We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great change from modern hotels. The old Victorian Mansion was very peaceful and relaxing and the period furniture and decoration gave you a feel for the time period. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. Breakfast was great and varied from day to day. Breakfast is 8 to 10, but you can still get yourself a coffee or tea earlier in the dining room. That was nice, especially if you are an early riser. Many eating places just blocks away for lunch or dinner. It is located just a few blocks from the harbour, walking distance from most everything you want to see. You must try this unique experience, you will glad you did.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Check out their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay Mark! It was our pleasure having you and we hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    43
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
179
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warner, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A very nice old Victorian mansion reworked into a nice B&B. We had a room on the first floor. In room AC and very nicely remodeled en suite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. They were in the process of some grounds keeping but everything was very well maintained inside and out. The only downside is that it is an old house, so it is not as quiet as the typical "chain" hotel. This did not bother us and didn't affect our sleep, but if you are one of those very light sleepers you may here people walking about at night.
The breakfast was fantastic and we had a few options every morning of our stay. Everything is prepared to order. This was not your typical free hotel continental breakfast!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something with character, history and excellent service. Breakfast was a bonus.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanS278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for the review Ryan, we really appreciate it! You happened to stay with us right at the very end of our Clark House construction, we're glad to hear that the ongoing work did not affect your stay here at Fairholm. We will be sure to send your regards to the chef, having some choices at breakfast is something that we are trying out so it's great to hear that was an aspect that you enjoyed. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for our Daughters Wedding. The wedding was held at the inn and could not have asked for a more romantic scene then the Fairholm Inn. The Inn took great pride to details and went well beyond the call of duty. The rooms were fantastic and filled with the antiquities of days gone by. The architecture and craftsmanship in the inn is stunning. The inn-keeper, Doris and the other staff is nothing short of amazing. All of our needs were met. If your looking for a venue for a small gathering of around 30 to 40 people this is the place. The hot breakfasts which are made to order with fresh baked scones,biscuits and cinnamon rolls are a delight to the palate. Looking forward to a return date in the future.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruston63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
It was really great to be part of your daughter's special day, glad you enjoyed a little look around into the history of Fairholm! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrsboro, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

One of the nicest Inns I ever stayed. Don't let you fool from the outside look of the house. The inside is absolute stunning. Our room was on the second floor, and spacious and beautifully decorated. The whole Inn looks if you are back in the 19th Hundreds. Amazing!
And don't forget to enjoy one of the best breakfast I ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike131265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for the great review, the chef will be pleased to hear how much you enjoyed his home cooking! We really enjoy giving our guests a glimpse into what it was like here in the 18 and 1900s. Hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

our extended family needed to come to the Island on short notice this past weekend. Serendipitously, none of the larger downtown hotels could accommodate us, but it turned out that the Fairholm had availability and we were able to "charter" the entire inn. The experience was wonderful - obviously it's a beautiful, historic inn in an ideal downtown setting, and very conducive to socializing. In addition their chef Bill is capable of producing delicious food for, in our case, over 20 of us. Couldn't have had a better experience - many thanks to owner Brooke.

Rich Deacon
Markham, Ontario

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParentTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our deepest thanks to Brooke and Gina for enabling our celebration of Mum's life to be more special than we could have ever asked or hoped. Being able to gather at Fairholm was a perfect gift. Thank you also to Bill for cooking an incredible meal that took us all back to Mum's wonderful Sunday dinners in our youth. We are grateful.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect... and everyone was thrilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewPeoplePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our stay at Fairholm was actually a while back, but I came across the Fairholm here on Tripadvisor and thought I would just voice how amazing our stay was! We drove from St. John`s NL to PEI on a road trip and the Fairholm was by far the best place we stayed. Our rooms were beautiful, and the service was excellent. We only wish the Fairholm could come to St. John`s! If we are ever in PEI again, we will be sure to stay again!

Room Tip: The extra money for the largest room is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Property: Fairholm National Historic Inn
Address: 230 Prince St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing