We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base of Prince Edward Island Exploration”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Base of Prince Edward Island Exploration”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We are golfers and wanted a central location so that we could explore the island. We chose Charlottetown and the Cranford Inn based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. It more than met our expectations. The hosts, Vickie and Martha, were very friendly and provided lots of local advice. Rooms are well appointed. Breakfast was superb. The location is within a short walk to all of downtown Charlottetown, and only a few blocks from the Cultural Center, which host the PEI classic, Anne of Green Gables every summer. Lot's of great restaurants to choose from - our favorite was Lot 30.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
221
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Cranford Inn was the most wonderful B&B that my husband and I ever experienced. The owners, Vicki and Martha, were very friendly and they made sure that we had everything we needed, to include packing a breakfast each morning for my husband who had early golf tee times. The B&B itself was just as advertised on its website, beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, and comfortable. We stayed in the Sapphire room that had its own porch. Having the porch was great. I got to sit out there each morning, and at the end of the day my husband and I had a great place to relax. The breakfasts were "over the top," freshly baked muffins and bread, fruit, and wonderful main breakfast courses. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on PEI.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPTraveler423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Topaz and Opal room. The B&B was exactly as it was shown on photos on their website. It was well decorated, modern, clean, tidy and comfortable. It feels more like a boutique inn than a B&B.

The owners, Vicki and Martha have taken a lot of care in the house and garden. The house is spotless and the back garden is beautiful. Located just a walk short from downtown Charlottetown, Vicki and Martha gave us good advice where to visit and eat. They even gave us an annual National Park pass so we didn't have to pay the entrance fee when we went to Greenwich beach.

Breakfast was the best part along with cookies and coffee/tea readily available all day long. What really surprised me about the house is it's really quiet and doesn't feel like the usual B&B where you hear other guests taking showers, talking, walking etc.

It's definitely a great place to stay in Charlottetown and has much more character than the other run of mill hotels in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whtiby, Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Okay first I have to say sorry for taking so long to write this review. But the fact that I remembered must add as proof that this is honestly a very memorable and wonderful home away from home. I decided to visit P.E.I for a couple of days at the end of my business trip (birthday treat for me!) last summer. After driving from Halifax and arriving late this was the pot of gold at the end of my journey. I was made to feel instantly welcomed and that feeling lasted until my sad departure. What a lovely, friendly, clean, relaxing and happy place to spend time while exploring this wonderful province. And the food was award winning! I loved the homemade cookies and tea after a fun but exhausting day touring around. The owners (Martha and Vicki) are just fabulous - so friendly and kind and with a genuine love of people. Their art of balancing respect for people's privacy and at the same time helping you feel welcome and offering advice/tips for your visit was perfect. And they loved to share your experiences on the island and stories each day. That was nice for a solo traveler :) I plan on bringing my boys back here for a visit as soon as I can! Thanks again ladies for helping make my birthday special. Leigh-Anne K.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms at this B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAnne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I can't imagine why you would want to stay any where else. My wife and I were on a 2 week road trip and stayed a many B&B's up the east coast from Maine to PEI and this was by far the best. The welcome from the 2 owners was so nice. They were so polite and accomidating and just made everything perfect.

Our room was very well appointed. Clean at all times. Bed was super comfortable.

The breakfast was sooooo good. Each day was different. Always home made cookies available. My wife is gluten free and they were very accomidting to that.

As for Location. It was perfect. A very short walk to all the best restaurants and anything else downtown.

I will absolutly be back to Charlottown and I will for sure stay at Cranford Inn. Would never consider any where else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
620 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We were truly blessed to stay four nights in mid-summer at the Cranford Inn, and really sorry when the experience ended. Everything about our experience at this wonderful B&B was exceptional, from the warm greeting upon arrival to the final hugs goodbye at the end. We booked the Sandstone Room, a large, very comfortable and very quiet room looking down on the gorgeous backyard garden, with access to a large deck for outside reading or sunning. The king bed was firm and quite comfortable. The bathroom was large, with wonderful towels and nice amenities. We happened to visit during a heat wave and welcomed the fact that there was an in-room window air conditioner. While it's not the largest A/C unit we've ever seen, it did do the job of keeping us comfortable overnight.

Three course breakfasts are simply fantastic here! Every day brought a different experience, including a very unique "maritime breakfast" of fish and potato cakes, topped with salsa, with a side of really tasty baked beans. Vegetarian quiche, french toast and blueberry pancakes were the main course on the other three days --- each better than the last. Coffee never ends, and the breakfast room itself is lovely. If you play piano, there's a baby grand in the living room.

Most of all, service is premium with the owners going above and beyond to make sure that your PEI experience is the best possible. If you need advice on anything, they are there to offer options on where to go, what to do, and how they can help. We needed some lawn chairs and towels to enjoy the Cavenish Beach Music Festival, and they were more than happy to oblige us. It made a huge difference in the comfort of our experience. Plus, when we returned from a warm day of outdoor activities, we entered our room to find that the A/C had been turned on in our absence to make sure the room was comfortable upon our return. Now that's truly thinking of everything!

Cranford Inn is the BEST bed-and-breakfast we've ever stayed at, and I can only hope that this review will encourage others to have the same experience that we had.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranfordInn, Owner at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful, well written and detailed review. As innkeepers every review is important, something to give us that added incentive to do a better job or to feel good about what we are doing. We have embraced Trip Advisor because it allows our guests to provide honest and candid feedback.
Your feedback did provide us with that great feeling of doings things well. It was also a great review for others because it noted the areas of service and hospitality that we try to provide to each and every guest. Providing chairs for the music festival gave us a chance to consider having beach chairs in our lobby with our towels and blankets so guests will now have an opportunity to pick them up as they go out the door.
We also appreciated the comments on breakfast as we work hard to find the right menus that will work with varied palates and dietary needs.
You mentioned AC and we were certainly all happy to have this feature in a very unusually hot four days in early July. It was great to have in the kitchen as well!!.
Thanks again for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and we do hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights over the Canada Day holiday and loved every minute.
What an excellent B&B to stay at for all of your downtown Charlottetown event needs. Easy walking distance to everything with a huge selection of restaurants and bars within staggering distance.
On the inside you quickly realize this isn't an old historical building turned into a B&B, and that's exactly what you might want. Everything is new and refreshing with large bathrooms and comfy furniture.
The breakfasts were great variety each day with portion sizes to keep even the most hearty breakfast eater satisfied until lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing