you again. Thank you for the kind words, all of us here do take pride in our jobs and this house. We want you to feel at home and comfortable during your stay and anything that we can do to help you with that is our pleasure.
We do agree that PEI is a great place to come and see and explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Address: 230 Prince St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: £98 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing